Writers, what have you been up to?

What has everyone been up to lately? I decided to create a check-in post since we’re a couple of weeks into March and time is just flying by.

Here is what I’ve been up to:

Writing – I’m just bypassed the 60,000 word mark of Wrapped in Darkness. My goal is to have the first draft done and dusted by the end of the month. I’m not 100% sure if I’ll make it, because I think it will end up being quite a bit longer than 80,000 words, but I’ll give it a good go!

Reading – I’ve been re-reading the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. I’ve read the first three before, but decided to sit down this time around and finish the entire series. I’m halfway through the 6th book at the moment and looking forward to finishing so I can read Panic by Lauren Oliver.

Competitions – This morning I entered the #PitchMadness pitch competition. Check out the Twitter tag for more details. For those of you who have a finished manuscript, definitely keep an eye out for twitter pitch competitions, they’re a lot of fun.

Upcoming – April 1st marks the first day of Camp Nanowrimo – a mid year Namowrimo. I’m planning to put Wrapped in Darkness aside for the month and start something new! Who’s going to join me?

In other news – I bought a gorgeous Princess Parot 🙂 Meet Khaleesi.
(Yes, I’m a Game of Thrones fan).

What have you been up to? Let’s motivate each other 🙂

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

110 Responses to Writers, what have you been up to?

  1. I have been up to no good, and I’m almost there, too.

    Like

  2. I have been up to no good, and I’m almost there, too.

    Like

  3. grfrazier says:

    You’ve been rocking it, Jodie. Congrats on all your accomplishments. Keep up the great work and good luck with Camp NaNoWriMo. I’ve signed up for it as well, but I’ve got so many events planned in April I don’t know if I’ll get any of them done. There are tons of contest deadlines this spring and I don’t have anything ready!! Ugh!! But I’m working on it. But, first things first, I’m going to play the #TwitterFictionFest challenge this week. I’ll be posting more on my blog about it later today or tomorrow. And for those who don’t have time to keep up on Twitter, I plan to copy the entire story over to my blog when it’s completed.

    Like

  4. grfrazier says:

    You’ve been rocking it, Jodie. Congrats on all your accomplishments. Keep up the great work and good luck with Camp NaNoWriMo. I’ve signed up for it as well, but I’ve got so many events planned in April I don’t know if I’ll get any of them done. There are tons of contest deadlines this spring and I don’t have anything ready!! Ugh!! But I’m working on it. But, first things first, I’m going to play the #TwitterFictionFest challenge this week. I’ll be posting more on my blog about it later today or tomorrow. And for those who don’t have time to keep up on Twitter, I plan to copy the entire story over to my blog when it’s completed.

    Like

  5. Even if you have a lot going on, it all seems rather interesting and It’s great that you’re excited about all of it.
    The book I’m writing is in a little rut at the moment so I think I’ll take you up on that offer and start something new to shake things up and stir up the imagination machine.
    By the way, beautiful parrot, so the names suits it perfectly. The colors just scream Khaleesi! (Yes, I am also a Game of Thrones fan).

    Good work and good luck with those upcoming events and such 🙂

    Like

  6. Even if you have a lot going on, it all seems rather interesting and It’s great that you’re excited about all of it.
    The book I’m writing is in a little rut at the moment so I think I’ll take you up on that offer and start something new to shake things up and stir up the imagination machine.
    By the way, beautiful parrot, so the names suits it perfectly. The colors just scream Khaleesi! (Yes, I am also a Game of Thrones fan).

    Good work and good luck with those upcoming events and such 🙂

    Like

  7. sklase says:

    I’ve been writing a lot of stories lately but getting tons of rejections. I have been actually fighting for motivation to keep on writing because rejections depress me. Love the parrot.

    Like

  8. sklase says:

    I’ve been writing a lot of stories lately but getting tons of rejections. I have been actually fighting for motivation to keep on writing because rejections depress me. Love the parrot.

    Like

  9. I’m about to publish a poetry collection entitled: The Dark Knight Ascends His Horse. I also have a short story called: Smoking Tea In Coffee Park that I’m waiting to publish, but the cover design isn’t finished yet. Right now I am in the midst of working on my 2nd novel called: Ladies Prism. Should be roughly 90,000 words of pure philogyny.

    Like

  10. I’m about to publish a poetry collection entitled: The Dark Knight Ascends His Horse. I also have a short story called: Smoking Tea In Coffee Park that I’m waiting to publish, but the cover design isn’t finished yet. Right now I am in the midst of working on my 2nd novel called: Ladies Prism. Should be roughly 90,000 words of pure philogyny.

    Like

  11. Michael Roberts says:

    Wow, that’s impressive Jodie. I am jealous that you find/make so much time for writing. I have the curse of two hobbies – so have been focusing more on programming (a writing application) than doing any actual writing in the last month or so. Reading a bit too: As Sure as the Dawn by Francine Rivers, No Compromise by Melody Green and Verbal Judo by George Thompson.

