Writing wise, what have you accomplished this year?

I want this to be an “inspiration” post of sorts. A place for everyone to share what they’ve been up to, list their successes, and inspire others to keep working and writing.

What have I accomplished this year?

2014 has been really good year for me. I started the year with the goal to write 1,000 words a day, and to complete my first draft of Wrapped in Darkness in three months. I’m currently 50,000 words into the novel and it’s going really well.

I’ve also been working with a literary agency to make some revisions to my YA sci-fi novel, Sector12. While this may or may not result in representation, it’s still exciting to see my manuscript improve by the day πŸ™‚

What have you accomplished this year? What are you proud of? Lets’ inspire each other to continue working towards our dreams.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

81 Responses to Writing wise, what have you accomplished this year?

  1. Pepper says:

    Congrats!
    Me, I just signed up to a 365 day writing challenge which I think is crazier than parasailing haha!
    I really appreciate that you follow my blog, having followers inspires me to write 300 words daily, it also makes me accountable to you, so I do my best to write about interesting or useful stuff. Visit my blog soon? xoxo

    Like

  2. Pepper says:

    Congrats!
    Me, I just signed up to a 365 day writing challenge which I think is crazier than parasailing haha!
    I really appreciate that you follow my blog, having followers inspires me to write 300 words daily, it also makes me accountable to you, so I do my best to write about interesting or useful stuff. Visit my blog soon? xoxo

    Like

  3. Congrats on your progress this year. It is always intimidating at the start, knowing how much you need to do to meet your goals. That you are maintaining pace is fantastic!

    May I reblog your post, and give my answer?

    Like

  4. Congrats on your progress this year. It is always intimidating at the start, knowing how much you need to do to meet your goals. That you are maintaining pace is fantastic!

    May I reblog your post, and give my answer?

    Like

  5. kingmidget says:

    Wrote a 2,000 word short story and made progress on Northville … to the point where I am now writing the end of what will probably be about a 30,000 word novella.

    Like

  6. kingmidget says:

    Wrote a 2,000 word short story and made progress on Northville … to the point where I am now writing the end of what will probably be about a 30,000 word novella.

    Like

  7. I wrote a short novel that came from out of the blue, and got inspired to rewrite a young adult novel I had shelved years ago, so I’ve got two projects going and loving it.

    Like

  8. I wrote a short novel that came from out of the blue, and got inspired to rewrite a young adult novel I had shelved years ago, so I’ve got two projects going and loving it.

    Like

  9. Cay says:

    You’re progressing well. It’s always inspiring to stop by here and read your posts and all the comments.

    I’m about 70 000 words into a draft that I started during Christmas. I still got a long way to go. Initially, I thought I was writing ONE story. Now, I’m not completely sure anymore. But at the same time it’s all woven together as one. I never even considered a trilogy or more than one book. Maybe I should…

    I’ve always been a daydreamer and walked around with stories in my head, I suppose. But it’s the first time I actually stick with it and keep writing it. That alone is progress to me. So we’ll see how long I keep going. And what it eventually ends up being.

    Like

  10. Cay says:

    You’re progressing well. It’s always inspiring to stop by here and read your posts and all the comments.

    I’m about 70 000 words into a draft that I started during Christmas. I still got a long way to go. Initially, I thought I was writing ONE story. Now, I’m not completely sure anymore. But at the same time it’s all woven together as one. I never even considered a trilogy or more than one book. Maybe I should…

    I’ve always been a daydreamer and walked around with stories in my head, I suppose. But it’s the first time I actually stick with it and keep writing it. That alone is progress to me. So we’ll see how long I keep going. And what it eventually ends up being.

    Like

  11. Drae says:

    It’s good to hear that you’re enjoying the improvements coming to Sector12! It sounds like a really awesome book and I know I’ll be one reader looking to check it out when it becomes available!

    So far this year, I’ve also had the same daily goal to reach one thousand words. For most of January I managed that, but during the first week of February I got a little lax. I’ve been making up for it the past few days though! At the moment I’m mostly writing the little pieces I do between when my books are set, but it’s getting me back into the flow of treating my writing as something I should be doing on a daily basis again, and rebuilding all the old writer habits I relied on so much before moving homes messed up my pattern.

    Like

  12. Drae says:

    It’s good to hear that you’re enjoying the improvements coming to Sector12! It sounds like a really awesome book and I know I’ll be one reader looking to check it out when it becomes available!

