What are your writing goals for June?

Can you believe we are half way through the year already! Where is the time going?

Every year around this time I start to wonder what I can do to make the year amazing. 2014 is definitely turning into the year of writing, so as long as I keep the momentum going, then I’m thinking 2014 could be an epic year.

My goals for June:

1. Editing Chemicals Collide. I completed my first full read-through and would like to keep editing. I also want to get the full manuscript out to some beta-readers. Any takers? Now that I’ve read the entire manuscript, my plan is to go through chapter by chapter and get the writing into the best shape it can be in.

2. I’m brainstorming my new YA contemporary, Walking Barefoot in the Rain. My goal for this month is to keep going with that and hopefully start writing either it, or something else. My goal is just to keep the momentum going and start something new while I’m editing Chemicals Collide.

3. I’ve been walking every morning at 6.30am before work, and I want to keep that going. I’ve also been reading a fair bit, and I want to keep that momentum going too.

And I think that’s it…

What are your goals for June?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Goals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

82 Responses to What are your writing goals for June?

  1. 80smetalman says:

    Jodie, you’ve put a fire up my butt. For the past few months I have been dithering over starting my next book. It’s about time I get to work, thank you.

    Like

  2. almostvvriter says:

    Hey Jodie!
    I am a teenager myself, and you’re a YA author, so if you want a beta-reader, I’m here!
    My goals for June: to keep myself afloat amid all the chaos of school, work, commitments, hobbies, reading and writing. Struggling to find the time to read, let alone write these days. 😦

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      Heya, thanks for the offer. There wasn’t an email to contact you on on your blog, but mine is jodiellewellyn @ gmail . com if you want to get in touch 🙂

      Like

  3. Michael Roberts says:

    Jodie I’m happy to read it – not being into YA I might not be that good though… I could make my nephew read it and tell me what he thinks 🙂 Seriously though, I’m happy to read it.

    Let’s see… June… I’m going to go over 4 chapters of my novel and read my 12th book for the year.

    Like

  4. tlehmann says:

    I am focusing more on writing for my board game publishing business this month, given that we their are several conventions we are attending. I will still try to post to my blog once every week or two.

    Like

  5. I’m always up for being a beta reader.
    June is going to be full of revisions and hopefully a start on the 3rd book of the trilogy. And finally a camping trip to get away from it all!

    Like

  6. sammieanthamarie says:

    My goals are to take a walk every day, and to finish (and tuck into) the outline for the major re-write I’m doing on my novel.

    Like

  7. sklase says:

    Keep working on my blog, figure out how to write and work full time during the Summer and finish two short stories; one for an anthology and one for a magazine.

    Like

  8. athling2001 says:

    My goals for June are to edit the majority of my manuscript, keep exploring the world of blogging and finalize my second poetry book for self-publishing. Great question!

    Like

  9. thecravecave says:

    My goal for June is to start writing something bigger. I have some ideas in mind, but I don’t know how to build up a whole story. But I will figure it out somehow!

    Like

  10. Finish revising my novel! I would like to have it query-ready by the end of June! And of course reading and blogging and book reviewing and query writing and raising children and . . .

    Like

  11. My goals for June are:

    To see a light in the tunnel for new employment.

    Actually, that’s it. For now.

    A beta reader I will be, if you’d like. Maybe because I don’t read the genre, it might have some dimensional value, I don’t know. I tend to get all hyfie when I analyze the “whys” anyway.

    Like

  12. Interested beta reader here if you are still looking!

    Like

  13. I’m surrounded by people with goals! You and Winter Bayne. I feel like such a slacker. My main goal is to publish my fantasy novel on Kindle. After that, I’m going to make time to plan my guts out on the fan fiction novel I’m working on. I’ve never done it before and I want to see if it helps.

    Like

  14. Bryan says:

    Thanks for the encouragement through this post!

    Like

  15. Jodie, if you are looking for someone to read Chemicals Collide and give you feedback, I don’t know if an old man like me can do it justice but would be willing to offer my services IF you would read mine.

    Like

  16. Nathan Hartley says:

    Half way through the year! Congrats on your progress so far with “Chemicals Collide”. I’m putting out my debut chapbook of poetry this month. I’m also doing a 100 Day Challenge of poetry. Lots of creating this summer :]

    Like

  17. fireflyin says:

    Goals… get out some query letters for my manuscript!

    Like

  18. Patrick Kemp says:

    My Goal for the rest of this year is simply to stay focused and write instead of finding every excuse not to do it.

    I can’t stand that part of myself. There is a ton of ideas in my head and those characters are pounding on the door asking to be freed. Unfortunately, all I’ve been doing is opening the peephole and telling them “Just hang on, I’ll get to your story … Someday.”

    Like

  19. colorfulpen says:

    For June, I want to finish a book of poetry I’ve been working on, and then concentrate on writing a gothic romance for Camp NaNoWriMo in July.

    Like

  20. Dustin says:

    Well, I’ve already technically started to write one project (which looks to be a novella, if not novel length,) and by the end of June I plan on at least starting a short story!

    Like

Leave a Reply

