What are your writing goals for 2014?

I have to admit… I love making New Years resolutions. I’m a big fan of having goals and making lists, so in saying that, I’ve been thinking about some of my writing goals for 2014.

Firstly, and most importantly, I’m going to be working on my new novel Wrapped in Darkness. I’ve been plotting/planning all of this month and I’m going to start writing in January with the goal to have it done and dusted mid-year to start submitting to agents. So that is my number one goal. It’s going to be a dark, urban fantasy about a girl who is killed in a car crash and wakes up in the realm of Purgatory. I’m really excited about it.

But in 2014 I also want to learn a little more about the art of writing. Whether that means taking a class or just doing some online study, I really want to learn a little more about the mechanics of writing to continue to grow and evolve as an aspiring writer.

What are your writing goals for 2014? What projects will you be working on?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Goals, Writing Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to What are your writing goals for 2014?

  1. sionajessica says:

    My goal is just… to do some writing. I didn’t really do much writing this year and it really bothers me. Most of it was that I was busy working, a lot. But my writing mojo deserted me this year and I’ve been spending the last couple of months trying to get it back. Wish me luck….

    Like

  2. advicegirl says:

    Wow, I also have a passion for writing, have done some short stories (never published obviously) , yet to attempt a novel.
    For me, i would like to dedicate 2014 to trying out something new,like visiting a place I haven’t been or maybe doing a tailoring course.. fashion is my other passion.

    Like

  3. pilbra says:

    I would love to set out and write an Australian novel I’ve been writing Australian poetry and a few short stories are on my computer. Just getting the energy to sit and do it is the challenge

    Like

  4. Shari Klase says:

    my goal is to to have some sort of word count written every week. Not sure how many words to make that yet. I need to put more thought into it.

    Like

  5. Doug Daniel says:

    1. Finish and publish Princess of Fire, my current work-in-progress.
    2. Start another, as-yet unnamed novel in the same sci-fi universe.
    3. Research and (gasp) outline Princess of Stars.
    3. Try to get better at the parts of my writing that still need work.

    Like

  6. I want to get my rough draft polished up to start trying to get it published. While I go through submitting Project #1 to agents, I would like to start work on a new (old) project. That ought to keep me pretty busy!

    Like

  7. shunpwrites says:

    My goal is to wrap writing my book and positioning myself to where I can support myself doing what it is that I truly love doing… Writing.

    Like

  8. annaheyerdahl says:

    Hope you meet your goals! If you need someone to push you in the ‘write’ direction, don’t hesitate to ask me 😉

    My goals are:

    1. Finish the first in my yet unnamed YA dystopian series and send out submission inquiries
    2. Write more – every day
    3. Read more
    4. Try not to eat so many cookies….ah who am I kidding? This one is impossible!

    Like

  9. Awillaway says:

    My goal is to continue the momentum I’m on and finish all my projects. In all, it’s about 6 projects…but they’re all “works in progress” so I should be able to finish them all by the end of the year.

    Like

  10. ergbennett says:

    My biggest project is revising my Nanowrimo novel and send it out. I’ve also put together an editorial calendar for the first six months of the year to make my blog more focused. There are so many other side projects I want to do that I’m not sure if I’ll have time to do them all next year, but I guess that’s better than having nothing to do, right? 😛

    Like

  11. Hi there! You were my 1st post “like”! Hahaha so I thought I’d take a look-and what do you know-a writer! I too do a bit of writing and have been working hard believe it or not to enter the Dark Crystal Author Contest: http://darkcrystal.com/authorquest/ …the deadline is the end of this month though and unfortunately I am not sure I’m going to make it in time to submit since there’s only 3 days left and so much more writing to do…kind of depressing, but I am trying my darndest having tackled the Fall 2013 college semester on top of it. Good luck with your book! And one thing-I wanted to “like” your post about the possible mermaid book-but I see no “Like” button on any of your posts? I’m still brand new here, but if I’m missing something please let me know!

    Like

  12. Beth Calvano says:

    My biggest writing goal for 2014 is the completion of my dissertation! I will take on the world after that!

