A big thank you to all my fellow writers!

I am so inspired by all the wonderful comments this blog is getting. I love waking up every morning to see new notifications sitting in my inbox, it inspires me to write every day and I hope that some of my posts are encouraging you guys too.

So I wanted to say a big thank you to everyone who is following this blog and leaving though provoking comments. I’m endlessly amazed by how different every writer is and how uniquely we all approach the writing process.

Is there anything in particular that you guys want me to post about? Any help you need with your writing? If you have any ideas or suggestions please feel free to leave them in the comments.

Here are some blog stats as of right this second:

My first blog post was on September 26, 2013.
Since then I have written 109 posts that have received 29,597 views and 2,725 comments.

My top commenters (as of the last 1,000 comments) are:
1. Barbara Pyett – Barbara has written her memoir and published a children’s book. She writes for children.
2. Harliqueen – A writer documenting her journey towards self-publishing.
3. M T McGuire – A humorous fantasy author.
4. Paul Gies – An author who posts his writing from three primary works.
5. Natacha Guyot – An independent researcher and writer.

My most commented posts are:
1. Shameless Promotion for Writers – 134 comments
2. Questions for Aspiring Authors – 120 comments
3. How long does it take to write a novel? – 89 comments
4. As a writer, what do you fear the most? – 84 comments
5. How do you write your first draft? – 84 comments

Thanks again everyone for making my blogging experience so rewarding 🙂

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to A big thank you to all my fellow writers!

  1. chinahand11 says:

    Thank you for such an upbeat post. Yay!

    Like

  2. chinahand11 says:

    Thank you for such an upbeat post. Yay!

    Like

  3. Geraint Isitt says:

    As a relative newcomer here, I’m glad you stumbled across my blog to lead me to yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Geraint Isitt says:

    As a relative newcomer here, I’m glad you stumbled across my blog to lead me to yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. mikeakin1 says:

    We all need encouragement. It really helps.

    Like

  6. mikeakin1 says:

    We all need encouragement. It really helps.

    Like

  7. M. Zane McClellan says:

    Just keep doing what you’re doing. I appreciate you as well. Peace ~ Michael

    Like

  8. M. Zane McClellan says:

    Just keep doing what you’re doing. I appreciate you as well. Peace ~ Michael

    Like

  9. Cay says:

    I just noticed that you’re almost done with the first draft (word count wise at least) with Wrapped in Darkness! Well done. Did that word count pick up fast lately or was it just me not paying attention?

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      Nope. I’ve been adding 1,000 words every day since January 1st, so it is coming together slowly but surely 🙂

      Like

      • Cay says:

        OK. So it was me who confused it with another bar on a different blog, perhaps. I just looked at it now and thought: Wow! She’s added 30 000 words in a week! 😀 Wishful thinking, perhaps. Or maybe not. With that kind of production it would be pure quantity and no quality control at all. 😉

        Well, anyways! I love your blog. It’s inspirational and light-hearted and that is what many of us are looking for the world of blogs.

        Like

      • jodiellewellyn says:

        It seems to have built up pretty fast, but not that fast! hehe 🙂 Thanks.

        Like

  10. Cay says:

    I just noticed that you’re almost done with the first draft (word count wise at least) with Wrapped in Darkness! Well done. Did that word count pick up fast lately or was it just me not paying attention?

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      Nope. I’ve been adding 1,000 words every day since January 1st, so it is coming together slowly but surely 🙂

      Like

      • Cay says:

        OK. So it was me who confused it with another bar on a different blog, perhaps. I just looked at it now and thought: Wow! She’s added 30 000 words in a week! 😀 Wishful thinking, perhaps. Or maybe not. With that kind of production it would be pure quantity and no quality control at all. 😉

        Well, anyways! I love your blog. It’s inspirational and light-hearted and that is what many of us are looking for the world of blogs.

        Like

      • jodiellewellyn says:

        It seems to have built up pretty fast, but not that fast! hehe 🙂 Thanks.

        Like

  11. bkpyett says:

    Jodie, I do appreciate the work you put into your blog, and a big thank you for including me in your list! What a thrill that is, as I still feel like a beginner…

    Like

  12. bkpyett says:

    Jodie, I do appreciate the work you put into your blog, and a big thank you for including me in your list! What a thrill that is, as I still feel like a beginner…

    Like

  13. rmaher28 says:

    love it ! great work indeed

    Like

  14. rmaher28 says:

    love it ! great work indeed

    Like

  15. Thanks for sharing these links and helping me to discover more great blogs. Also, I loved the gifs–especially the Jensen Ackles one. Made my night 🙂

    Like

  16. Thanks for sharing these links and helping me to discover more great blogs. Also, I loved the gifs–especially the Jensen Ackles one. Made my night 🙂

    Like

  17. Karen says:

    A big thank you to you, Jodie! Your blog posts are very inspiring. ⭐
    A helpful blog post could be something like: How to cope with statements like: “Of course! She’s writing – again!”
    This is something that hopefully does not apply to full-time writers.

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      I’m not sure I exactly understand… do you mean like, drifting in and out of writing? Or writing too much?

      Like

      • Karen says:

        This is my situation: I am occasionally mocked by my husband and/or my visiting daughter when I am sitting in front of my computer. (Inwardly they are proud, they just do not want to always show it.)
        On the other hand, they beam with pride when I write something in my little black moleskine…
        As I have got a full time job, I cannot help occasionally being at my computer in my spare time…

        Like

  18. J. Mahogany says:

    Words are the glue that keep us writers together. You encourage me, so thank you!!!

