Writers, what have you been up to?

This month has been crazy busy. I don’t even know where its gone. It feels like yesterday I was planning out my June goals. How has your month been? What have you been up to?

Writing – I’ve been working on my new YA Fantasy. I haven’t started writing yet because I’m still in heavy planning mode. I churned out my last few novels really quick so I want to take my time with this one. I’m really excited about it! I’m taking the characters I created for last year’s Nanowrimo and putting them into a revised setting and plot. I love that I can take my Nanowrimo work, which I got 30,000 words into but didn’t finish, and transform it into something new.

Reading – As you can see in my last post, I’ve been reading a fair bit. At the moment I’m reading Theย Testing series by Joelle Charbonneau. Prior to that I was reading The Intern by Gabrielle Tozer and After The End by Amy Plum.

Watching – At the moment I’m watching Awkward, Season 3. I love that show. It’s so simple and easy to watch with its little 20 minute episodes. I’m also watching The Voice, Australia pretty religiously. Oh, and The World Cup whenever I’m up early enough to catch a match.

Upcoming – The finalists of #Pitcharamaย will be announced on the 27th. I’m also excited because our local racing carnival will commence in a few weeks. So it’s off to watch the horses for me ๐Ÿ™‚

In Other News – I’ve been working full-time and still waking up at 6.30amย every morning to go walking with my mum. Things have been crazy and hectic. I have to remember to make time to write because it’s a lot harder now that I don’t have an abundance of time. I’ve also been working on my crochet project. I have 4.5 squares now!

What have you guys been up to?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Writers, what have you been up to?

  1. Writing has been focused on my upcoming blog series about character writing, diversity, Star Wars and fandom. After penning the 36 scripts for the video introductions I want to tape, I’ve started to write the actual posts. I’ve already completed 9 out of 36! I want to be fully ready with the series before launching it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve been reading a few things, and currently reading Kingdom of Shadows by Barbara Erskine. On the watching front, it’s only been some World Cup soccer games as due to my laptop’s death, I’m unlikely to do TV / movie catch up before a while.

    Like

  2. Writing has been focused on my upcoming blog series about character writing, diversity, Star Wars and fandom. After penning the 36 scripts for the video introductions I want to tape, I’ve started to write the actual posts. I’ve already completed 9 out of 36! I want to be fully ready with the series before launching it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve been reading a few things, and currently reading Kingdom of Shadows by Barbara Erskine. On the watching front, it’s only been some World Cup soccer games as due to my laptop’s death, I’m unlikely to do TV / movie catch up before a while.

    Like

  3. fineandkind says:

    For me, I’ve been working two jobs to earn money to go to London in the Fall! But this past weekend I was at the Firefly Music Festival in Delaware and saw some AMAZING ROCK BANDS! Writing wise, I’m starting to plan my next play, and churning out poems whenever the mood hits. I’m also getting into more political pieces on my blog that promote art to help stop the hate in the world. Reading wise, I’m rereading the Harry Potter series. Can never get enough of the classics ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. fineandkind says:

    For me, I’ve been working two jobs to earn money to go to London in the Fall! But this past weekend I was at the Firefly Music Festival in Delaware and saw some AMAZING ROCK BANDS! Writing wise, I’m starting to plan my next play, and churning out poems whenever the mood hits. I’m also getting into more political pieces on my blog that promote art to help stop the hate in the world. Reading wise, I’m rereading the Harry Potter series. Can never get enough of the classics ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  5. elleclouse says:

    I just got my ms back from my editor so I have a week deadline to get things ship shape (book shape?). Sleep, eat, work, edit. That’s my life right now.

    Like

  6. elleclouse says:

    I just got my ms back from my editor so I have a week deadline to get things ship shape (book shape?). Sleep, eat, work, edit. That’s my life right now.

    Like

  7. backwrites says:

    I finished the first draft of a novel this month, and have some short stories to scribble out. Also expecting my previous novel back from the editor sometime soon! I’m also trying to read more.

    Like

  8. backwrites says:

    I finished the first draft of a novel this month, and have some short stories to scribble out. Also expecting my previous novel back from the editor sometime soon! I’m also trying to read more.

    Like

  9. arielpakizer says:

    Too much! I’ve been querying one book, drafting a query for another, and editing a third so I can then, of course, write a query for it. I also want to write two books before August (uh . . . probably not both at this point?). I decided to take a step back from writing and start trying to get published instead.

    Oh, I forgot to mention: I’m so working on self-publishing a novel too.

    Anyways, good luck on your YA Fantasy! I love, love, love Fantasy. I usually write Fantasy now, but I do go back to YA sometimes (though, the YA novels usually have a fantasy element then . . .)

    Like

  10. arielpakizer says:

    Too much! I’ve been querying one book, drafting a query for another, and editing a third so I can then, of course, write a query for it. I also want to write two books before August (uh . . . probably not both at this point?). I decided to take a step back from writing and start trying to get published instead.

    Oh, I forgot to mention: I’m so working on self-publishing a novel too.

    Anyways, good luck on your YA Fantasy! I love, love, love Fantasy. I usually write Fantasy now, but I do go back to YA sometimes (though, the YA novels usually have a fantasy element then . . .)

