Building a Writer’s Platform

As most of you know, I originally started this blog because all I heard about was how crucial it is for aspiring authors to have a ‘platform’. Whether it’s a blog, a website, twitter or some other social media. If you listen to the majority – writers need them.

Since starting this blog and joining Twitter/Tumblr/Pinterest etc. I’ve been pleasantly surprised by how amazing the writing community is. There are so many online competitions, critique groups, advice blogs, motivational blogs… the writing community is huge.

So in the spirit of everyone having a little piece of cyber space they call home. Let’s share our platforms with one another! I’m especially looking for Tumblr peeps to follow. I need some more writers on my Tumblr feed.

So with that said, Lead me to your:
1. Blog
2. Twitter
3. Tumblr
4. Any other platform you wish to share.

Here are mine. Let’s follow each other and build our platforms.
1. Blog – You’re on it 🙂 http://jodiellewellyn.wordpress.com
2. Twitter – https://twitter.com/jodie_llewellyn
3. Tumblr – http://jodiellewellyn.tumblr.com

If you need me, I’ll be at Camp Nanowrimo 🙂

On a side note, my mum (being the proud mum that she is) entered me in the Best Australian Blogging Awards. So if you have a spare couple of seconds, feel free to vote for me. I’m listed as Jodie Llewellyn.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

119 Responses to Building a Writer’s Platform

  1. vscot848 says:

    Here’s a question for you, @JodieLlewellyn. You started your blog in September, less than a year ago, and you now have over a thousand followers. What do you think was the secret to your success? You seem to have had incredible platform growth in such a short space of time. Is it content? Tagging? Daily blogging? Or all of the above? Interested in your thoughts.

    @girltrieslife

    Like

  2. Blog: wifiscificon.wordpress.com
    Twitter: twitter.com/iamkelso

    To support, I think part of your growth is definitely from visiting and communicating with other bloggers. Good luck!

    Like

  3. sjoycarlson says:

    Great idea! What an awesome way for writers to help one another. Followed you on twitter and here 😉 Anyone else… Follow me and I WILL follow you

    1. Blog: sjoycarlson.wordpress.com
    2. Twitter: @sarahjoydrop

    Like

  4. sethtan says:

    Cool post! Voted for you Jodie. You were the only checkbox I ticked. All the best, you have a great mum!

    Like

  5. I’m 1/8 of a coop blog, 8GreatStorytellers.wordpress.com. — mostly stories
    Also blogging as JGuentherAuthor.wordpress.com — mostly writing how-to, musings
    For those who tweet: @JGuentherAuthor. — mostly wise-ass remarks

    Like

  6. I’m just figuring out how to create a writer’s platform!

    Like

Leave a Reply

