What’s in your writer’s toolbox?

I saw this question somewhere in cyber space and thought it was so cool. It really made me start to think about what I always have around me when I’m writing. So I decided to post the question here on my blog – what do you have in your writer’s kit?

For me… mine looks a little like this:

1. MacBook Air
I LOVE my MacBook. I’ve had it since about 2009 with one upgrade and I just adore it. I don’t think I could ever go back to a PC operating system. In terms of programs, I use Microsoft Word (for Mac) for my actual writing. I tend to get a lot of my initial inspiration from DeviantArt and horde more than a few images on Pinterest

2. Notebook and pens
I’ve heard that quite a few people use Scrivener to keep their plot/research organised but I prefer to have it all right in front of me in a notebook. I tend to always buy the same Spirax notebook and I like to have a few pens in a couple of different colours. I always have it next to me when I write in case I need to refer back.

3. Dictionary and Thesaurus 
I got these for my birthday last year and everyone was like, can’t you just look them up online? But it’s not the same, I like having the books physically in front of me! So I now have the Australian Concise Oxford Dictionary, 5th edition, and the Australian Oxford Paperback Thesaurus.

4. Red Bull
Possibly the most important thing 🙂 I have a solid Red Bull addiction and probably drink a can a day, so I had to add it to the list as well.

5. iPod
Depending on what stage I’m at in the writing process, I’ll also have my iPod hovering around. I have a lot of mellow and instrumental playlists so I’ll generally listen to those as I’m brainstorming a new novel.

What’s in your writer’s toolkit?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

97 Responses to What’s in your writer’s toolbox?

  1. 1. Coffee
    2. Laptop/Printer, sometimes after writing for a certain length I need to print it off to make the blur of the screen go away. I also find it comforting to have hard copies..lots of them..I just really like paper I think
    3.Kitten sprawled somewhere, preferably beside me, but usually on my shoulders watching
    4. Cigarettes
    5. Headphones. I used to just have music or noise going on in the background, but lately found that I now need headphones to focus
    6. Whiteboard.I get very mad scientist with ideas and plots and have to scribble them out somewhere big I can look at, good for just general organizing too.
    7. Word, physical dictionary and thesaurus

    Like

  2. 1. Coffee
    2. Laptop/Printer, sometimes after writing for a certain length I need to print it off to make the blur of the screen go away. I also find it comforting to have hard copies..lots of them..I just really like paper I think
    3.Kitten sprawled somewhere, preferably beside me, but usually on my shoulders watching
    4. Cigarettes
    5. Headphones. I used to just have music or noise going on in the background, but lately found that I now need headphones to focus
    6. Whiteboard.I get very mad scientist with ideas and plots and have to scribble them out somewhere big I can look at, good for just general organizing too.
    7. Word, physical dictionary and thesaurus

    Like

  3. Shari Klase says:

    I think you are missing some snacks. I also have notebook, pen, dictionary/thesaurus, laptop, tea and the all-important snacks.

    Like

  4. Shari Klase says:

    I think you are missing some snacks. I also have notebook, pen, dictionary/thesaurus, laptop, tea and the all-important snacks.

    Like

  5. emkate92 says:

    I’m posting one of these 🙂

    Like

  6. emkate92 says:

    I’m posting one of these 🙂

    Like

  7. emkate92 says:

    I’m posting one of these 🙂

    Like

  8. purelyloved says:

    Reblogged this on purelyloved's Blog and commented:
    Nook tablet -where most of the writing happens. Scrap paper and pencil- just in case I have side ideas…which I often do. Music- whether it be CDs, radio,Pandora, or my online playlists,I must have music. Thesaurus- essential. Water/coffee/tea/hot cocoa- one of these because I always need a drink.

    Like

  9. purelyloved says:

    Reblogged this on purelyloved's Blog and commented:
    Nook tablet -where most of the writing happens. Scrap paper and pencil- just in case I have side ideas…which I often do. Music- whether it be CDs, radio,Pandora, or my online playlists,I must have music. Thesaurus- essential. Water/coffee/tea/hot cocoa- one of these because I always need a drink.

    Like

  10. dustomundo says:

    Another smashing blog, Jodie, I love receiving them!

    I’m so happy to know that you have and LOVE your Mac. I wish I could afford one, as I’ve heard they’re the very best. Stephen King writes on a Mac, as well, so you’re in good company.:)

    I couldn’t agree more about psychical dictionary/thesaurus simply isn’t the same as Googling them. I’ve a very psychical touch person, so I’ve gotta have them at my side. I love learning new words!

    And seeing as how I prefer to write longhand, a pen and notebook are essential!

    Coffee keeps me going throughout the day!

    Like

  11. dustomundo says:

    Another smashing blog, Jodie, I love receiving them!

    I’m so happy to know that you have and LOVE your Mac. I wish I could afford one, as I’ve heard they’re the very best. Stephen King writes on a Mac, as well, so you’re in good company.:)

    I couldn’t agree more about psychical dictionary/thesaurus simply isn’t the same as Googling them. I’ve a very psychical touch person, so I’ve gotta have them at my side. I love learning new words!

