My favourite books of the year

I didn’t read a lot this year. Not compared to prior years. According to GoodReads, I read 45 books which is nothing compared to the 158 books I read in 2011! But of those 45 books that I read, the following were my highlights. As you can see, there is only 5… did I mention that I am a really picky reader?

The Selection by Kiera Cass
I have to admit… I didn’t expect to love this book. I didn’t even think I’d like it. But I sort of adored everything about it 🙂 It just sucked me in and kept me reading like crazy!

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater
I loved a lot of things about this book, but do you know what I loved the most? I loved that Sean wasn’t described as hot. That he wasn’t “swoon worthy” and spectacular and rippling with muscles and attractiveness. And all I can say about that is THANK GOD! Finally a male character in YA that stands on his own without his superficial looks to carry him!
Loved everything about this book. Best story I’ve read in ages. Very original, great writing, excellent characters, great romance development. I believed every word.

The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls
It isn’t very often I rate books at 5 stars. Hardly ever. But I LOVED this book. I devoured it in one sitting. I adored everything about it. Will definitely purchase for my bookshelf and recommend for others.

On the Island by Tracey Garvis Graves
Probably the best book I’ve read in a long time. Loved the plot, love the characters, it kept me reading and reading and reading. Really enjoyable.

Running with Scissors by Augusten Burrough
I really enjoyed this. I haven’t read anything quite like it before so I loved it. Loved the writing style, thought the entire book had a great voice, great writing style, it moved quickly and in interesting directions. Very nice.

What were the best books you read this year? Any recommendations?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to My favourite books of the year

  1. 158 novels in one year?

    Like

  2. YoungMistake says:

    Wow, 158 reads in a year? Awesome! I hope I can do that, as well! One day. 🙂

    Like

  3. Wish I could speed read too 🙂 Favs = Man of Hope (biography of Padre Pio, Rienzi Allegre) , Way of Shadows (Brent Weeks)

    Like

  4. I would definitely recommend Roses by Leila Meecham as a must-read! I read it this time last year and really haven’t stopped thinking about it ALL YEAR THROUGH. I fell in love, in the way that you can’t stop thinking about that other person and imagining things that will happen when you’re next together, and all that – apart from I did this with the book. It was truly captivating and I can’t wait to read it again. Definitely worth a look up!

    Like

  5. clclewis801 says:

    wow….so far Black Beauty, Divergent, and the first three Anne books are my favorites…but I hope to read more 🙂

    Like

  6. lynnjs says:

    I love GoodReads. I can always count on it for new recommendations 🙂

    Some of my favorites that I read this year were:
    – “Everything I Never Wanted to Be” by Dina Kucera
    – “The Book Thief” by Markus Zuzak
    – “The Fault in Our Stars” by John Green
    – “Wintergirls” by Laurie Halse Anderson

    I went through a rough year so I connected a lot with books where the main characters were struggling as well. But I think all of the ones I listed were incredibly poignant and well-written. You should definitely check them out! And I’ll probably check out the ones you wrote about, because I’m always looking for new books.

    Like

  7. Seconding the love for The Scorpio Races. Stiefvater is one hell of a writer!

    Like

  8. mollieandrews says:

    I read The Selection by Kiera Cass too, I was unsure if I would actually like it, and I did. Even so much so that I’ve read the second one, and I’m now waiting for the final one to come out, next year. I feel like in my opinion it’s a much different book from most YA book right now. 🙂

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      I really liked its simplicity. Such a simple idea that was executed so well.

      Like

      • mollieandrews says:

        It sort of reminded me of ‘The Bachelor’ 😛 I was like; yeah, this is cool, I like it!

        Like

      • jodiellewellyn says:

        Yeah. Sort if the same concept. Hopefully the third ends the series well 🙂 I’m looking forward to it.

        Like

      • mollieandrews says:

        Yeah, I hope that it’s a great final book, it’s bitter-sweet that there will only be three books in the series, but I don’t really see where it can go after Maxwell – is that is name? (I forget) picks America to be his wife.

        Would you be able to recommend me any YA books, that you’ve read and enjoyed? 🙂

        Like

      • jodiellewellyn says:

        Hmmm… I liked Divergent and The Hunger Games. But I assume you have read those.

        The Darkest Powers trilogy by Kelley Armstrong
        Any book by Sarah Dessen
        Nevermore by Kelly Creagh
        The Perfect Chemistry series by Simone Eckles (I think that’s spelt right)
        Ugliest series by Scott Westerfeld or the Midnighters series

        Any books in there? Or have you read them all.

        Like

      • mollieandrews says:

        I’ve heard of Divergent, but, I’ve never read it. Yes, you’re right, I’ve read The Hunger Games. 🙂 I read the blurb to “The Summoning” and that sounds pretty good. I LOVE Sarah Dessen’s books, I’m pretty sure I’ve read most of her books, only a few months ago was it that I read The Moon and More. I’m defiantly going to check out Nevermore by Kelly Creagh, it’s so popular on good-reads. I’ve read the first book in The Perfect Chemistry series, from what I can remember, I liked the book and at that time I thought it was just a one off, yay, happy to hear it’s a series. I’ve also heard of the Ugliest series, I’m pretty sure that I started to read the first book but never completed it, though.

        Thanks for your suggestions! 🙂

        Like

      • dustomundo says:

        If you haven’t already, I HIGHLY recommend Patrick Ness’s The Knife Of Never Letting Go (the 1st in his Chaos Walking trilogy,) though there’s also the prequel, The New World.. at least I think that’s the name of it..

        Like

  9. Rae Venn says:

    The only book on that list that I’ve read is The Selection by Kiera Cass, and it was great. Have you read the Legend series by Marie Lu? It’s YA dystopian fantasy, and it’s one of my favorites in the genre.

    Like

  10. sionajessica says:

    I loved The Selection. Like several other people have said, I wasn’t expecting to. And part of me is annoyed that I enjoyed it with so many scenes catered toward what the girls were wearing… but at the end of the day all of the girls were individual people! None of them were completely a cliche and I actually cared about more than the main couple

    Like

  11. Jixi Fox says:

    I read only 3 books this year…I did watch over 400 episodes of TV Shows on Netflix.

    Like

  12. kateormand says:

    THE SCORPIO RACES is amazing!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

