Rushing to the finish line…

I don’t know if this happens to anyone else… but have you ever noticed how the first few chapters of your manuscript are perfect, and the last three are a thrown together mess? When I’m drafting I go back and read over what I’ve written quite a bit and as a result, the first half of my novel is immaculate and the rest is a hot mess.

I think it’s because you write and write and write, and you can see the end in sight so you write even faster just to get the bloody thing done!

Does this happen to anyone else?

I guess the important thing is to make sure the entire manuscript is right before sending it off to agents.

What are you working on at the moment?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Rushing to the finish line…

  1. davemstrom says:

    Right this moment, I am hammering out a first draft of another Holly Hansson story: the Super Sleeping Beauty! I find starting a story is tougher than ending it, for I usually know exactly how my story will end. After I write the first draft (from my outline, of course), I am far more likely to edit or cut the start of the story than the end. Nowadays, I try to do a first draft with very little rewriting.

    As for mentors, I have been in critique groups. There are local writers to whom I look up. And many writers have inspired me. That helps.

    And your blog inspires me too. Thank you.

    Like

  2. M T McGuire says:

    Yes. That is exactly what happens to me. Or alternatively, I write the end first and then it’s rubbish because by the time I get there, it’s something I’ve written four years previously and I have to write it anyway.

    Cheers

    MTM

    Like

  3. lawz500 says:

    I’m definitely the same. I always think that the first three chapters have to be perfect to get the rest right. My manuscript is complete and I have even started querying agents but I’m still obsessing over the first three chapters!

    Like

  4. fireflyin says:

    I have the opposite problem… which may be a big problem. My first few chapters are a little weird, a little puzzling, and my last few are kick-you-in-the-crotch cool. In my opinion, anyway. 🙂

    Like

  5. jguenther5 says:

    The very worst way to do a rewrite is to start at page one and work your way to the last page. You’ll end up with just what you’ve got: great first chapters, so-so middle, mediocre last chapters…and a dozen plot holes big enough to drive a truck through. The first rewrites should be at the plot/story/thematic level. The next should be at the character level. Then review the novel scene by scene and see if you’ve obtained maximum conflict and reader interest. Only then should you start rewriting the actual text. If you’ve reworked the story properly, some of the text you would have polished during a linear, front-to-back edit will have been thrown out in the first three top-to-bottom edits. Save time and effort; work efficiently.

    Like

  6. Jodie says:

    this is so true, I’ve just finished my latest work and the final chapters I rewrote several times. It was trying to tie all the elements together

    Like

Leave a Reply