    So far this year, I’ve also had the same daily goal to reach one thousand words. For most of January I managed that, but during the first week of February I got a little lax. I’ve been making up for it the past few days though! At the moment I’m mostly writing the little pieces I do between when my books are set, but it’s getting me back into the flow of treating my writing as something I should be doing on a daily basis again, and rebuilding all the old writer habits I relied on so much before moving homes messed up my pattern.

    Like

  13. Harliqueen says:

    Sounds like your writing accomplishments are going well πŸ™‚

    It’s nice to step back and take a look at what we’ve achieved, I find it really helps motivate me onwards!

    I have managed to write 2 novellas so far this year, which I’m quite pleased with as I have never finished a story before πŸ™‚ Good luck with your writing for the future.

    Like

  14. Harliqueen says:

    Sounds like your writing accomplishments are going well πŸ™‚

    It’s nice to step back and take a look at what we’ve achieved, I find it really helps motivate me onwards!

    I have managed to write 2 novellas so far this year, which I’m quite pleased with as I have never finished a story before πŸ™‚ Good luck with your writing for the future.

    Like

  15. Josh says:

    I’ve started a blog to post a lot of the creative writing I’ve done over the years that wasn’t meant to be published. I think my best accomplishment was plotting a series of novels and getting to 55,000 words.

    I’ve realized my greatest enemy is perfectionism. Tackling that has been difficult, because I run into that “one more draft will make this perfect” problem.

    It’s getting better, though.

    Like

  16. Josh says:

    I’ve started a blog to post a lot of the creative writing I’ve done over the years that wasn’t meant to be published. I think my best accomplishment was plotting a series of novels and getting to 55,000 words.

    I’ve realized my greatest enemy is perfectionism. Tackling that has been difficult, because I run into that “one more draft will make this perfect” problem.

    It’s getting better, though.

    Like

  17. ptmulraney says:

    Sounds like lots of progress out there. I’m 56,000 words into the first draft of the second novel in my Inspector West series, the first book of which which is now available on iBooks and Kobo in addition to Amazon. (Getting my head around all that stuff and lining up all the pricing levels on the three platforms was fun.) I’ve also managed to maintain a weekly post on my blog. Suppose I should confess that I’ve taken a couple of months off from my day job to devote to writing, and I’m doing that in New York….where it’s a hell of a lot colder than anywhere in Australia.

    Like

  18. jaredfeh says:

    I have decided to start writing again this year after a long hiatus. I just started last week and I have written six posts. It’s exciting to write again.

    Like

  19. jaredfeh says:

    I have decided to start writing again this year after a long hiatus. I just started last week and I have written six posts. It’s exciting to write again.

    Like

  20. bkpyett says:

    You are doing really well! I am not as productive, but am enjoying writing when I getto the computer.

    Like

  21. bkpyett says:

    Jodie, I borrowed one of your quotes, so a big thank you for that!
    Barbara

    Like

  22. bkpyett says:

    Jodie, I borrowed one of your quotes, so a big thank you for that!
    Barbara

    Like

  23. Bobbi says:

    Awesome! It sounds like your new year has started off just the way you had planned; very productive and satisfying. I, on the other hand, need some inspiration. I always plan to write and create art (and do a little, very little) but, let other things fog my muse. Help!

    Like

  24. Congrats to you! I’m considering attempting the long process towards hopefully publishing my first novel, so I’m always awed by anyone who’s taken that leap!
    I’ve really had more …lets call them delays in lieu of failures.. than successes. Last year at this time I was riding the high of having finished my very first novel’s first draft and realizing it needed a sequel. I was convinced that in the next year I would do a sweeping edit of my first draft and get ready to write the first draft of the sequel in November. However, my brain got ahead of me and I started book 2 before doing much more than half of the ‘grammar edits’ (I told myself I would do the hard stuff later) of book 1.
    Currently I’m almost done with the first draft of book 2, but still haven’t done any of the big edits to book 1. And now I’m rearing to start book 3.
    If you have any advice on how to turn of the creative writer and turn on the picky, unforgiving editor in your brain, I’d love to hear it!

    Like

  25. James Babb says:

    Congrats!
    I’m 30,000wrds into my third book. At my last school talk, I hand-sold 181 copies. So far, 2014 has been great!

    Like

  26. I’ve managed to submit a story I recently finished in the ABNA contest for Amazon. Beyond that, a lot of planning and preparing while I continue to enhance my collection of stories. One is bound to be picked up. Good luck with everything you’re doing!

    Like

  27. I’ve managed to submit a story I recently finished in the ABNA contest for Amazon. Beyond that, a lot of planning and preparing while I continue to enhance my collection of stories. One is bound to be picked up. Good luck with everything you’re doing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

