Achieving your writing goals

I did it!

If you look in the sidebar where I’ve been tracking my word count progress for Wrapped in Darkness. I’m done!

For those of you that haven’t been following my progress since the beginning of the year, in January I set out with the goal to write 1,000 words a day and have a completed manuscript by the end of March. And last night I hit 80,000 words which was my overall goal. Yay!

What writing successes are you guys celebrating at the moment? What are you proud of? I’m proud of writing 1,000 words a day and getting 80,000 words done, because even though my manuscript is a mess, I have a completed first draft!

Now the hard work really begins.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Goals, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

73 Responses to Achieving your writing goals

  1. Wow! Happy for you! 🙂

    Like

  2. Charlotte says:

    Congratulations, that’s fantastic! Did you make sure you were writing at the same time every day, or was it just anytime you got a moment?

    Like

  3. Mahesh Sharma says:

    Congrats. Junot Diaz writes such engaging prose. Great recommendation. Looking forward to seeing your work!

    PS where in Australia do you live? I’m in Melbourne. Always great to see other local writing talent 🙂

    Like

  4. pauljgies says:

    Excellent! Keep writing. Keep reading.

    Like

  5. sarahlearichards says:

    1000 words a day is a great goal! Congrats! Somehow, I think it’s easier to think of those 1000 words as one complete work (blog post, flash fiction piece, etc.) than just one chapter of a book. Psychology.

    Like

  6. ecarasella says:

    Simply fantastic! I love that you not only set a goal, but stuck to it, and kicked it’s ass! Congrats!

    Like

  7. Rhonda says:

    Congratulations! Great work! 🙂

    Like

  8. colorfulpen says:

    Congratulations! That’s a great accomplishment. For me, April will be a busy month of writing. There’s the Writer’s Digest Poem-A-Day challenge, NaPoWriMo, Camp NaNoWriMo, and the A to Z Blogging Challenge. Ahhh!

    Like

  9. rolltidejen says:

    That’s a fantastic accomplishment! Congratulations for keeping at it! I have a rather short attention span, so I’ve been writing a few hours here and there every week in an attempt to finish a novel I started in 2009. I always start out with these great plans, but get stuck or bored, or both. So I decided to get back at it and did a lot of editing and revising. When I did that, the words seemed to come easier to me and I got back into the flow of writing. I’m not what you call organized, but I write what I know. This is more of a bucket list thing for me. But when I see what others like yourself can accomplish in such a short amount of time, it gives me hope and determination to see this through. So thank you for sharing this feat with us and inspiring me to stick with it. 🙂

    Like

  10. Michael56j says:

    Congratulations. Well done.

    Like

  11. Dustin says:

    Wow, thqt’s amazing, Jodie!!:) I’d be thrilled to churn half of your 1,000 words a day, let alone all of it!! Way to go!!

    Like

  12. ducle says:

    Love these quotes

    Like

  13. To be honest I have had life goals and a bucket list since my tween years but I’ve never thought of writing down and trying to pursue shorter-term, specific goals like this one. I think I’ll give it a try with a few ideas for my blog. Best of luck on your manuscript!

    Like

Leave a Reply

