Book Recommendation… YA Fantasy

Now that I’m working full time, I’m finding more pockets of time in my day to read (waiting in the car before work, lunch break etc). So, I’d like to recommend a book I just finished last night called “Throne of Glass” by Sarah J Maas.

A note on my recommendations… I read a lot of books, and it isn’t often that I actuallyΒ likeΒ them, so these recommendations couldΒ be pretty rare πŸ™‚

Why I started it… The covers are gorgeous! A new book from the series must have come out recently because it’s all over Tumblr, so I picked it up out of curiosity more than anything else.

Why I’m recommending it… In general, I don’t really like high fantasy. I find it really heavy and hard to get into. But I liked this. The story was rooted in the characters, as opposed to the plot. I’d probably rate it 3 stars, but for high fantasy, that is a big score for me.

What I liked about it… I really liked the main character Calaena, and I loved Chaol as well. Characters are pretty much everything for me in a book. I also appreciated that the final fight scene was realistic. The stakes were high and I felt the tension.

What are you guys reading and recommending at the moment?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Book Recommendation… YA Fantasy

  1. AMAZING BOOK!!! THIS IS WONDERFUL! I’m reading the second one now. Chaol is my favorite character. Chaol and Calaena are perfect for each other and yet, they have some many obstetrical. Dorian being one of them. /le sigh.

    Real Crown of Midnight. It is the 2nd one. The Assassin’s Blade is a Novella, which I haven’t read yet. I think that is the one that just recently came out. There are lots of other’s in this general series. I’ll be picking those up as well.

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      Glad to see someone else likes this πŸ™‚ I also love the fact that she started writing the book when she was 16 on fictionpress.com … I LOVE that πŸ™‚ Talk about sticking with one idea and committing to it. Maybe I should do that…

      Like

      • Heir of Fire comes out in September. I finished the second one last night and WOW!!!! Ya, ummm. I can’t wait to see what happens with Celeana and will she return to Chaol? What happy with Dorian? Will she really carry out this assignment?

        Sign of good writing: all the questions that make you antsy for the next book.

        Like

      • jodiellewellyn says:

        I love starting series when they’re close to complete. The worst thing ever is reading the first, then having to wait a year for the second.

        Like

  2. AMAZING BOOK!!! THIS IS WONDERFUL! I’m reading the second one now. Chaol is my favorite character. Chaol and Calaena are perfect for each other and yet, they have some many obstetrical. Dorian being one of them. /le sigh.

    Real Crown of Midnight. It is the 2nd one. The Assassin’s Blade is a Novella, which I haven’t read yet. I think that is the one that just recently came out. There are lots of other’s in this general series. I’ll be picking those up as well.

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      Glad to see someone else likes this πŸ™‚ I also love the fact that she started writing the book when she was 16 on fictionpress.com … I LOVE that πŸ™‚ Talk about sticking with one idea and committing to it. Maybe I should do that…

      Like

      • Heir of Fire comes out in September. I finished the second one last night and WOW!!!! Ya, ummm. I can’t wait to see what happens with Celeana and will she return to Chaol? What happy with Dorian? Will she really carry out this assignment?

        Sign of good writing: all the questions that make you antsy for the next book.

        Like

      • jodiellewellyn says:

        I love starting series when they’re close to complete. The worst thing ever is reading the first, then having to wait a year for the second.

        Like

      • Nicola says:

        Well, you might have wanted to wait on this one, then πŸ˜‰ The first two books are out, with the third one coming out in September (SO EXCITED!), and I think the author said a while ago that she was expecting the series to have around 6 books.

        However, with this series it doesn’t bother me, because each book does have its own internal plot, unlike with some series where the entire series seems like one novel that’s been cut down for printing reasons (a la Lord of the Rings). And the anticipation of the next book is positively delicious.

        Like

  3. Green Embers says:

    Right now I’m reading Terry Pratchett’s Raising Steam… well kind of. Taking a bit of a reading break and then I will be reading it, lol.

    Like

  4. Green Embers says:

    Right now I’m reading Terry Pratchett’s Raising Steam… well kind of. Taking a bit of a reading break and then I will be reading it, lol.