    And seeing as how I prefer to write longhand, a pen and notebook are essential!

    Coffee keeps me going throughout the day!

    Like

  12. mznona says:

    Reblogged this on winonarasheed and commented:
    Although my desk is cleaned off at the moment, I am usually surrounded with writing tablets, pens and pencils and my good buddy, my coffee cup when I get ready to write. My first draft, or synopsis begins the old fashion way…on paper and then I transfer everything to my computer when I begin to type. I have note cards taped to my computer to remind me of all the favorite sites with my passwords and log-ins. I need this because I am so forgetful and I am always changing information. Can’t walk around here with strings tied to all my fingers.

    Like

  13. mznona says:

    Reblogged this on winonarasheed and commented:
    Although my desk is cleaned off at the moment, I am usually surrounded with writing tablets, pens and pencils and my good buddy, my coffee cup when I get ready to write. My first draft, or synopsis begins the old fashion way…on paper and then I transfer everything to my computer when I begin to type. I have note cards taped to my computer to remind me of all the favorite sites with my passwords and log-ins. I need this because I am so forgetful and I am always changing information. Can’t walk around here with strings tied to all my fingers.

    Like

  14. Janey Haas says:

    HP laptop, cigarettes (sorry), iced tea.

    Like

  15. Janey Haas says:

    HP laptop, cigarettes (sorry), iced tea.

    Like

  16. I’ve been meaning to say how much I appreciate your blog. It’s nice in the relative solitude of the novel writing process to come here and see what you other writers are talking /thinking about.

    Hmm, interesting question.
    Mine depends greatly on location. This is mainly because I’m one of those annoying Mac techy writers with all latest syncing gadgets. That being said….

    *Mac and /or…
    *IPad and wireless keyboard
    *SkullCandy headphones

    [All is well if I have this gear.]

    *Evernote: This is an ADD writer’s dream come true. I use this as my modern day notebook. Instead of scraps of paper, I just tag a post and it automatically syncs to all my devices.
    *Word, but switching to Pages for syncing purposes.
    *Scrivener, but it doesn’t sync so it’s a bit a clunky for me at times.

    Like

  17. I’ve been meaning to say how much I appreciate your blog. It’s nice in the relative solitude of the novel writing process to come here and see what you other writers are talking /thinking about.

    Hmm, interesting question.
    Mine depends greatly on location. This is mainly because I’m one of those annoying Mac techy writers with all latest syncing gadgets. That being said….

    *Mac and /or…
    *IPad and wireless keyboard
    *SkullCandy headphones

    [All is well if I have this gear.]

    *Evernote: This is an ADD writer’s dream come true. I use this as my modern day notebook. Instead of scraps of paper, I just tag a post and it automatically syncs to all my devices.
    *Word, but switching to Pages for syncing purposes.
    *Scrivener, but it doesn’t sync so it’s a bit a clunky for me at times.

    Like

  18. Amanda says:

    I know what you mean about having a physical dictionary/thesaurus in front of you. I loved the huge, “has every word in the English language in it” dictionary that my grandma has that I told her that was the only thing she HAD to give me in her will. Don’t care about money or anything else, just that dictionary. =)

    Like

  19. Amanda says:

    I know what you mean about having a physical dictionary/thesaurus in front of you. I loved the huge, “has every word in the English language in it” dictionary that my grandma has that I told her that was the only thing she HAD to give me in her will. Don’t care about money or anything else, just that dictionary. =)

    Like

  20. sarahlearichards says:

    USB drive!

    Like

  21. sarahlearichards says:

    USB drive!

    Like

  22. I like this! never even so much as tasted RedBull but I’m big on diet Pepsi and peanut M&Ms when I am seriously in the zone. And I, too, like the actual reference books, as well as notebooks and pens. 🙂 And music is a must. I have a playlist (I blogged about it, even) that is on YouTube and I put it on shuffle and let it play when I write.

    Like

  23. I like this! never even so much as tasted RedBull but I’m big on diet Pepsi and peanut M&Ms when I am seriously in the zone. And I, too, like the actual reference books, as well as notebooks and pens. 🙂 And music is a must. I have a playlist (I blogged about it, even) that is on YouTube and I put it on shuffle and let it play when I write.

    Like

  24. pauljgies says:

    Laptop and Wikipedia. And a nearby bookshelf. And maybe a window. And a cat.

    Like

  25. pauljgies says:

    Laptop and Wikipedia. And a nearby bookshelf. And maybe a window. And a cat.

    Like

  26. tmforal says:

    1) A computer at my local library that has no internet access. Very useful for avoiding distractions/internet.
    2) If the library is closed during my writing sessions (Very typical, since most writing sessions take place after 9:00, I borrow my mother’s iPad (with detattchable keyboard). I rather like it.
    3) My writing notebook. A regular red Mead notebook that I carry with me EVERYWHERE.
    4) A thick bundle of mechanical pencils
    5) Music. Any kind of music I can get my hands on.