    Like

  13. My writing resolution is to finally type out my story that has been brewing in my mind and notebook. I’ve got the characters and plot all set. I just need to type it out.

    Like

  14. rlsharpe says:

    I would like to get an agent in 2014, and get a publishing contract, that would be the ultimate goal.
    I am also debating whether to enter my YA urban sci-fi in the Ampersand Project – depends really if I can have it polished enough to enter it in February.
    Another goal of mine is to join a writing organisation, maybe Romance Writers of Australia.

    Writing courses can be lot of fun and help a lot. I did one years and years ago, when I was first starting to write. Australian writers center have lots of online courses to pick from.

    Good luck with Wrapped in Darkness, just email me if you want me to read any of it.

    Like

  15. Mine was originally to begin a novel, however I think I’m going to aim for one short story a month that I’m happy with, as I don’t think my pieces are structured well enough for me to begin working on a novel. And to continue writing poetry and to finish the play I’ve been working on. Starting a blog for my writing was amongst my resolutions so I’m already ahead with that one!

    Wrapped in Darkness sounds really interesting! If you’re looking for anybody to read it once you begin, I’d love to!

    Like

  16. Jixi Fox says:

    Writing will be big for me next year as well. I am trying to do a comic book and a few stretches for my Youtube channel. I want things to pop. I hope you learn and go for your goals too.

    Like

  17. I’m definitely going to be finishing my first book. I did a huge chunk during NaNoWriMo and then I took a few weeks off of it. I’m picking up the writing on it again. A related goal will be to self publish said book and then work on the sequel (a trilogy eventually).

    The only other goal I have is to write and read as much as possible. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    Like

  18. Danielle says:

    Write a new short story each month, get them all sent out there, try to make a pro sale, and see if I can’t get myself 100 rejections along the way. 🙂

    Like

  19. Mine is pretty similar to yours.
    I want to revise and finish the first novella and novel in my ya contemporary romance series, get it self published in September, do a writing course.

    Like

  20. My goals are to revamp the Writers’ Circle group that I facilitate, to write at least something every day, to have (minimally) weekly blog submissions, and submit some form of writing for publication. I recently entered two submissions for The Safety Pin Review’s contest, however, I’m not expecting any good outcomes. That’s okay, though, because it’s prepping my mind for forthcoming submissions. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your goals, and best wishes to everyone on their projects.

    Like

  21. Andrew says:

    If you aim for nothing you will hit it every time. Setting goals definitely are helpful. Here are some of my writing goals for 2014:

    1. Complete the rough draft of my fantasy novel by April 1.

    2. Do at least two blog posts each week.

    3. Consistently gain readership and acquire at least one subscriber with each blog post.

    4. Complete at least one round of revisions and edits by year’s end.

    5. Start another novel.

    Like

    • daniyoshi says:

      What’s your fantasy novel about? Just curious

      Like

      • Andrew says:

        Stistill in the early planning stages, but the idea I’m going from is an empire in a place that in geographic terms is essentially Switzerland: a land area surrounded by tall mountains. The world goes through a cooling period and the empire is cut off from the outside world by snow and ice. The story is set with to begin with the melting of the ice.

        Like

  22. My goals are to: (1) Write something daily. (2) Revive and grow the writers’ group that I facilitate. (3) Submit works (essays, etc.) for publication. (4) Fill up the remaining half of my current journal by 12.31.13 so I can begin the new one my husband gave me for Christmas on 1.1.14. (5) Write (minimally) one blog post each week.

    I recently submitted two entries to a contest through the Safety Pin Review. While I do not expect any favorable outcomes, I am glad for the opportunity to submit.

    Best wishes on everyone’s endeavors!

    Like

  23. dustomundo says:

    Jodie- if I may interject just for a moment, but simply by writing on a regular basis, it’s inevitable that you’ll continue to hone your craft, resulting in much more mature writing. In the process, whether we realize it or not (most of us probably aren’t aware of it,) we are learning more about writing. Which is not to say there’s anything wrong with wanting to learn more through online classes, reading up on some classic books about writing, etc.., the more the better.:)
    I think it’s great that you’re striving to gain more knowledge!

