What writing “memorabilia” do you like?

It has come to my attention that I really love the look of old typewriters. I don’t think I’d ever use one, but the idea of having one tickles my urge to be surrounded by writing “things.”

I really love collector editions of my favourite books and I tend to pick up bookmarks whenever one catches my eye. What sort of writing memorabilia to you like? What do you have around your house that tells everyone you are a writer?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

100 Responses to What writing “memorabilia” do you like?

  1. i love all those writers things as well. in atlanta, i visited the margaret mitchell house and saw her old typewriter i wanted to but did not touch! around my house are so many books and handwritten fragments of poems and stories to indicate WRITER!!!

    Like

  2. i love all those writers things as well. in atlanta, i visited the margaret mitchell house and saw her old typewriter i wanted to but did not touch! around my house are so many books and handwritten fragments of poems and stories to indicate WRITER!!!

    Like

  3. The pens I write with – Bic crystal blue ink pens – are everywhere, and always on me somewhere. My personal journals are also things that people notice right away. They’re all leather-bound, but each of them is different. I have quite a few of them, and I can remember specific pieces in each one just based on their covers. My personal library is something that tends to let people know what genre I prefer, which I think is interesting. I think a bookshelf says a lot about a person, depending on what lives there.

    Like

  4. The pens I write with – Bic crystal blue ink pens – are everywhere, and always on me somewhere. My personal journals are also things that people notice right away. They’re all leather-bound, but each of them is different. I have quite a few of them, and I can remember specific pieces in each one just based on their covers. My personal library is something that tends to let people know what genre I prefer, which I think is interesting. I think a bookshelf says a lot about a person, depending on what lives there.

    Like

  5. ronnilove says:

    I have an old typewriter at home as well! I’m simply obsessed with it. I’ve never used it, but I’m using it as decoration in my “vintage theme” room and maybe I’ll start using it as well 🙂 I think they’re so neat!

    Like

  6. ronnilove says:

    I have an old typewriter at home as well! I’m simply obsessed with it. I’ve never used it, but I’m using it as decoration in my “vintage theme” room and maybe I’ll start using it as well 🙂 I think they’re so neat!

    Like

  7. Millie Ho says:

    My Raymond Chandler and Philip Pullman collection and the Scrivenor app forever open on my laptop/desktop computer.

    Like

  8. Millie Ho says:

    My Raymond Chandler and Philip Pullman collection and the Scrivenor app forever open on my laptop/desktop computer.

    Like

  9. Vy Chazen says:

    I used to collect typewriters, but they’re not easy to store. I have three that I love and kept. I keep one at work because it’s orange and our company colors. People leave me messages on it. The other two are at home in my office. They are quite loud and while I love writing letters on it, it takes forever.

    I also have an ink and quill pen and stationary to go with it. I write letters on it too. My friends love it and always promise to write back but they never do. Lol. They’re not writers.

    Like

  10. Vy Chazen says:

    I used to collect typewriters, but they’re not easy to store. I have three that I love and kept. I keep one at work because it’s orange and our company colors. People leave me messages on it. The other two are at home in my office. They are quite loud and while I love writing letters on it, it takes forever.

    I also have an ink and quill pen and stationary to go with it. I write letters on it too. My friends love it and always promise to write back but they never do. Lol. They’re not writers.

    Like

  11. I don’t have anything that says “hey, I’m a writer” but my overstuffed bookshelves say I like to read that’s for sure. I think an old typewriter would be cool.

    Like

  12. I don’t have anything that says “hey, I’m a writer” but my overstuffed bookshelves say I like to read that’s for sure. I think an old typewriter would be cool.

    Like

  13. kingmidget says:

    I was at an antique/collectibles store a few months ago and they had an old typewriter or two. I was intrigued by them and seriously thought of buying one. But I wanted to know that I would be able to use it — to find ribbons and make sure it worked. I think there would be something very real — and returning to the roots of writing — that having an old typewriter could create. Of course, if I really want to return to the roots, I should get a bottle of ink and a quill. Or maybe a piece of stone and a chisel.

