Do you have many writer friends?

I always wonder about this question. Because I’m all on my lonesome. None of my friends write. None of them even like to read! When I lived in Brisbane, I had a couple of reading and writing friends. But where I’m living now… no one.

How about you guys? Do you have many friends who like to read or write? Or are they all online? I’d love to have a large circle of writing friends, I think it would be so inspiring.

On a side note, this happened:

50,000 words in a month! Woo!

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

234 Responses to Do you have many writer friends?

  1. I’ve never had any writer friends either, or many reader friends, for that matter, and that makes it hard when you’re stuck and could use the helping hand of someone who understands or can offer some words of wisdom. One of my New Year Resolutions was to join a few writer’s groups and I found one that I look forward to every week. I even made a few new friends. I used the site Meetup.com. If you don’t find one you like, you could always start your own. I’m sure it’s available in Australia. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve never had any writer friends either, or many reader friends, for that matter, and that makes it hard when you’re stuck and could use the helping hand of someone who understands or can offer some words of wisdom. One of my New Year Resolutions was to join a few writer’s groups and I found one that I look forward to every week. I even made a few new friends. I used the site Meetup.com. If you don’t find one you like, you could always start your own. I’m sure it’s available in Australia. 🙂

    Like

  3. fireflyin says:

    I don’t have friends. Period. 🙂
    But when I did, none of them were writers. They didn’t think like a writer, didn’t really care much about the nuance of story or character. It was pretty frustrating. I’m in a writer’s group now, so… thankfully, I’m not totally isolated anymore.

    Like

  4. fireflyin says:

    I don’t have friends. Period. 🙂
    But when I did, none of them were writers. They didn’t think like a writer, didn’t really care much about the nuance of story or character. It was pretty frustrating. I’m in a writer’s group now, so… thankfully, I’m not totally isolated anymore.

    Like

  5. Finding Damo says:

    I’m lucky in that I have a couple of good friends who write. It makes life more fun!

    Like

  6. Finding Damo says:

    I’m lucky in that I have a couple of good friends who write. It makes life more fun!

    Like

  7. Not at all. But the two I have are so damn pompous, I’m not sure I want more.

    Like

  8. Not at all. But the two I have are so damn pompous, I’m not sure I want more.

    Like

  9. I don’t have any writer friends. I do have friends that read. I don’t really have any close friends anymore they are friends that once in awhile we text or get together. Congrats on the Camp win! 🙂

    Like

  10. I don’t have any writer friends. I do have friends that read. I don’t really have any close friends anymore they are friends that once in awhile we text or get together. Congrats on the Camp win! 🙂

    Like

  11. mad_cat says:

    I am all alone here. More than the usual reasons, I have acquaintances online but no one in person to talk to about writing.

    Like

  12. mad_cat says:

    I am all alone here. More than the usual reasons, I have acquaintances online but no one in person to talk to about writing.

    Like

  13. nisanre says:

    I have a few friends who write, although I have either moved or they have, it is inspiring to write with other writers. My best friends have inspired my novels in many ways. It is what draws us together. We still hash out details online and spend a lot of time chatitng, so although they’re far away, it’s easy to not feel far apart.

    Like

  14. nisanre says:

    I have a few friends who write, although I have either moved or they have, it is inspiring to write with other writers. My best friends have inspired my novels in many ways. It is what draws us together. We still hash out details online and spend a lot of time chatitng, so although they’re far away, it’s easy to not feel far apart.

    Like

  15. Jacinta says:

    I have one friend whom I regularly discuss plots with, and a few others that are more active writers (that is, they write D&D plots rather than stories). Whenever my friends who aren’t really writers tell me they’re thinking of starting, I pretty much jump at them like an excited puppy and try to talk shop.

    Like

  16. Jacinta says:

    I have one friend whom I regularly discuss plots with, and a few others that are more active writers (that is, they write D&D plots rather than stories). Whenever my friends who aren’t really writers tell me they’re thinking of starting, I pretty much jump at them like an excited puppy and try to talk shop.

    Like

  17. Ryan King says:

    Sadly, only online aquaintances. I had one in the past but we just weren’t compatible in the long run. Maybe one day.

    Like

  18. Ryan King says:

    Sadly, only online aquaintances. I had one in the past but we just weren’t compatible in the long run. Maybe one day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

