Do you write with music?

How important is music in your writing process? I know a lot of people are quite passionate about this topic, so I decided to make an official post about it.

I had actually thought that music was really important to me, but I’ve realised that I only  listen to music when I’m brainstorming or when I’m stuck and trying to find inspiration. When I’m actually churning out the words, I like silence so I can think.

Do you listen to music while you write? What sort of music?

I listen to a lot of dramatic instrumental music – like X-Ray Dog or Immediate Music – songs that are produced for movie soundtracks etc. I like to sit down with a pen and paper and write whatever comes to mind.

How about you guys? How important is music to you? What do you listen to?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

124 Responses to Do you write with music?

  1. Jazy says:

    I write with music not because it inspires me but because I like having noise in the background. Ideally I’ll pop on an old movie I’ve seen a million times that way I don’t get distracted by paying attention to something new. I find that if I put something on that I’m not used to, I change gears and sometimes my entire writing takes on another direction!

    Like

  2. Jazy says:

    I write with music not because it inspires me but because I like having noise in the background. Ideally I’ll pop on an old movie I’ve seen a million times that way I don’t get distracted by paying attention to something new. I find that if I put something on that I’m not used to, I change gears and sometimes my entire writing takes on another direction!

    Like

  3. jakewitcher says:

    I’m like you, typically I can’t write with music playing. However, when I do (and this is really nerdy), I listen to video/film scores. The lack of vocals is helpful and having the music being connecting with an existing piece of fiction helps me visualize emotions I might have been feeling when watching said fiction. But typically, no, I like slience.

    Like

  4. jakewitcher says:

    I’m like you, typically I can’t write with music playing. However, when I do (and this is really nerdy), I listen to video/film scores. The lack of vocals is helpful and having the music being connecting with an existing piece of fiction helps me visualize emotions I might have been feeling when watching said fiction. But typically, no, I like slience.

    Like

  5. Daniel says:

    Music is hugely important to me when I write, but I often will tailor my music choice depending on the mood I’m looking for in the piece I’m writing (though sometimes I’ll just flip on Pandora to my multi-channel random and be inspired by randomness.

    Many (too many) years ago I had a wonderful conversation with James Kirkwood about this and we both discovered that we often enjoyed classical music and that Wagner was very stirring/inspiring.

    Like

  6. Daniel says:

    Music is hugely important to me when I write, but I often will tailor my music choice depending on the mood I’m looking for in the piece I’m writing (though sometimes I’ll just flip on Pandora to my multi-channel random and be inspired by randomness.

    Many (too many) years ago I had a wonderful conversation with James Kirkwood about this and we both discovered that we often enjoyed classical music and that Wagner was very stirring/inspiring.

    Like

  7. It depends on my mood and on the music. Most of the time I write while listening to music and I find it helpful, but sometimes I can’t do it at all. When I do listen to music, it usually either has to be wordless or something I don’t know very well; if it’s music I’m familiar with I just end up singing along and getting distracted. 😉

    Like

    • Precious Coardes says:

      I’m glad you posted this. And yes, I listen to music. I listen to all sorts… okay, well, heavy metal isn’t my style (or scremo) but hey if anyone likes it, yay you! When I listen to music I usually listen to a song that really goes along with a scene I’m trying to get right so it will have a more realistic feel to it. I listen to Japanse music so I can relax and type or write at a relaxing pace. Fast pace music is more for my fight scenes that I write, or if I’m just in the mood for it. During brainstorming, it must stay silent or I’ll end up singing and dancing instead of writing and focusing. ^0^ (yes, that is me singing) lol

      Like

      • Precious Coardes says:

        Hi again. I have another small task for you Jodie: close your eyes and try to type the scene as it flows through your head, it seems to help a small bit, especially if it’s a scene your stuck on. If your work is handwritten, then don’t close your eyes. Or you can squint like this: -.-

