Writers, what video inspires you?

For those of you who haven’t seen this… do yourself a favour and watch it. I remember seeing this ages ago and it spoke to me then and it’s speaking to me now. It is a great video about the gap that exists between what you want to create and what you’re actually creating.

Do you have any videos you find yourself coming back to time and time again? Videos that all aspiring authors should be watching?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Writers, what video inspires you?

  1. I find Charlie Chaplins speech from the movie The Great Dictator to be very inspiring.

    Like

  2. I find Charlie Chaplins speech from the movie The Great Dictator to be very inspiring.

    Like

  3. wewrites says:

    I find Barry lane’s writing videos on youtube pretty good. Check out the video called explode a moment. It’s simple but good. I use it with my students but it helps me as well.

    Like

  4. wewrites says:

    I find Barry lane’s writing videos on youtube pretty good. Check out the video called explode a moment. It’s simple but good. I use it with my students but it helps me as well.

    Like

  5. KMcWriter says:

    Thank you for posting this — it’s super-inspiring!

    Like

  6. KMcWriter says:

    Thank you for posting this — it’s super-inspiring!

    Like

  7. Apparently you draw from the same well as me…I posted this same thing as a quote about year ago on my blog…. http://wp.me/p2lg2E-Aa …. very good advice by Ira Glass…love the guy and his radio program when I can catch it….:) To answer your question directly though…I don’t have one video or person…I have a myriad of them I think of. But yours is definitely in the top five. Thanks. I need this reminder from time to time.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Apparently you draw from the same well as me…I posted this same thing as a quote about year ago on my blog…. http://wp.me/p2lg2E-Aa …. very good advice by Ira Glass…love the guy and his radio program when I can catch it….:) To answer your question directly though…I don’t have one video or person…I have a myriad of them I think of. But yours is definitely in the top five. Thanks. I need this reminder from time to time.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thank you for sharing this, it is extremely inspiring. For me, the quote from Dead Poets Society, the one that even Apple has adopted in its latest tv ads, keeps seeming to find me lately. If you are unfamiliar with the clip, it is the one where Robin Williams is quoting O Me! O Life! by Walt Whitman.

    Like

  10. Thank you for sharing this, it is extremely inspiring. For me, the quote from Dead Poets Society, the one that even Apple has adopted in its latest tv ads, keeps seeming to find me lately. If you are unfamiliar with the clip, it is the one where Robin Williams is quoting O Me! O Life! by Walt Whitman.

    Like

  11. danniehill says:

    I love this! And it’s so true. I’m in a slump- not writer’s block- it’s a confidence thing and I am forcing myself to write– even if it is crap. Looking forward to it getting better- your video helped!

    Like

  12. danniehill says:

    I love this! And it’s so true. I’m in a slump- not writer’s block- it’s a confidence thing and I am forcing myself to write– even if it is crap. Looking forward to it getting better- your video helped!

    Like

  13. Kelly says:

    Reblogged this on Kelly's Wandering Mind and commented:
    It truly does takes years and is a continuous battle most of us face. Thanks for the post it was perfect timing for me to experience this clip for the first time. 🙂

    Like

  14. Kelly says:

    Reblogged this on Kelly's Wandering Mind and commented:
    It truly does takes years and is a continuous battle most of us face. Thanks for the post it was perfect timing for me to experience this clip for the first time. 🙂

    Like

  15. I’ve actually heard this from a couple different sources. One was an online writing group of my peers from college. This rocked me the first time I heard it. I was like, man… That makes sense. Total sense.

    I’m really glad you posted it for me to see again. I think seeing it now helps me put perspective on just how far I’ve come, and how much progress I’ve made. And just how much work there is left.

    There’s no particular video that stands out to me as a source of inspiration. I really like scanning WordPress when I need a jolt. Reading other people’s writing, and writing my own meaningless post helps get the juices flowing, and prepare me for the hours of work ahead.

    Like

  16. I’ve actually heard this from a couple different sources. One was an online writing group of my peers from college. This rocked me the first time I heard it. I was like, man… That makes sense. Total sense.

    I’m really glad you posted it for me to see again. I think seeing it now helps me put perspective on just how far I’ve come, and how much progress I’ve made. And just how much work there is left.

    There’s no particular video that stands out to me as a source of inspiration. I really like scanning WordPress when I need a jolt. Reading other people’s writing, and writing my own meaningless post helps get the juices flowing, and prepare me for the hours of work ahead.

    Like

  17. Gaurab says:

    Nice video. Thanks for sharing. 🙂 😀

    Like

  18. Gaurab says:

    Nice video. Thanks for sharing. 🙂 😀

    Like

  19. cherylgross says:

    Funny. I still go through this every day and I produce a huge amount of work.

    Like

  20. cherylgross says:

    Funny. I still go through this every day and I produce a huge amount of work.

    Like

  21. N.Sokol says:

    Great video, a truth inevitable!

    Like

  22. N.Sokol says:

    Great video, a truth inevitable!

    Like

  23. kgbethlehem says:

    it was a very good video. to be honest certain movies inspire me more to write. just a clip of a movie and i’m off to the races lol..

    Like

  24. kgbethlehem says:

    it was a very good video. to be honest certain movies inspire me more to write. just a clip of a movie and i’m off to the races lol..

    Like

  25. Very encouraging – thank you for posting it.

    Like

  26. Very encouraging – thank you for posting it.

    Like

  27. Very interesting and chimes with a lot of research…Thanks again 🙂

    Like

  28. Very interesting and chimes with a lot of research…Thanks again 🙂

    Like

  29. Brooklyn-Charlotte says:

    Reblogged this on prologueblues.

    Like

  30. Brooklyn-Charlotte says:

    Reblogged this on prologueblues.

    Like

  31. Bryce says:

    Outstanding! Everything I’ve ever wanted to articulate on the matter.

    Like

  32. Bryce says:

    Outstanding! Everything I’ve ever wanted to articulate on the matter.

    Like

  33. alexalustro says:

    One of my absolute favorites!

    Like

  34. alexalustro says:

    One of my absolute favorites!

    Like

  35. jsleflore says:

    I love this post. I have been trying to consistently write on my blog but I tell you the ideas and format and just everything about it is so draining to me. You think your ready and then you sit in front of the screen to create some great works of worth and boom I don’t know if its writers block or if its just me. Any how really appreciated the post. So many talented people here blogging, I will do my best to fight through it.

    Like

  36. jsleflore says:

    I love this post. I have been trying to consistently write on my blog but I tell you the ideas and format and just everything about it is so draining to me. You think your ready and then you sit in front of the screen to create some great works of worth and boom I don’t know if its writers block or if its just me. Any how really appreciated the post. So many talented people here blogging, I will do my best to fight through it.

    Like

  37. dibenami says:

    Great video, thanks for sharing! Puts into words what a lot of us don’t realize. Writing is a skill just like any other – it takes practice. If only every aspiring writer understood this we might have twice as many amazing books out there.
    On a side note, it really does suck to read your own work and recognize that it’s terrible. But every time you recognize it, you get closer to closing that gap.

    Like

  38. dibenami says:

    Great video, thanks for sharing! Puts into words what a lot of us don’t realize. Writing is a skill just like any other – it takes practice. If only every aspiring writer understood this we might have twice as many amazing books out there.
    On a side note, it really does suck to read your own work and recognize that it’s terrible. But every time you recognize it, you get closer to closing that gap.

    Like

Leave a Reply

