My Writing Process, Blog Tour

I was tagged by Amanda and Hayley to take part in the My Writing Process Blog Tour.

1) What am I working on?
At the moment I’m working on a YA Contemporary called Chemicals Collide. I’m four days away from finishing Camp Nanowrimo and everything is going really well.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?
Hard question. I’m not really too sure. Chemicals Collide explores OCD and mental illness, so that could set it apart.

3) Why do I write what I do?
I write young adult because it’s what I like to read. I find the themes of YA fiction really interesting. I’ve written science fiction, urban fantasy and fantasy stories before, but I think I’ve found my home in contemporary fiction. I love exploring what could go on behind closed doors and what sort of stories could exist in real life, without hiding behind the screen of fantasy.

4) How does my writing process work?
I’m a very goal orientated writer. I like to write 1,000 words a day, and if a novel is 75,000 words long, then I know I’ll have the first draft finished in under three months. I work really well under pressure and work best when I’m working towards goals I set at the beginning of the process.

On a side note, my mum (being the proud mum that she is) entered me in the Best Australian Blogging Awards. So if you have a spare couple of seconds, feel free to vote for me. I’m listed as Jodie Llewellyn.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to My Writing Process, Blog Tour

  1. kbeezyisviral says:

    Keep writing and stay motivated.

    Like

  2. kbeezyisviral says:

    Keep writing and stay motivated.

    Like

  3. heartofheather says:

    I love that you used a Stephen King quote. He is my writing role model. lol

    Like

  4. heartofheather says:

    I love that you used a Stephen King quote. He is my writing role model. lol

    Like

  5. Just voted – good luck! By the way, I love that quote from Stephen King 🙂

    Like

  6. Just voted – good luck! By the way, I love that quote from Stephen King 🙂

    Like

  7. Great answers! I participated in this a few weeks ago! Such a great quote, too!

    Just voted for you! Best of luck! 🙂

    Like

  8. Great answers! I participated in this a few weeks ago! Such a great quote, too!

    Just voted for you! Best of luck! 🙂

    Like

  9. raulconde001 says:

    I like the most is that quote from Stephen King you’ve put. 🙂

    Like

  10. raulconde001 says:

    I like the most is that quote from Stephen King you’ve put. 🙂

    Like

  11. joneslshante says:

    This is helpful for me…especially number four…good writing

    Like

  12. joneslshante says:

    This is helpful for me…especially number four…good writing

    Like

  13. Really great! Hey can I get on-board the blog tour?

    Like

  14. Really great! Hey can I get on-board the blog tour?

    Like

  15. kenruto says:

    Yes you seems like a very goal oriented writer, you often may get better results with achieving your targets than people who write for fun or passionate writer. How do you merge/blend fiction, fantasy and reality in your writing? -Kiprotich Arap Ruto, Canada.

    Like

  16. kenruto says:

    Yes you seems like a very goal oriented writer, you often may get better results with achieving your targets than people who write for fun or passionate writer. How do you merge/blend fiction, fantasy and reality in your writing? -Kiprotich Arap Ruto, Canada.

    Like

  17. nishak4686 says:

    I wish I could force myself to write 1k words a day! I am lucky to choke out 5.

    Like

  18. nishak4686 says:

    I wish I could force myself to write 1k words a day! I am lucky to choke out 5.

    Like

  19. Lori Carlson says:

    Reblogged this on Burning the Root and commented:
    Interesting to see how others write and what motivates them.

    Like

  20. Lori Carlson says:

    Reblogged this on Burning the Root and commented:
    Interesting to see how others write and what motivates them.

    Like

  21. thdem says:

    Writing what you like to read, although so seemingly obvious, is such good advice. Thanks! I voted as well.

    Like

  22. thdem says:

    Writing what you like to read, although so seemingly obvious, is such good advice. Thanks! I voted as well.

    Like

  23. I like that Stephen King quote.

    It seems as though 50% or more of the blogs out there spend all their time discussing writer’s block and things like where to find inspiration. It’s boring.

    What you have to do is force yourself. Don’t sit down every day expecting to crank out a masterpiece. In fact, sit down and expect to come up with crap. You’ll likely arrive somewhere in the middle if those extremes, but the point is to realize that both are possible and that neither should frighten you.

    …if you keep on chucking darts, eventually you hit the bullseye.

    Like

  24. I like that Stephen King quote.

    It seems as though 50% or more of the blogs out there spend all their time discussing writer’s block and things like where to find inspiration. It’s boring.

    What you have to do is force yourself. Don’t sit down every day expecting to crank out a masterpiece. In fact, sit down and expect to come up with crap. You’ll likely arrive somewhere in the middle if those extremes, but the point is to realize that both are possible and that neither should frighten you.

    …if you keep on chucking darts, eventually you hit the bullseye.

    Like

  25. Sierra says:

    You know what? I used to hate goals, but since participating in Camp NaNo this month, and reading your answer to question 4, it makes sense to set goals. I get what you mean about the timetable. I may keep up my goal of 10k words a month to get this project done. Thanks for this. :] Well, you and Camp NaNo haha.

    Like

  26. Sierra says:

    You know what? I used to hate goals, but since participating in Camp NaNo this month, and reading your answer to question 4, it makes sense to set goals. I get what you mean about the timetable. I may keep up my goal of 10k words a month to get this project done. Thanks for this. :] Well, you and Camp NaNo haha.

    Like

  27. katsmiao says:

    I voted for you. Good luck

    Like

  28. katsmiao says:

    I voted for you. Good luck

    Like

  29. iamccsmith says:

    Setting my goal for 1,000 words a day has really helped me stay productive. If I waited for inspiration and creativity to hit me before I picked up the pen, I’d still be on my second book.

    Like

  30. Harliqueen says:

    Great answers to the hop! 🙂

    Like

  31. Johne651 says:

    I’ve been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this website. Thanks, I’ll try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your site?

    Like

Leave a Reply