        Like

  8. It depends on my mood and on the music. Most of the time I write while listening to music and I find it helpful, but sometimes I can’t do it at all. When I do listen to music, it usually either has to be wordless or something I don’t know very well; if it’s music I’m familiar with I just end up singing along and getting distracted. 😉

    Like

    • Precious Coardes says:

      I’m glad you posted this. And yes, I listen to music. I listen to all sorts… okay, well, heavy metal isn’t my style (or scremo) but hey if anyone likes it, yay you! When I listen to music I usually listen to a song that really goes along with a scene I’m trying to get right so it will have a more realistic feel to it. I listen to Japanse music so I can relax and type or write at a relaxing pace. Fast pace music is more for my fight scenes that I write, or if I’m just in the mood for it. During brainstorming, it must stay silent or I’ll end up singing and dancing instead of writing and focusing. ^0^ (yes, that is me singing) lol

      Like

      • Precious Coardes says:

        Hi again. I have another small task for you Jodie: close your eyes and try to type the scene as it flows through your head, it seems to help a small bit, especially if it’s a scene your stuck on. If your work is handwritten, then don’t close your eyes. Or you can squint like this: -.-

        Like

  9. shunpwrites says:

    I listen to jazz while writing… Listening to anything with vocals pulls me too far away from the task at hand. I find that melodic sounds of the guitar serve to supercharge me.

    Like

  10. shunpwrites says:

    I listen to jazz while writing… Listening to anything with vocals pulls me too far away from the task at hand. I find that melodic sounds of the guitar serve to supercharge me.

    Like

  11. Gerri says:

    I tried after I read an article on building emotion with different types of music as you write. I found I can either write words or listen to music. I found the music distracting. I gave my boom box to hubby to listen to music as he exercises!

    Like

  12. Gerri says:

    I tried after I read an article on building emotion with different types of music as you write. I found I can either write words or listen to music. I found the music distracting. I gave my boom box to hubby to listen to music as he exercises!

    Like

  13. sarahlearichards says:

    I have to have it completely silent in order to concentrate. I love music, and I’ll end up listening to the music. Trying to do two things at once (at least for me) is like only doing two things half-heartedly.

    Like

  14. sarahlearichards says:

    I have to have it completely silent in order to concentrate. I love music, and I’ll end up listening to the music. Trying to do two things at once (at least for me) is like only doing two things half-heartedly.

    Like

  15. embrystical says:

    Reblogged this on Utalentia and commented:
    And this is why I love the world. And music – obviously!

    Like

  16. embrystical says:

    Reblogged this on Utalentia and commented:
    And this is why I love the world. And music – obviously!

    Like

  17. pauljgies says:

    I usually do listen to music. I have a play list for whatever I’m writing: the one for “Clay” starts with the Ruth Moody version of Dancing in the Dark and progresses through “Gimme Shelter”… but when I get going writing, I often don’t notice the music I so carefully chose.

    Like

  18. pauljgies says:

    I usually do listen to music. I have a play list for whatever I’m writing: the one for “Clay” starts with the Ruth Moody version of Dancing in the Dark and progresses through “Gimme Shelter”… but when I get going writing, I often don’t notice the music I so carefully chose.

    Like

  19. In my opinion, music and writing blend perfectly together. I think it’s because both are creative and artistic expressions. Most of the time I listen to music while brain storming, but when the ideas start forming onto the page, I have to stop the music so that I can concentrate more closely on the words I’m putting together. I listen to all sorts of music: classic rock like Led Zeppelin or Pink Floyd, 90’s rock like the Gin Blossoms and The Cranberries, and I listen to obscure music that not many have listened to before.

    Like

  20. In my opinion, music and writing blend perfectly together. I think it’s because both are creative and artistic expressions. Most of the time I listen to music while brain storming, but when the ideas start forming onto the page, I have to stop the music so that I can concentrate more closely on the words I’m putting together. I listen to all sorts of music: classic rock like Led Zeppelin or Pink Floyd, 90’s rock like the Gin Blossoms and The Cranberries, and I listen to obscure music that not many have listened to before.

    Like

Leave a Reply