    Like

  12. Michael Roberts says:

    Wow, that’s impressive Jodie. I am jealous that you find/make so much time for writing. I have the curse of two hobbies – so have been focusing more on programming (a writing application) than doing any actual writing in the last month or so. Reading a bit too: As Sure as the Dawn by Francine Rivers, No Compromise by Melody Green and Verbal Judo by George Thompson.

    Like

  13. njmckay says:

    I’m working on my Camp NaNo novel too! Other than that, not too much. My RP sites online i’m a part of seemed to have fallen behind and I lack the desire to write on them right now. I’ve sent out one of my novels to four beta readers so i’m holding off on any more revisions until I get some feedback. Other than that I’ve been taking it easy and jotting down ideas here and there when they come.

    Like

  14. njmckay says:

    I’m working on my Camp NaNo novel too! Other than that, not too much. My RP sites online i’m a part of seemed to have fallen behind and I lack the desire to write on them right now. I’ve sent out one of my novels to four beta readers so i’m holding off on any more revisions until I get some feedback. Other than that I’ve been taking it easy and jotting down ideas here and there when they come.

    Like

  15. Bryce says:

    I’m working on editing, which is such a slow process. Or, at least, not nearly as fast as I anticipate. Almost there! Trying to remind myself to work on my uncompleted works too… So far? Not so much…. Where have the first two months gone?

    Like

  16. Bryce says:

    I’m working on editing, which is such a slow process. Or, at least, not nearly as fast as I anticipate. Almost there! Trying to remind myself to work on my uncompleted works too… So far? Not so much…. Where have the first two months gone?

    Like

  17. Wow, you’ve been busy! Love the parrot 🙂 I’ll be joining you for Camp Nano as well

    Like

  18. krystal jane says:

    Yes! That parrot is gorgeous!
    Good luck with PitchMad.

    Like

  19. krystal jane says:

    Yes! That parrot is gorgeous!
    Good luck with PitchMad.

    Like

  20. 1.Writing – Just finished another short story called “Cactus Valley”. I’m going to start pulling my short singles off Amazon and group them into collections of three.
    Getting back on track with my fantasy novel The First Light. I got stuck on a fight scene, but now I’m through it. I blogged about my dilemma “Unlucky Chapter 13”
    Also, I laid down my first thoughts on creating an new language. I blogged about that too in a post called “Elvish Lives.” 🙂
    2. Reading – “Our Lady of Victory” by Shirley Slaughter and “Over My Dead Body” by Bruce Borders and “African Me & Satellite TV” by Jo Robinson. Only about half way through Shirley’s book. But I’m going to write reviews for all three.
    3. Competitions – None
    4. NaNoWriMo – Looks interesting…maybe I could use that to blast away the rest of my novel
    5. News – I’m sad to report the passing of Jan Jennings. A great author of vampire fiction, who taught me (and many others) a lot about writing. She was a force within the San Antonio Writer’s Guild, and will be missed.

    Like

  21. D.J. Lutz says:

    Writing (again) my Nano 2013 novel – this time in first person vice third omniscient. Just returned from the beach in Mexico renewed to make some life changes. Vegetarianism is looking better and better. Gasp, did I, the bacon king, just say that?

    Like

  22. rlsharpe says:

    Congrats on passing 60,000 words with Wrapped In Darkness! Fingers crossed for pitch madness. Khaleesi is beautiful 🙂

    Like

  23. rlsharpe says:

    Congrats on passing 60,000 words with Wrapped In Darkness! Fingers crossed for pitch madness. Khaleesi is beautiful 🙂

    Like

  24. The ‘progress’ I make is infinitesimal at best…I’ve been trying to scrounge up a passable outline for weeks. But I’m determined to beat procrastination – maybe starting tomorrow.

    Like

  25. Amy Pinkrose says:

    What an incredible blog you have here! Nice!!!

    I came here to personally thank you for your support of my article I wrote at The Talking Violin, regarding cellphones on planes. It really meant a lot to me. (((HUGS))) Amy

    Like

  26. I am in the process of finishing up Nothing Ventured. I’m hoping to have the first draft finished in the next week or so. I have a potential copyeditor in the works so I want to pass the book on to him while I start on the sequel Nothing Gained for Camp NaNoWriMo.
    I’m currently reading the Midnight Breed series by Lara Adrian.

    Like

  27. I am in the process of finishing up Nothing Ventured. I’m hoping to have the first draft finished in the next week or so. I have a potential copyeditor in the works so I want to pass the book on to him while I start on the sequel Nothing Gained for Camp NaNoWriMo.
    I’m currently reading the Midnight Breed series by Lara Adrian.

    Like

  28. F.C. Janes says:

    See you at Camp NaNoWriMo! Don’t forget your flip flops.