    Like

  14. kingmidget says:

    I was at an antique/collectibles store a few months ago and they had an old typewriter or two. I was intrigued by them and seriously thought of buying one. But I wanted to know that I would be able to use it — to find ribbons and make sure it worked. I think there would be something very real — and returning to the roots of writing — that having an old typewriter could create. Of course, if I really want to return to the roots, I should get a bottle of ink and a quill. Or maybe a piece of stone and a chisel.

    Like

  15. sarahlearichards says:

    I would love to own a typewriter to type out my envelopes.

    Like

  16. sarahlearichards says:

    I would love to own a typewriter to type out my envelopes.

    Like

  17. johnrsermon says:

    I’d say for me, it would be my books and my notepads. Both have grown over the years and started to slowly take over one part of my bedroom. One day I can see me needing to build them their own cupboard and/or shelf. Here’s hoping.

    Like

  18. johnrsermon says:

    I’d say for me, it would be my books and my notepads. Both have grown over the years and started to slowly take over one part of my bedroom. One day I can see me needing to build them their own cupboard and/or shelf. Here’s hoping.

    Like

  19. Mrs Inger Anna Jones says:

    Notebooks, pens, and books in general everywhere.

    Like

  20. Mrs Inger Anna Jones says:

    Notebooks, pens, and books in general everywhere.

    Like

  21. Harliqueen says:

    What a great post 🙂 I have lots of notebooks, like everyone else, but something I love is old pens and quills with ink pots. I love the antique ones, wish I could get more but they are darn expensive! 😀

    Like

  22. Harliqueen says:

    What a great post 🙂 I have lots of notebooks, like everyone else, but something I love is old pens and quills with ink pots. I love the antique ones, wish I could get more but they are darn expensive! 😀

    Like

  23. I’d love an old-fashioned scrivener’s desk, despite its impracticalities.

    Like

  24. I’d love an old-fashioned scrivener’s desk, despite its impracticalities.

    Like

  25. I have a big mess and a lot of books for research…

    Like

  26. I have a big mess and a lot of books for research…

    Like

  27. Paul J. Stam says:

    Always good to hear from you Jodi. My first novel, published in 1968, that’s before you were born, isn’t it, was typed on an Underwood. I will say that I miss the sound of the key klicking. I had a cat who used to nap on my pile of blank paper while I was working and when he heard me pull a sheet out of the the typewriter would get up and move off and then lay right back down on the pile of paper.
    I miss that old typewriter and cat.
    Incidentally, I want to thank you for letting me know you liked my post. – Blessings and Aloha – pjs.

    Like

  28. Paul J. Stam says:

    Always good to hear from you Jodi. My first novel, published in 1968, that’s before you were born, isn’t it, was typed on an Underwood. I will say that I miss the sound of the key klicking. I had a cat who used to nap on my pile of blank paper while I was working and when he heard me pull a sheet out of the the typewriter would get up and move off and then lay right back down on the pile of paper.
    I miss that old typewriter and cat.
    Incidentally, I want to thank you for letting me know you liked my post. – Blessings and Aloha – pjs.

    Like

  29. winterbayne says:

    Stickers on the back of my laptop indicate I write, but nothing else.

    Like

  30. winterbayne says:

    Stickers on the back of my laptop indicate I write, but nothing else.

    Like

  31. Thaddeus Dombrowski says:

    I have a writing desk. I don’t write at the desk too often. Instead, I abuse it, by asking it to hold piles of junk above the floor. I also have a collection of old journals, piled on top of the desk.

    Now, my writing is all digital. But, until I lost my ability to write by-hand, I kept hand-written notebooks.

    Typewriters were a part of my life, from my first junior-high typing-class, to the invention of the PC, with home-printers.

    Most young people don’t know that the original purpose for these machines was to make correcting mistakes a giant pain in the ass. Typewriters do NOT speak to me from a more romantic time in our technological history. I have no nostalgia for correcting-tape and white-out. And, if I still had a typewriter, I would happily unload it on someone looking for a connection to our past.

    Like

  32. Thaddeus Dombrowski says:

    I have a writing desk. I don’t write at the desk too often. Instead, I abuse it, by asking it to hold piles of junk above the floor. I also have a collection of old journals, piled on top of the desk.

    Now, my writing is all digital. But, until I lost my ability to write by-hand, I kept hand-written notebooks.

    Typewriters were a part of my life, from my first junior-high typing-class, to the invention of the PC, with home-printers.

