What are your March writing goals?

At the beginning of last month, I did a post entitled What are your February writing goals? which got some great comments and responses from readers. So, I decided I’ll do the same thing for March.

This month I signed up for 100happydays which is a happiness challenge. I’m a pretty happy person in general, but I love challenges like this because it encourages you to appreciate the little things in life. The challenge is to submit a photo each day to the platform of your choice. I’m using Instagram, so feel free to check out my progress and join the challenge too 🙂

Other than that, my goals for the month of March are to:

1. Finish the first draft of my NA, urban fantasy Wrapped in Darkness.

2. Continue to update this blog every second day and create engaging posts for readers.

3. Continue with my R&R for Sector12 and writing Chemicals Collide.

4. A personal fitness goal – my boyfriend and I have been walking five days a week, so my goal is to continue that for the length of the month.

What are your goals for March?

Let’s inspire and encourage each other.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Goals, Writing Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to What are your March writing goals?

  1. juliusmsanz says:

    It’s great to have goals. For me it would have to be these 2 writing wise: continue to write a post every day and actually get my story done.

    Like

  2. My goals for March are to come up with more new blog ideas and continue to improve my blog writing. Sometimes I get writer’s block, and so March is the perfect time for fresh ideas.

    Like

  3. My goal for March is to become consistent with my writing. Since the first of the year, I have written at least one post per week. The goal, though, is to write 2-3 per week, every week, instead of 1 post in one week and 3 posts the next.

    Like

  4. Thank you for liking my blog. I too am aspiring to be a published author. I have the first few chapters of two of my books on my blog if you ever want to take a peek. I will have to come back and navigate through your site…looks interesting. Meghan

    Like

  5. Finish the final read-through of my novel Orphan Spirit (reading backwards, to catch any last mistakes), get it formatted, get a cover prepared, upload and send it out into the world!

    Like

  6. trentpmcd says:

    Great goals. I’m going to do a 4th draft of my book. Put up a new blog post at least 4 times a week.

    Like

  7. I am doing the #100happydays as well! I just signed up and will start tomorrow! 🙂 Good luck!

    Like

  8. Sandy says:

    Continue my daily writing challenge. The challenge lies with my attitude towards writing, I want to get it over with, fast. The words trip over themselves, I’ve since learned to edit and edit some more, and try to slow down.

    Like

  9. Josh says:

    Well, I have a lot of goals related to writing. I can never just write things at once. I have about five short stories I’m working through while writing a novel, and I’m planning a kind of short story series for a blog.

    And then there is the research that goes into the writing I do, because a lot of it has to do with cutting-edge technology, or history, or some kind of esoteric bit of knowledge.

    So it’s really mostly going to be about finishing the five short stories, redraft as much as my novel as possible, and get through the research.

    Like

  10. My goals are to reach 200 followers on my blog (so close!) and begin going over my beta readers comments on my draft, make revisions and collaborate on the cover design with my designer. Stepping closer and closer to publishing!

    Like

  11. The Way Things Are Going Right Now, I JuSt Hope I Can Get SOMETHING written. Lots Of Stuff Going On At Home And Work.

    Like

  12. lordgodmose says:

    My goal is to get out of bed and do something productive

    Like

  13. iamccsmith says:

    Best of luck with everything! My only real goal for March is to finish my novel. It’s gonna be a good month of writing 🙂

    Like

  14. winterbayne says:

    I post my goal progress weekly, then the first week of every month. Recharge is going up Monday. March goals after that. I’m sure it a bunch of the same.

    Like

  15. I always enjoy reading your blog posts, they often seem to touch on things I am thinking about. My goals for this month are to finish the final, polishing edits of my short story “Through Madness” and submit it, continue writing my novel “Essence of the Shadow,” finish outlining another short story I am working on, and write one blog post per week.

    Like

  16. Good luck with your goals! Mine are to write the introduction and afterword for my book, prepare the few illustrations for it. I also plan to continue posting on my blog almost everyday.

