What is your favourite book?

For me, it will always be Harry Potter.

Harry Potter isn’t just a series of books for me, it is a whole era of my life. I started reading them when I was 13 or 14 and read them all through High School and into University. I grew up with them. When I wasn’t reading the books, I was watching the movies and when I wasn’t watching the movies, I was reading or writing fanfiction.

I have memories of living out of home for the first time and I’m sitting in my room and my best friend Lyn is sitting across the hall in hers and we’re both reading Dramione fanfiction! That went on for almost the entirety of 2005! haha. We were obsessed! I was almost going to start a bookshelf of printed fanfiction! Ah, the beauty of fanfiction Draco. Those were the good days 🙂

What is your favourite book, fellow bloggers? I would love some recommendations.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to What is your favourite book?

  1. For me it was The Series of Unfortunate Events there were 13 books in all and I would wait patiently for each one. Harry Potter was never one I liked but I can definitely connect by growing up and the release of the books!

    Like

  2. aspenlinmer says:

    Totally agree! These books had a huge impact on myself as well.

    ~Aspen

    Like

  3. hesthermay says:

    i’m actually really bad in that i don’t read enough.
    currently reading all clear (sequel to blackout) by connie willis. a little slow-paced, but otherwise all right.

    Like

  4. elleclouse says:

    My favorite book quartet is the YA fantasy Lioness Rampant series by Tamera Pierce. “Alanna: the First Adventure” is book one. These are the books that got me interested in reading and that inspired me to write.

    Like

  5. My favourite book has to be The Forever War by Joe Haldeman. Its a book which I read in my early twenties and had a real life changing effect on me.

    Like

  6. addisoncrow says:

    I was 1 1 when Philosopher’s Stone came out so I grew up with HP for the first few years. Spent way too long each summer waiting for my letter even after PoA (there could have been a clerical error, right?!) so thy are some of my favourite books because of the memories they evoke from my teenage years. I was more of a Drarry fan if I ever read fanfiction.

    My proper favourite book is hard to nail down because it depends on my mood but my go-to books are Chocolat by Joanne Harris, Pride and Prejudice, The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch, and The Pyrates by George MacDonald Fraser.

    Like

  7. Hi, I couldn’t agree more. The Harry Potter series is wonderful. Old as I am, I’ve still read it like a thousand times, and I’ve listened to Stephen Fry reading it about a thousand and one times. And another book that I keep coming back to is Melina Marchetta’s Jellicoe Road. It’s funny and sad, witty and wise and it stays in the mind forever. The best of luck with your own writing!

    Like

  8. Jeyna Grace says:

    Harry Potter, definitely. When I was in high school, I was obsessed with RPs. I can still remember my OCs name. LOL

    Like

  9. One of my most treasured books is “What I talk about when I talk about running”. A running book written by one of my favourite authors – can’t get a better combination than that! BTW, thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

  10. embrystical says:

    Um, not sure…maybe Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes. This isn’t counting A Song of Ice & Fire, clearly.

    Like

  11. dfolstad58 says:

    I am a voracious reader and many books I re-read. I loved The Hobbit, and I have a book with a collection of the Sherlock Holmes cases. The Hobbit of course because the writing is so delightful and creative. The Sherlock Holmes because the vocabulary is inspiring.I have never read the Harry Potter books but for Sci-fi I think my favorite would Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein – a classic.

    Like

Leave a Reply