    Most young people don’t know that the original purpose for these machines was to make correcting mistakes a giant pain in the ass. Typewriters do NOT speak to me from a more romantic time in our technological history. I have no nostalgia for correcting-tape and white-out. And, if I still had a typewriter, I would happily unload it on someone looking for a connection to our past.

    Like

  33. This made me smile, enjoyed reading the replies. I had a look around and it’s pretty obvious for me on the writing front.
    There’s at least one crammed bookshelf in every room.
    My husband bought me the ultimate gift for Christmas…More Bookshelves!! (they were a bit special in solid hardwood and now contain all my favourites) but I did get a few strange looks when asked what I got for Christmas 🙂
    My friends NEVER buy me books because they think I have every book ever written already, so they buy me Notebooks instead.
    OMG Notebooks!!! Love em, Love em, Love em. Have got one on every bookshelf with a pen close by.

    Like

  34. This made me smile, enjoyed reading the replies. I had a look around and it’s pretty obvious for me on the writing front.
    There’s at least one crammed bookshelf in every room.
    My husband bought me the ultimate gift for Christmas…More Bookshelves!! (they were a bit special in solid hardwood and now contain all my favourites) but I did get a few strange looks when asked what I got for Christmas 🙂
    My friends NEVER buy me books because they think I have every book ever written already, so they buy me Notebooks instead.
    OMG Notebooks!!! Love em, Love em, Love em. Have got one on every bookshelf with a pen close by.

    Like

  35. N.Sokol says:

    My desk is usually filled with notes and scribbles all around filled with rhymes or things that came to my mind, pens and pencils scattered with two monitors usually opened; One being something I’m writing and the other something that inspires me. Despite this fact, it doesn’t tell people that I have a passion for writing until they actually read the things written on the sheets of paper laying around my desk.

    Like

  36. N.Sokol says:

    My desk is usually filled with notes and scribbles all around filled with rhymes or things that came to my mind, pens and pencils scattered with two monitors usually opened; One being something I’m writing and the other something that inspires me. Despite this fact, it doesn’t tell people that I have a passion for writing until they actually read the things written on the sheets of paper laying around my desk.

    Like

  37. Michael56j says:

    Feathers for a home-made quill, and parchment paper.

    Like

  38. Michael56j says:

    Feathers for a home-made quill, and parchment paper.

    Like

  39. All Out Of Excuses says:

    Nothing, save for the endless amount of journals sitting around the apartment, I also keep one on my bedside table with a pen. I actually have more photography related “stuff” than anything else. Note, I’m a closeted writer with only two people as my insiders so perhaps that’s why.

    But I would love to have an old typewriter, just because, and I love the feeling of the keys thumping on the paper.

    Like

  40. All Out Of Excuses says:

    Nothing, save for the endless amount of journals sitting around the apartment, I also keep one on my bedside table with a pen. I actually have more photography related “stuff” than anything else. Note, I’m a closeted writer with only two people as my insiders so perhaps that’s why.

    But I would love to have an old typewriter, just because, and I love the feeling of the keys thumping on the paper.

    Like

  41. heartofheather says:

    I actually own an old typewriter and I want more. My parents got it for my for my 27th birthday and I love it. It’s actually worth a good bit of money, but I would never sale it. I also have notebooks and pens laying everywhere. I don’t think I have a single notebook that doesn’t have some kind of story started in it. It’s so much fun to go back through the ones from high school and see what kind of stories I was thinking up then.

    Like

  42. heartofheather says:

    I actually own an old typewriter and I want more. My parents got it for my for my 27th birthday and I love it. It’s actually worth a good bit of money, but I would never sale it. I also have notebooks and pens laying everywhere. I don’t think I have a single notebook that doesn’t have some kind of story started in it. It’s so much fun to go back through the ones from high school and see what kind of stories I was thinking up then.

    Like

  43. Robyn LaRue says:

    Some of my weaknesses (not that I can afford to indulge them all): Library tables, coffee table books, fountain pens, old leather journals, and first editions. 🙂

    Like

  44. Robyn LaRue says:

    Some of my weaknesses (not that I can afford to indulge them all): Library tables, coffee table books, fountain pens, old leather journals, and first editions. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

