How do you deal with writer’s block?

I can’t really say that I’ve ever had writer’s block. I’m just one of those people who is either writing or not writing. There is no real in-between.

So does writer’s block even exist? And if it does, how do you deal with it?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing Discussion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to How do you deal with writer’s block?

  1. evan72 says:

    Hi Jodie,

    First off, let me say you’re INCREDIBLY lucky. Writer’s block is an absolute monster, especially when it comes to writing novel-length work. If you haven’t faced it after Sector12, congratulations–I hope you continue your streak of escaping it!

    As for how I deal with the beast, I’ve been putting off writing a post on this very subject. I’ve never heard of authors doing what I do, but I visualize my writer’s block. What that means is that I draw him. He actually materialized one day when I was just doodling–I got a triangle, and out of it he was born. His name is Saul. So what I do to cope is that I draw him, and on the back of the paper I write out a contract with him to wait until revisions. I sign my name and assume he would want me to sign his, and thus far that’s been very helpful.

    Congratulations once again on escaping the inner demons, and may your writing always be free!

    Evan

    Like

  2. A.D. Everard says:

    For me, writer’s block is when I have the time and the inclination to write, but no ideas, or I know what needs to be written, but I just can’t make it work. Frustrating times. Sometimes moving well away from that area and writing something at the other end of the book will be enough. Other times, just a few days off works wonders. The trick with that is to feel good about that time off, not guilty (otherwise it backfires and the stress increases).

    🙂

    Like

    • Here’s what I do, and this may sound odd. I write. My novel is a fantasy novel but my short stories are not. Whenever the novel brings me to a halt, I open up a partially written short story and toy around with it.

      Like

      • A.D. Everard says:

        Yep – that’s always my first choice, too. Usually at the other end of the book or a different character. I prefer to stay inside the story, but then I write big multi-threaded novels, so it’s easy to be in a different zone entirely. 🙂

        Like

  3. DarkMartio says:

    Heyo!

    Listening to music or playing videogames related or similar to the work at hand always help me. For example, I played a lot of Silent Hill when I was writing Rat in a Maze.

    Sometimes I’ll just lay in bed, listening to music on my phone, letting my mind free, and ideas will come.

    Like

  4. I haven’t had serious writer’s block. Sometimes,I’ll spend time getting up away from the keyboard to get tea, check the mail, whatever. When I start doing that, I know I’ve got a problem with the story. I need to think through why I’m dithering. Checking out my plot, the twist, the timeline usually helps me spot the issue that’s blocking me. Many thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

  5. hesthermay says:

    I think I’m kind of like you in that I’ve never “had” writer’s block either am either writing or not.
    So with that in mind for someone who does have writer’s block, doing something that inspires you is my suggestion. And it depends what that is for you. It’s different from person to person. I can get some great thinking done when I’m walking or looking out the window from the driving bus. Sometimes I have my characters’ conversations in my car. (I see the tendency to moving things here.)
    Music is another inspiration. A good movie, history, a special word… The list goes on.

    Like

  6. simondewar says:

    I get writers block regularly, usually because I’m stressed because I’ve got a short window of time to write or I’m burned out from working on my TOP SEKRIT PROJEKT.

    For me the best way to get around writers block is to just write.. doesn’t matter what, doesn’t matter how good the writing is, just pick a topic and write anything. Usually after a while you get in a rhythm and the words come quicker and easier and the “creative juices” start flowing.

    If you’ve been working on the one piece for a while and you start getting writers block it can really help to leave it alone and write something new or go back and edit a different tale you’ve got. Sometimes your brain just needs a break from a given task to recharge a bit.

    Like

  7. For me, if I can’t write it, I talk it. Either explaining my story to a friend, or chatting with someone who already knows about it (even one my characters) helps a lot.

    Like

  8. embrystical says:

    I always try to make myself think,
    “It is not writer’s block, it is simply procrastination. Once Parallel Universe has finished, you are TURNING off Red Dwarf and getting down to some proper work. And no more Tetris!”

    Like

  9. Raymond Chandler said that when you get stuck, have a man come through the door with a gun. I like that advice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

