Writing Contests… Yes or no?

What does everyone think of writing contests? I can’t say I’ve ever really sat down and looked into entering one. Especially not the big ones you have to pay to enter. Logically I know that entering/winning a contest would look excellent on a query letter… but how necessary are they?

I’ve recently been entering a few Twitter Pitch competitions. Mainly because I think they’re a little bit of fun. I enjoy query contests as well. But those are easy to enter because all the work is already done. I almost feel like writing entries for contests would take away from my major writing goal, which is finishing my current manuscript.

Have you ever entered a contest? Was it worth it? Is winning a contest high on your priority list?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

72 Responses to Writing Contests… Yes or no?

  1. I’m not competitive so I wouldn’t care about winning. But the idea of improving my writing through pressure I put on myself would be attractive. I guess it depends on your end game.

    I will be self publishing, so sales will get me noticed. Sales come from telling good stories, which is my goal anyway.

    Like

  2. I’m not competitive so I wouldn’t care about winning. But the idea of improving my writing through pressure I put on myself would be attractive. I guess it depends on your end game.

    I will be self publishing, so sales will get me noticed. Sales come from telling good stories, which is my goal anyway.

    Like

  3. sarahlearichards says:

    Reblogged this on Nobody Doesn't Like Sarah Lea.

    Like

  4. sarahlearichards says:

    Reblogged this on Nobody Doesn't Like Sarah Lea.

    Like

  5. I think writing contests are a waste of time and money. I’ve entered heaps and never won anything. All it does is drain my bank account and give me disappointment.

    Like

    • sarahlearichards says:

      I think what’s crazier is that a lot of publications charge a “reading” or “convenience” fee just to read your work (not even a contest). Used to, a publisher read your work for free, and they paid you.

      Like

  6. I think writing contests are a waste of time and money. I’ve entered heaps and never won anything. All it does is drain my bank account and give me disappointment.

    Like

    • sarahlearichards says:

      I think what’s crazier is that a lot of publications charge a “reading” or “convenience” fee just to read your work (not even a contest). Used to, a publisher read your work for free, and they paid you.

      Like

  7. Krista says:

    I feel like writing contests can be very subjective, so you never know exactly what’s expected, and when you’re paying an entry fee, I feel as though you should know for what the fee pays. : I agree with Monica, though: I couldn’t enter a contest without knowing that I would be receiving feedback, as that can be an enormous help when trying to improve. 🙂

    Like

  8. Krista says:

    I feel like writing contests can be very subjective, so you never know exactly what’s expected, and when you’re paying an entry fee, I feel as though you should know for what the fee pays. : I agree with Monica, though: I couldn’t enter a contest without knowing that I would be receiving feedback, as that can be an enormous help when trying to improve. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