    Like

  29. It’s always fascinating to read what everyone is doing! This month I’m not doing much except the day job — trying to keep some writing going but it’s an uphill job. I’ve signed up for Camp NaNo, however, hoping that things will improve in April. Good to see that Geraint Isitt is reading Jasper Fforde — I love Jasper Fforde’s work!! My only complaint is that there isn’t enough of it!

    Like

  30. It’s always fascinating to read what everyone is doing! This month I’m not doing much except the day job — trying to keep some writing going but it’s an uphill job. I’ve signed up for Camp NaNo, however, hoping that things will improve in April. Good to see that Geraint Isitt is reading Jasper Fforde — I love Jasper Fforde’s work!! My only complaint is that there isn’t enough of it!

    Like

  31. PS, love the parrot!

    Like

  32. I just started writing again – I had a few month off after publishing my last book at Christmas. I needed a break from it but now I am back on it again! Very busy bee =) by the way nice parrot! Heather

    Like

  33. makimorita says:

    Hello wordpress world. I am new and lonely. Maybe you should check out my blog – who knows, you could find it entertaining

    🙂 Maki

    Like

  34. makimorita says:

    Hello wordpress world. I am new and lonely. Maybe you should check out my blog – who knows, you could find it entertaining

    🙂 Maki

    Like

  35. jlknapp505 says:

    Self promotion:
    I started a writer’s blog, Jack L Knapp Author. It contains excerpts and a lot of advice to writers.
    I have two novels available on Amazon Kindle, Combat Wizard and Wizard at Work. The third novel in the Wizards Trilogy, Talent, is half written.
    My second series, Darwin’s World, has two novels written and currently undergoing revision. Each of the novels is more than 100 000 words in length, so revision is no simple project. Still, Darwin’s world should be published on Amazon next week. I also intend to try a site called D2D, Document to Digital I think, for converting my .docx files to the appropriate formats and publishing them on iBooks, Nook, and probably others. The second book in that series, The Trek, will be revised and published soon after. The third book, Home, consists currently of two chapters and an outline.

    Like

  36. jojo2442 says:

    Wow, very impressive reading what all of you have been up to… very inspirational!

    Writing wise: I’m currently writing a two book fantasy series. I’m struggling through the first and am growing more and more confident that it is really just a set up for the second book. So my project right now is to make that not the case, so that the first book is just as enjoyable as the second (And the second is crazy ahah).
    I’m also in the middle of a short story for a class I’m taking which is being a rather grisly experience.
    On top of those two projects I have my own blog of which I am trying to become more consistent and authentic in my posts. So, lots of writing going on! As for your time goals I’m going to have to create my own for my series because it’s stretched on for almost as long as George R. R. Martin at this point.. and that is almost too embarrassing to admit.

    Reading wise: I’m rereading Game of Thrones rather slowly. I am also a huge game of thrones fan and am patiently (if anyone is really patient about this) awaiting the next book! In the mean time I’m getting into Joe Abercrombies The Blade Itself series and trying to get into Divergent too. I have a few things lined up for after that but I’m really interested in reading all of the aforementioned self published novels in the comments.

    Good luck to you all! And keep reflecting on what you’re doing day to day in writing. Sometimes it’s the little things that make the difference 🙂

    Like

    • jlknapp505 says:

      Writing; I published Hands, a novella, on Amazon about a week or so ago. I’m now writing Home, the third novel in the Darwin’s World series and revising Darwin’s World. I’ll update it in about a week or so, then schedule a countdown deal and possibly an ad on ENT.

      Like

  37. jojo2442 says:

    Wow, very impressive reading what all of you have been up to… very inspirational!

    Writing wise: I’m currently writing a two book fantasy series. I’m struggling through the first and am growing more and more confident that it is really just a set up for the second book. So my project right now is to make that not the case, so that the first book is just as enjoyable as the second (And the second is crazy ahah).
    I’m also in the middle of a short story for a class I’m taking which is being a rather grisly experience.
    On top of those two projects I have my own blog of which I am trying to become more consistent and authentic in my posts. So, lots of writing going on! As for your time goals I’m going to have to create my own for my series because it’s stretched on for almost as long as George R. R. Martin at this point.. and that is almost too embarrassing to admit.

    Reading wise: I’m rereading Game of Thrones rather slowly. I am also a huge game of thrones fan and am patiently (if anyone is really patient about this) awaiting the next book! In the mean time I’m getting into Joe Abercrombies The Blade Itself series and trying to get into Divergent too. I have a few things lined up for after that but I’m really interested in reading all of the aforementioned self published novels in the comments.

    Good luck to you all! And keep reflecting on what you’re doing day to day in writing. Sometimes it’s the little things that make the difference 🙂

    Like

  38. I just passed the 35K mark in my fantasy novel. Also, I’ve completed a first draft of a new sci-fi / horror story called “Night Flight”.

    Like

  39. I just passed the 35K mark in my fantasy novel. Also, I’ve completed a first draft of a new sci-fi / horror story called “Night Flight”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