    Like

  17. 1. Get my novel ready to be published on Kindle
    2. Start moving towards a new novel
    3. Find a way to keep the posts fresh on the blog — they’ve been feeling stale lately

    Like

  18. pauljgies says:

    I’ve just finished rewriting “The First Six Pieces” in what looks like the Ryel’s Journey trilogy, about a slutty ruthless elf maiden named Ryel and her friend the dwarf Arkmar and their quest in Lovecraft’s Dream World. Now I am posting that chapter by chapter on the blog, and rewriting “The Road to Bluehorse,” a.k.a. Clay Among the Stars. It’s a fix-up month.

    Like

  19. simonfalk28 says:

    Jodie, My walking has dropped off in recent days. Thanks for the reminder. All the best for your work on your draft.

    Like

  20. almostvvriter says:

    My writing goals would be to find time to write at least 500 words a day– which is a struggle with completing my senior years of high school. Another one would be to post more often!

    Like

  21. bkpyett says:

    That sounds a full and exciting month Jodie! I hesitate to add mine, as I strive to get back to writing every day… And walking every day. Thank you for the time you put into your posts too, I enjoy them.

    Like

  22. Harliqueen says:

    Good post, sounds like some great (and achievable) targets. I am hoping to finish the final edits on my second novella and then write my third! 😀

    Like

  23. Frank Fisher says:

    That’s a great post. I haven’t made any goals for March, but it’s nice to make monthly goals.

    Like

  24. Sounds as though you’ll be busy… This month I’m researching and planning for the first two books in my YA series. I also intend to blog once every week. It’s good to reflect on the previous month, see where you did well, where you went wrong, and then move onto the next month, with new goals, New objectives.

    Like

  25. I need to switch gears back from editing to content creation, now that revisions are done (at least for a while). I also need to make sure I’m blogging regularly!

    Like

  26. Good challenge: looking through my diary, I’ll be glad if I can just get some writing done that I don’t decide to delete the following week. Wearing my ‘professional’ hat, I have a set of proofs to deal with before my co-editor kills me (sorry, Sue …)

    Like

  27. egehlin says:

    Good post and a great challenge.
    My goals for March:
    1. Update and grow my blog at least twice a week.
    2.Finish the first two installments of my sci-fi short story series “Transportation Station”.
    3. Complete the first issue of my Eric’s Universe E-Zine.
    Lot’s of work ahead of me so I’ll sign off now.

    Like

  28. Lisa Thomson says:

    My writing goal for March is to keep revising my novel. I recently finished the second draft…on to the third!

    Like

  29. lly1205 says:

    I wish my March writing goals had to do with fiction rather than my MA essay – good luck with your much more exciting work!

    Lily

    Like

  30. How is the agent search going? I am seeking one as well. But I do have 18 novels self-published ont he Amazon Kindle store.

    Like

  31. hannahgivens says:

    March goals are completely beyond what I can actually accomplish:
    Write two research papers
    Post to my blog every 4-5 days (including minor posts and about 5 more substantial ones)
    Rough-rough draft of a short story
    About 2-3,000 words of my novel

    Yeah, not gonna happen, but I’ll get as close as possible!

    Like

  32. Oh gosh, March goals . . . finish writing the final 25% of the manuscript (it’s written, just needs work), finish writing jacket copy. Argh! So difficult.

    Like

  33. You’re clearly a very organised person. I wish I did have clear writing goals for March. I guess the main one is to finish the first draft of my current novella, but other things keep coming up. For instance I want to re-format and re-issue my two novels in paperback on Createspace, to (1) reduce the page extent (so I can reduce the price – it’s the main drawback of POD that the price is relatively high compared to e-books), and (2) improve the covers. I don’t mind doing that stuff but it takes time and takes me away from the actual writing. Oh well, such is the lot of the self-published author!

    Like

  34. I love the idea of a happy challenge! Thanks for sharing. C:

    Like

  35. Illicit By Nature says:

    March goals have to be: sort out the front cover for my story, do the final edits, and lastly, and probably the hardest… lose half a stone! God give me help. Love the blog by the way

    Like

  36. Gene'O says:

    My goals for March are to get most of the writing done for the April A-Z challenge, write one installment of my Tolkien series for my sister’s blog every week, and keep the pop culture blog that I edit posting every day. Once I get through march, I’ll be looking ahead to summer, and trying to come up with an idea or two that I can turn into publishable freelance work to be shopped in the Fall.

    Like

Leave a Reply