    Like

  5. I’m not really a high fantasy fan either, but I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book. If you (a fellow high fantasy non-fan) are recommending it, it must be good. I might give it a go πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. I’m not really a high fantasy fan either, but I’ve heard a lot of good things about this book. If you (a fellow high fantasy non-fan) are recommending it, it must be good. I might give it a go πŸ™‚

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      I think my main drama with high fantasy is I never feel connected to the characters… This one was different.

      Like

  7. duaimei says:

    Well, right now I’m reading my project management book for class… I picked up a marketing book from work because I was waiting for something to compile called, ‘Word of Mouth’ it’s very inspiring, it just makes me wish I had my own business so I can apply the concepts.

    On the other hand, I just ordered Game of Thrones, so I’ll be reading that for the first time soon.

    Like

  8. duaimei says:

    Well, right now I’m reading my project management book for class… I picked up a marketing book from work because I was waiting for something to compile called, ‘Word of Mouth’ it’s very inspiring, it just makes me wish I had my own business so I can apply the concepts.

    On the other hand, I just ordered Game of Thrones, so I’ll be reading that for the first time soon.

    Like

  9. bkpyett says:

    You have almost convinced me to read it!! It is something I’ve avoided so far, but my resilience is weakening! Thanks Jodie!

    Like

  10. bkpyett says:

    You have almost convinced me to read it!! It is something I’ve avoided so far, but my resilience is weakening! Thanks Jodie!

    Like

  11. Heather M. says:

    This book has now been added to my wishlist. lol

    Like

  12. Heather M. says:

    This book has now been added to my wishlist. lol

    Like

  13. barn7777 says:

    This story sounds interesting and I do like the cover! Right now, I am reading a friend’s story that is not published yet, and have a few more that I plan to read–this may be one to include for the future. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  14. barn7777 says:

    This story sounds interesting and I do like the cover! Right now, I am reading a friend’s story that is not published yet, and have a few more that I plan to read–this may be one to include for the future. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  15. I love this series! I can’t wait for the final book to be released. At the moment I am reading ‘Bitter Green’ by Kate Forsyth.

    Like

  16. I love this series! I can’t wait for the final book to be released. At the moment I am reading ‘Bitter Green’ by Kate Forsyth.

    Like

  17. I’m not even sure I’ve read any fantasy outside Tolkien and Lewis.

    Maybe that’s sad.

    Wait. Does The Hunger Games count?

    Like

  18. I’m not even sure I’ve read any fantasy outside Tolkien and Lewis.

    Maybe that’s sad.

    Wait. Does The Hunger Games count?

    Like

  19. embrystical says:

    At the moment I’m totally hooked on the Mistborn Trilogy. Not sure if it really counts as high fantasy or not, but it’s a great read. In fact, one of the first books where I’ve actually cared if a character dies. (I know, I’m evil!)

    Like

  20. embrystical says:

    At the moment I’m totally hooked on the Mistborn Trilogy. Not sure if it really counts as high fantasy or not, but it’s a great read. In fact, one of the first books where I’ve actually cared if a character dies. (I know, I’m evil!)

    Like

  21. Adaer says:

    Patrick Rothfuss’s Kingkiller Chronicle is pretty good.

    Like

  22. Adaer says:

    Patrick Rothfuss’s Kingkiller Chronicle is pretty good.

    Like

  23. rlsharpe says:

    I loved, loved, loved this one. It was a 5 star read for me. Great choice πŸ™‚

    Like

  24. rlsharpe says:

    I loved, loved, loved this one. It was a 5 star read for me. Great choice πŸ™‚

    Like

  25. Have to say the book’s cover is pretty killer (not that I judge a book by such a thing . . .)!

    Like

  26. Have to say the book’s cover is pretty killer (not that I judge a book by such a thing . . .)!

    Like

  27. If I saw this in the store, I’d definitely pick it up because of the cover too. I’m a completely visual person, hence the screenwriting. I just started reading Game of Thrones book 1, but because I love being surprised watching the show I don’t want to get too far ahead. πŸ™‚

    Like

  28. vicjwizard says:

    Oo – I love fantasy novels! Just got it on kindle! I shall let you know how I like it πŸ˜€

    Like

Leave a Reply