    Like

  24. My goals:
    Find a way to balance promoting my first two books in my More Than A Game Series with writing the next two books in the series.

    Take another look at book one of my Swift River Adventure series, a book I started about three years ago before I knew enough about writing to make it work. Hopefully it can be salvaged enough to continue the series.

    Like

  25. Sounds like you’ve made some great goals. Your story plot sounds exciting by the way. My goal is to finish and self-publish my first novel in 2014. Also, I’d like to attend a writer’s conference, maybe participate in an online writer’s workshop. I saw some interesting classes coming up on a site called LitReactor. I think it’ll be a great experience. Have a Happy New Year!

    Like

  26. theotherwoman97 says:

    My blogging is helping me sort through one of the most painful, confusing times in my life. I’m thinking about doing a 365 challenge; writing is cathartic, helps me think, and process. I’m hoping a 365 challenge would move me forwards!

    Like

  27. daniyoshi says:

    Write an award winning best seller…. But I’ll settle for writing a structurally sound, interesting and rewarding story. 🙂

    Like

  28. Jodie, the novel sounds FAB!
    My goals (blog related, but not necessarily writing centered).
    1. Improve the quality of my photos for the blog. (I’ve read my manual to the point of familiarity and am working through 3 consecutive tutorials)
    2. Post more relevant, cohesive pieces more regularly.
    3. Finish outlining my book. 🙂

    Carry on, love. Can’t wait to read your next post!

    Like

  29. austriaal says:

    IF I get into postgrad, do it and finish it in 2014.

    Otherwise, or concurrently:
    – Keep playing bass (just started after a few years on guitar). Practice as often as possible and also pick up some theory too. Find someone in my area to jam with!
    – Blog more regularly, and write more, even if it’s just short stories and random blog stuff.
    – Improve my sleep quality, I’ve been an insomniac for too many years!
    – Get fitter, etc

    Good luck with your goals 🙂 ps where in New South are you? I also moved from NSW to Sunny Coast, then to Brisbane. I want to get back to the Coast so bad though 😦

    Like

  30. woodbeez48 says:

    Thank you for reading my post about my writing goals today. Yours seem very focussed too and I wish you lots of luck with achieving them next year. Happy New Year 🙂

    Like

  31. theotherwoman97 says:

    After a bit of waffling, I’m going to do a 365 blog challenge in 2014! Right now I am writing to sort through major heartbreak and life changes. Writing is cathartic for me, I process better when I can write, and I’m interested to see how writing regularly impacts my thoughts, and how thinking things through more completely to write about them impacts my life. I’m hoping that by year’s end my blog will be joyful, upbeat and full of hope. Your blog is so positive – it’s fantastic to read!

    Like

  32. kecain says:

    I’m with you on getting a manuscript polished and ready to submit to agents. It’s been a long, long process and I’m ready to move on to the next step. Good luck on your novel, and thanks for the like on my post.

    Like

  33. I’m working on polishing my NaNoWriMo novel, and finding a readership! And I’m hoping my beta-reading friend will get her series published at last, because she deserves it. Thanks for dropping by my blog, and good luck to everyone above with their writing goals!

    Like

  34. jmmcdowell says:

    I would really like to “whip my current WIP” into final shape this year. 2013 was not a good writing year for me, and I hope 2014 will see major improvements.

    Like

  35. Annie says:

    I love these goals. Similarly I would love to finish a new project in 3 months (first draft), revise for 3, then begin submitting it. 🙂 I’ve done quite a lot of reading this year re writing guides, but I could always do with reading a bit more so long as I still have time to write!

    Like

  36. embrystical says:

    Edit Volume I to perfection, them come up with titles for Volumes II & III, I suppose.

    Like

  37. My goal for 2014 is to blog everyday for 365 days, grow my following base, and finish my book by the end of the year.

    Like

  38. Reblogged this on The Adventures of George Gizmo and commented:
    Aloha Inspiring Writers!!! What are your goals for 2014?

    Like

  39. my writing goals for 2014, hmmm….. I’m going to have to say to just write every day even if it’s for an hour or so. Between work and school, I need to make time to do some creative writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