    Like

  19. Harliqueen says:

    I like the feeling of community that writers and their blogs seems to give 🙂 Yours is a great blog, I always enjoy your posts!

    Like

  20. eskopoet says:

    Oh no, thank you for following us and for actually taking the time out of your day to read our comments!

    Like

  21. eskopoet says:

    Oh no, thank you for following us and for actually taking the time out of your day to read our comments!

    Like

  22. Wow, that’s a rapid rise to fame. We started about the same time. Wishing you all the best, and I really enjoy your blog.

    Like

  23. Well done on the success with this blog. It really surprises me that you’ve only been doing this since last September – just a few months, and yet you’ve already gained an impressive number of followers, comments, views etc. As a relatively new blogger myself (I started my site last September too, but only started blogging regularly in November), I’m interested to learn some of the reasons you’ve done so well. I’d make the following observations:

    – You blog regularly – several times a week on average.
    – Your focus is pretty tightly on writing, which leads me on to …
    – You are obviously a committed and passionate writer, something that always comes through in your posts. That can inspire others – e.g. your ongong target to write at least 1,000 words a day, which is a regular and much-needed nudge to slackers like me.
    – Your posts tend to have interesting, relevant, encouraging and/or though-provoking points.
    – … but they’re quite short, which encourages people to read them.
    – You obviously want to reach out to other writers and encourage a sense of community and mutual support.
    – Your website has a simple and attractive design.

    Of course, everyone’s different. We shouldn’t all seek to follow the same blueprint, and not eveyrone will follow every aspect of your approach. Buit I think there’s soemthing for me and other bloggers to learn from you. Thank you.

    Like

  24. sklase says:

    great job on your blog. Keep up the good work.

    Like

  25. Your blog posts are succinct and informative…

    Like

  26. Your blog posts are succinct and informative…

    Like

  27. M. Ziegler says:

    What a great way to recognized your followers. It’s always interesting for me to see the posts that get the most action.

    Like

  28. Thank you for this great post! It’s always a pleasure to visit your blog and exchange with you through commentaries! 🙂

    Like

  29. You deserve every single reader. Wonderful stuff, really.

    Like

  30. I’m so glad you found me so I could find you! I really enjoyed reading through your posts. You are very encouraging and I will definitely be back often for a little writer’s lift. Keep it up!

    Like

  31. I’m so glad you found me so I could find you! I really enjoyed reading through your posts. You are very encouraging and I will definitely be back often for a little writer’s lift. Keep it up!

    Like

  32. Cody Hutton says:

    I have always said you cannot go wrong with a good ol’ Dean Winchester .gif

    Like

  33. RSAGARCIA says:

    Thank you for writing such awesome blogs! And for Dean!!!

    Like

  34. M T McGuire says:

    Mwahahahrg! That’s more victims than I’ve had ever I suspect! Er hem sorry, did I say ‘victims’? Channelling Lord Vernon there, clearly. Visitors yes that’s right… Come to the blog my lovelies you are quite safe… Thanks for the lovely plug. I had no idea I was so chatty phnark!

    Cheers

    MTM

    Like

  35. I’d love a post on writing tips for young writers/writers who have just started/lacking confidence. Love your blog! 🙂

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      Nice idea. I’ll definitely do a post on this. I guess my advice would just be to write because you love it. Allow yourself to time to write things that you’ll never show anyone because it takes the pressure off 🙂

      Like

  36. KMcWriter says:

    Happy post!

    I’d love to hear about how you piece together your stories.

    I’ve written many disparate scenes of the same novel, and now I have to add the “connective tissue” — it’s tough. I’m wondering if you have any tips. 🙂

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      I write like this all the time. I write a section of chapter one, then skip to a paragraph in chapter twelve, then I’ll get an idea for chapter four and backtrack.

      My tip is just to read through you have, create some sort of plot outline and then it’s harder to get lost. If you start from the beginning and read through, sometimes when you get to a hole, the words will just continue flowing. Seems to work for me.

      I like to go back through and highlight the heading of each chapter yellow, and then when the chapter is complete, highlight it green – I like doing this 🙂 Makes me feel like I’m accomplishing things. Ironically enough, it’s usually the middle chapters I finish first.

      Like

  37. Dustin says:

    Greetings, Jodie!!

    I’ve been away for quite some time, but I just wanted to check in, let everyone know I’m okay.”:) Most importantly, I wanted to express my gratitude for your amazing blog (fellow writer’s unite, it’s a fantastic place to hang out, inspire one another, and so much more.. you know?) I’m so pleased that your blog success have not dissipated, but grown throughout the year.

    For now, keep the dreqam alive, everyone!

    Like

  38. Hi!

    Could you write me a story about a cat please? And maybe the guy who owns this cat is from Canada, and he wears the cat around his neck? Even on the bus and stuff.

    Thanks Jodie!

    Still loving the blog! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  39. cricketmuse says:

    I thought NaNoWriMo was in November! I wrote a YA novel based on it being in November–0h no *screams descending as writer faints*

    Like

  40. cricketmuse says:

    I thought NaNoWriMo was in November! I wrote a YA novel based on it being in November–0h no *screams descending as writer faints*

    Like

  41. Hi Jodie,
    Thank you for reading my blog. I recently moved to an area that does not have good internet access, so there is no power to comment on all my viewers. I am in town today and wanted to get back to you. I am drawn to your blog because you look very like my youngest daughter Angela in your photo. You are doing very well blogging. Congratulations.
    I would like to write a book as well. You have many people who read your blogs. Have you any tips you could share with me on how to get more viewers to my blog.
    Well done.
    Best wishes
    Angela

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

