Like a Virgin, #LV14, Blog Hop

This year, I’m lucky enough to be a part of the Like a Virgin Pitch Contest. As part of the experience, from the 18th to the 20th of April the competition is hosting a “Getting to know you” blog hop.

1.How do you remember your first kiss?
I remember being really underwhelmed like, oh, is this it? It wasn’t very exciting at all, but it did have all those ‘first’ kiss issues – clashing teeth and way too much wetness. Ah, the memories.

2.What was your first favourite love song?
*wracks memories* I don’t think I ever had one. Even now, I can’t think of a love song I like enough to call my ‘favourite’. One of the first bands I ever loved was Hanson… does that count? I do love Kiss by the Rose by Seal. That’s a great song. And Unchained Melody, that’s good too.

3.What’s the first thing you do when you begin writing for the day?
I generally clean. Which I know sounds weird but I can’t sit down and relax if my house is a mess. So I’ll do a quick run around, make sure everything is in its place and then I’ll settle in to write.

4.Who’s the first writer who truly inspired you to become a writer?
The first books that I really fell in love with was the Harry Potter series. They’re still my favourite books in the whole wide world. But I don’t necessarily thing that JK Rowling inspired me. I guess the person who really inspired me to commit to my dream to become a writer was my best friend Lyn. She started querying and writing seriously way before I did and I was inspired by her success. I always thought publishing was an elusive dream that would never happen, but Lyn’s a reminder that good things can happen if you word hard and commit to your ambitions.

5.Did the final revision of your first book have the same first chapter it started with?
My first book is still in revisions πŸ™‚ I’ve made revisions by myself, with beta-readers, even with a potential agent. In the end, the chapter’s beginning was different but everything else was pretty much the same.

6.For your first book, which came first: major characters, plot or setting?
Characters. I always introduce characters first. I think you need to know who you’re reading about before you realise why you’re reading about them. I write character driven stories.

7.What’s the first word you want to roll off the tip of someone’s tongue when they think of your writing?
Light. I want to write the sort of books that people sit down and can read in one sitting. Books that are fun and make you feel good in the end. Books that maybe even teach you something. But I want them to be light and simple, character driven, and engaging.

This was fun, looking forward to reading other #LV14 blog hop responses.

For those of you who are interested in entering some pitch competitions, Pitch Slam is coming up very soon. You should also follow Sub It Club for details on upcoming competitions.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Like a Virgin, #LV14, Blog Hop

  1. Glad to see you joined the blog hop! Wishing you good luck in the next round πŸ˜€

    Like

  2. D M Evans says:

    I love your answer to #7. So many people think a book has to be somber and thick to count and I’d take a fun light ready any day. (I’m cornerofmadness on the link page)

    Like

  3. J.K Rowling was an inspiration for me too! But it wasn’t necessarily the books, though I’m a huge Potterhead. I think it was because I could relate to her and felt like if she could do it, I could too. Good luck in the contest.

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      Harry Potter wasn’t just a series of books for me… I was engrossed completely and utterly in the world. Anyone who can have me up and standing in line to buy a book each year… much respect.

      Like

      • I’m also a huge Harry Potter fan! Those books mean a lot to me. I remember when HP and the Deathly Hallows was delivered. I screamed in the face of the UPS delivery guy clad only on a bathrobe. Then sat on my couch for 8 hours and read it straight through. *Joy*

        Like

  4. Louise Ross says:

    I love this line: “good things can happen if you word hard and commit to your ambitions.”
    I don’t know if you meant “work hard” or if you really meant “word hard” but as a writer, I love the idea that if I “word hard” good things will happen.
    I totally get Harry Potter. A friend and I read the fifth book while driving to a concert and sat in the car reading it aloud until the last second. We left the concert early and spent most of the rest of the evening reading it to each other by the light of her Pontiac. Ah the memories.

    Like

  5. PiccadillyPink says:

    I much prefer light reads. I have enough going on in my life to stress and worry about, I don’t need to deal with something heavy when I’m trying to escape. Also, Kiss by a Rose is an awesome song. Best of luck!

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      I’ve written heavy and light fiction… but I don’t know, I think “light” writing might be a better fit for me. I’m not too sure yet.

      Like

  6. Underwhelmed, oh yes πŸ˜‰ thanks for entering and good luck!

    Like

  7. rlsharpe says:

    Hanson was one of the first bands I loved too! I was madly in love with Taylor. Good luck with the contest!

    Like

  8. Kim Long says:

    Cleaning your house?!! Writing’s what we do so we don’t have to clean, as in, “I really should do some laundry, but I can’t stop now–this is an important part and everything is coming so smoothly.” Good luck!

    Like

  9. You clean before writing? Please don’t tell my hubby…I’ll never hear the end of it πŸ˜›
    I really enjoyed your answers and I’m sorry about the underwhelming first kiss, it seems like it’s normal though – as is the wetness factor. Best of luck in the contest.
    PS – I followed you on twitter & Tumblr.

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      Yeah, I don’t know. If I don’t clean before hand then I have more of a chance of procrastinating when I get stuck… I guess, lol.

      Like

  10. Unchained Melody – Classic!

    Like

  11. Cleans before writing? *sheepishly raises hand* Me too. I tend to prefer dark and gritty novels, but light is just what I need some days!

    Like

  12. Hanson! There’s a blast from the past! I think they’re making a come back!

    Like

  13. Now I have “Mmm-Bop” stuck in my head. Curse you!

    Like

  14. I am a closet Hanson fan. Well now that I see others like them, I can come out! I forgot to say I clean as well. Usually the kitchen. I can’t stand a messy kitchen. Good luck!

    Like

  15. I love that you want people to think light! I had a similar answer (fun). I know lots of people love a big, prose heavy Literary (with a capital L) masterpiece, but I’m not one of them. Oh, I’m also a lover of Harry Potter.
    Good luck!

    Like

  16. Well, I’m a lot older than all of you from the sound of things, but my first “favorite song” was “That’s Amore!” by Dean Martin. 1958, maybe? I was born during WWII, and remember singing endlessly “Now is the hour/ When we must say good-bye”. It is probably the most poignant song in the world, and I must have driven my mother to tears – both with the song itself, and my constant, five year old, repetition of it.

    I enjoyed the Harry Potter books, and a series by David Weber about an alternate universe called Safehold. For a quick read, I like cozy mysteries. Bodies off-stage, and clever heroines. No blood and gore.

    Like

  17. Anna says:

    Oh wow this is so cool! πŸ™‚ What nice questions and responses! Harry Potter books were the first books that I fell in love with as well! πŸ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

