What are your writing quirks?

My house needs to be spotless before I start to write. Utterly spotless, because otherwise, I’ll reach the end of a page or chapter and find myself vacuuming or folding laundry.

What are your quirky writing habits?

I also generally need a bottle of water and a can of Red Bull at hand and a notebook where I can write notes.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing Discussion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What are your writing quirks?

  1. One of my writing quirks is the time in which I find inspiration. Rather than many writers who say it’s best to write early in the morning, my burst of writing energy comes to me late into the night. That is almost always when I write my best work. I usually need music for the writing process, but once I have a clear idea to run with, the music needs to be off so that it doesn’t interfer with my thoughts.

    Like

  2. A.D. Everard says:

    I need silence to write. I love music, but any songs will have me mentally following the words and I can’t afford to be there if I want to get anything done.

    Music by itself is a great mood creator, but I rarely use it.

    We rise at 4:30 a.m. because by husband has to travel 150 kilometres to work, about 95 miles, one way. The house is silent from then until after 7:30 p.m. when he gets home again and I finally get off the computer and go join him to watch a movie.

    As for when I write, usually in the morning, always in the afternoon, rarely in the evening, although I will get up in the middle of the night if I’ve got the dialogue that just must be captured.

    🙂

    Like

  3. embrystical says:

    My best times to write are at about half six in the morning, or at ten to eight at night. Or at choir during lunch. Although I can’t slip off for a sore throat – she insists we go every week. Too bad I have to stop writing at 8pm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