    Like

  27. tmforal says:

    1) A computer at my local library that has no internet access. Very useful for avoiding distractions/internet.
    2) If the library is closed during my writing sessions (Very typical, since most writing sessions take place after 9:00, I borrow my mother’s iPad (with detattchable keyboard). I rather like it.
    3) My writing notebook. A regular red Mead notebook that I carry with me EVERYWHERE.
    4) A thick bundle of mechanical pencils
    5) Music. Any kind of music I can get my hands on.

    Like

  28. I am writing a novel on paper pad using a pencil. it is a long and laborious process but it really gets my creativity flowing.

    Like

  29. I am writing a novel on paper pad using a pencil. it is a long and laborious process but it really gets my creativity flowing.

    Like

  30. vscot848 says:

    I would be LOST without my copy of The Emotion Thesaurus. I picked it up at a writers’ conference last year and it is invaluable, looking like I’ve had it for twenty years. It is the number one tool to helping me show my character’s feelings rather than telling them. Love love love it.

    And my MacBook Air. I think it would be mad at me and crash or something if I didn’t add it.

    Like

  31. vscot848 says:

    I would be LOST without my copy of The Emotion Thesaurus. I picked it up at a writers’ conference last year and it is invaluable, looking like I’ve had it for twenty years. It is the number one tool to helping me show my character’s feelings rather than telling them. Love love love it.

    And my MacBook Air. I think it would be mad at me and crash or something if I didn’t add it.

    Like

  32. mrschmoe says:

    Here are my tools, somewhat sparse, but it get me where I need to go.

    Thesaurus and a hard bound dictionary
    Spiral Notebook two sizes, pens and pencil, my trusty moleskine.
    Libre Office and Scrivener.
    Windows Media Player or some other media player and if the internet is stable YouTube

    I find the laptop better than a desktop, when there’s a power outage, I just power down my computer.

    Like

  33. mrschmoe says:

    Here are my tools, somewhat sparse, but it get me where I need to go.

    Thesaurus and a hard bound dictionary
    Spiral Notebook two sizes, pens and pencil, my trusty moleskine.
    Libre Office and Scrivener.
    Windows Media Player or some other media player and if the internet is stable YouTube

    I find the laptop better than a desktop, when there’s a power outage, I just power down my computer.

    Like

  34. Amanda says:

    Reblogged this on Amanda McKee and commented:
    I think a writer’s environment is very important and can affect their desire (and ability) to write. So when Jodie posted this, it made me really think about what I should surround myself with when I try to write and what I should try to get away from or exclude. Personally, I probably should not be working on a computer with an internet connection! I get WAY too distracted!

    Like

  35. Amanda says:

    Reblogged this on Amanda McKee and commented:
    I think a writer’s environment is very important and can affect their desire (and ability) to write. So when Jodie posted this, it made me really think about what I should surround myself with when I try to write and what I should try to get away from or exclude. Personally, I probably should not be working on a computer with an internet connection! I get WAY too distracted!

    Like

  36. mepow33 says:

    That’s great that you have an organized system, so do I, I gather my notes on a separate notebook, I do my final drafts and list my characters on my computer. Do you have any tips or advice I can use, that would be very helpful.

    Like

  37. mepow33 says:

    That’s great that you have an organized system, so do I, I gather my notes on a separate notebook, I do my final drafts and list my characters on my computer. Do you have any tips or advice I can use, that would be very helpful.

    Like

  38. Robyn LaRue says:

    Hmm. My favorite writing tool ever was my split keyboard. It died finally after a decade of hard use and none I’ve tried since fit my hands. I prewrite and take notes on paper, compose on the old laptop whenever possible, and on the desktop if not. Coffee, ice water, cat. Let’s see. Oh yes, headphones with a noise generator set to “thunderstorm” does wonders for concentration. 🙂 I do have a Galaxy SNote 2 and I use it if I’m not able to get to paper.

    Like

  39. Robyn LaRue says:

    Hmm. My favorite writing tool ever was my split keyboard. It died finally after a decade of hard use and none I’ve tried since fit my hands. I prewrite and take notes on paper, compose on the old laptop whenever possible, and on the desktop if not. Coffee, ice water, cat. Let’s see. Oh yes, headphones with a noise generator set to “thunderstorm” does wonders for concentration. 🙂 I do have a Galaxy SNote 2 and I use it if I’m not able to get to paper.

    Like

  40. Laptop, MSOffice, earbuds for listening to whatever epic music collection on youtube that I’ve chosen for that session.

    Like

  41. Laptop, MSOffice, earbuds for listening to whatever epic music collection on youtube that I’ve chosen for that session.

    Like

  42. James Babb says:

    Just purchased my MacBook Air last month. LOVE IT!

    Like

  43. James Babb says:

    Just purchased my MacBook Air last month. LOVE IT!

    Like

Leave a Reply

