As a writer, what do you fear the most?

Most of the topics covered on this blog are light and optimistic. But today I want to pose the following question:

As a writer, what do you fear the most?

At the moment… I’m scared that I’m going to take one look at my finished draft of Wrapped in Darkness and be completely overwhelmed by how much work it needs. I also fear that I might never be agented or published. That I might write a hundred books and suddenly realise, hey… I’m not very good at this.

What do you fear?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

136 Responses to As a writer, what do you fear the most?

  1. Day17Month11 says:

    I fear not actually being good enough. I’ve told people that I like to write, and that’s true, but I’ve always written for myself (diaries, poetry, blogs, silly fan fictions, etc), not meant for anyone else’s eyes. Now that people ask “oh, can you send me something to read?” I just get really cold feet and fear I’m actually not talented.

    Like

  2. skay1388 says:

    I can handle the fear of my book not being published, I fear mostly the criticism from my friends and family who may think I have spent far too much time writing a novel when I could have been working more (mind you I work 14 hr days already).

    Like

  3. I actually just experienced reading the rough Draft of my novel for the first time, since I set it aside over 5 months ago.

    Time seemed to distort my opinion of the piece. I was convinced that it wouldn’t be worth the effort. I remembered major scenes and plot points, but not the actual language.

    And I was so incredibly, wonderfully, surprised. I think your Draft will surprise you too!

    Like

  4. I actually just experienced reading the rough Draft of my novel for the first time, since I set it aside over 5 months ago.

    Time seemed to distort my opinion of the piece. I was convinced that it wouldn’t be worth the effort. I remembered major scenes and plot points, but not the actual language.

    And I was so incredibly, wonderfully, surprised. I think your Draft will surprise you too!

    Like

  5. john freeter says:

    I’m taking the indie route, so obscurity’s definitely my greatest fear. I really suck at marketing, but since I’m just some guy from El Salvador, my chances of finding an agent seem slim.

    Like

  6. penpowersong says:

    As a writer, just be yourself. Some people may not like your style, but it is your style. Be consoled with the fact that there are many people out there who have different expectations, and most of them may just follow you when they read your thoughts. Do not be afraid of “crabs”.

    Like

  7. I agree with penpowersong. I write very conversationally–even in my work emails! I realize that it’s not a style everybody “gets”. But it’s what’s natural to me and what I enjoy. I only lack the confidence when I think “what if someone reads it and thinks it’s horrible!” I, too, fear that I am at a disadvantage to ever having anything published because I’m not in the industry, but I think that climate might be changing a little with so many ways to publish. And Jodie…you ARE very good at this. I haven’t read your book that you’ve been writing, but if it’s like your blog, your writing is top notch. I wish you the best!

    Like

  8. I agree with penpowersong. I write very conversationally–even in my work emails! I realize that it’s not a style everybody “gets”. But it’s what’s natural to me and what I enjoy. I only lack the confidence when I think “what if someone reads it and thinks it’s horrible!” I, too, fear that I am at a disadvantage to ever having anything published because I’m not in the industry, but I think that climate might be changing a little with so many ways to publish. And Jodie…you ARE very good at this. I haven’t read your book that you’ve been writing, but if it’s like your blog, your writing is top notch. I wish you the best!

    Like

  9. sandradan1 says:

    Lots of things. That my book will never get published, that no-one will read it, that I will never finish it. SD

    Like

  10. MGilliam says:

    We are in a similar boat Jodie. I don’t fear the writing, it is cathartic. I don’t fear the rejection, it is inevitable. I fear when it is finally published (either self or traditional) that no one reads it. No one likes it. I’ve had people read it and they do like it but- I know them. I look forward to the first month it is out there and I get my first reviews, the real ones from absolute strangers. I won’t mind criticism but indifference. That in all relationships is the hardest to deal with, it is neither hot or cold and there is no reaction and no relationship.
    Thanks for asking and I hope you keep the fears at bay and push through! Like we all must.

    Like

  11. My fear is similar to yours. I am so scared that I will give up somewhere in the process and won’t achieve my goal.

    Like

  12. My fear is similar to yours. I am so scared that I will give up somewhere in the process and won’t achieve my goal.

    Like

  13. I have realized that I have performance fear (I am in my last semester of college & have to turn pieces in to a professor weekly) as well as insecurity about my writing ability as I am a young writer. But I have also realized that writing every single day is a great way to combat my fears. When I am not consistently writing, writing starts to feel very ominous and I start avoiding it. But when I am consistently writing, I am more apt to recognize that yes, I am a young writer but I am constantly improving, and that is exactly where I need to be.

    Like

  14. mad nad says:

    Thanks for posing this question. It is comforting to read all these responses… to know we are not alone in our fears about writing. The important thing to remember is that we only fail as writers if we stop writing! Good luck to everyone and thanks for sharing.

    Like

  15. mad nad says:

    Thanks for posing this question. It is comforting to read all these responses… to know we are not alone in our fears about writing. The important thing to remember is that we only fail as writers if we stop writing! Good luck to everyone and thanks for sharing.

    Like

  16. juhi says:

    My biggest fear being a writer is to not be able to come up with new ideas each time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