    Like

  11. Finishing up prepping four unproduced screenplays from my Hollywood days for book and Kindle versions, called “Films That Never Were.” It’s a niche market of a niche market, sure, but it’s also the most fun I’ve had in months.

    Like

  12. Finishing up prepping four unproduced screenplays from my Hollywood days for book and Kindle versions, called “Films That Never Were.” It’s a niche market of a niche market, sure, but it’s also the most fun I’ve had in months.

    Like

  13. sjoycarlson says:

    Wow you’re very efficient with your time! I’ve actually started a new YA novel before finishing the perpetually nearly finished one. Got some feedback from an editor on that one that’s taking me some time to sift through. Really excited about this new novel. Set it in my home town and co-writing it with my good friend, who is Argentine.

    I’ve been traveling the past two weeks with my sister, who came to Singapore from the states for two weeks. I’ve got more guests coming in the next few weeks for a month, so doing A LOT of planning for all that. Thailand, Cambodia, and Bali. All that’s super exciting and fun, but cutting into my writing just as I’m trying to wrap up my perpetually nearly finished one, get to the next stage on my new novel, and critique others’ works!

    Anyway, best of luck on your new novel ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  14. sjoycarlson says:

    Wow you’re very efficient with your time! I’ve actually started a new YA novel before finishing the perpetually nearly finished one. Got some feedback from an editor on that one that’s taking me some time to sift through. Really excited about this new novel. Set it in my home town and co-writing it with my good friend, who is Argentine.

    I’ve been traveling the past two weeks with my sister, who came to Singapore from the states for two weeks. I’ve got more guests coming in the next few weeks for a month, so doing A LOT of planning for all that. Thailand, Cambodia, and Bali. All that’s super exciting and fun, but cutting into my writing just as I’m trying to wrap up my perpetually nearly finished one, get to the next stage on my new novel, and critique others’ works!

    Anyway, best of luck on your new novel ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  15. Jarrod C says:

    Let’s see. I just came off my second play. This one was a comedy called “The Nerd”. It had a two week run and was a lot of fun. The hard work of almost two months of rehearsing three nights a week plus countless nights studying lines really paid off.

    I have been focusing heavily on my writing and have felt motivated to write a lot of new poems. I’ve shared a number of them on my own blog. I want to dive deeper into writing and am exploring authoring plays, namely one acts to get my feet wet. I would like to start submitting some of my writings in an effort to expand.

    I’ve also gotten back into the gym full time and am loving it! I’ve changed up my routine adding in some crossfit exercises and swimming. I am really achieving my goals there.

    Like

  16. Jarrod C says:

    Let’s see. I just came off my second play. This one was a comedy called “The Nerd”. It had a two week run and was a lot of fun. The hard work of almost two months of rehearsing three nights a week plus countless nights studying lines really paid off.

    I have been focusing heavily on my writing and have felt motivated to write a lot of new poems. I’ve shared a number of them on my own blog. I want to dive deeper into writing and am exploring authoring plays, namely one acts to get my feet wet. I would like to start submitting some of my writings in an effort to expand.

    I’ve also gotten back into the gym full time and am loving it! I’ve changed up my routine adding in some crossfit exercises and swimming. I am really achieving my goals there.

    Like

  17. I’m trying to write two novels at the same time. They are completely different types of novels. One is a stand alone novel about history and reincarnation. The other is a sequel to the one I just self published. I also have a children’s book that I completed, but I am not happy with my own art work, so I guess that will have to wait until I can either find someone to do it, or I can redo it a little better. I consider myself a pretty good artist, but I could be better. I also have been posting several items on my blog related to science and space topics.

    Like

  18. I’m trying to write two novels at the same time. They are completely different types of novels. One is a stand alone novel about history and reincarnation. The other is a sequel to the one I just self published. I also have a children’s book that I completed, but I am not happy with my own art work, so I guess that will have to wait until I can either find someone to do it, or I can redo it a little better. I consider myself a pretty good artist, but I could be better. I also have been posting several items on my blog related to science and space topics.

    Like

  19. Eliza says:

    My head is full of all the things I want to do and I’ve been thinking about cloning myself to get it all done. I wish.

    Getting ever closer to finishing the first draft of my new novel which has been in the works for nearly a decade. I’m really excited about editing because I know how much potential this rough draft has.

    I keep thinking I should finish the illustrations for the story my son “wrote” when he was 3. It’s amazing.

    I’m starting to think about marketing and I’ve been throwing glances at elance to see if I should outsource that aspect of self publishing that I’m so terrible at. Also wondering about self publishing vs traditional publishing and how I feel ethically about the latter.

    Like

  20. Eliza says:

    My head is full of all the things I want to do and I’ve been thinking about cloning myself to get it all done. I wish.

    Getting ever closer to finishing the first draft of my new novel which has been in the works for nearly a decade. I’m really excited about editing because I know how much potential this rough draft has.

    I keep thinking I should finish the illustrations for the story my son “wrote” when he was 3. It’s amazing.

    I’m starting to think about marketing and I’ve been throwing glances at elance to see if I should outsource that aspect of self publishing that I’m so terrible at. Also wondering about self publishing vs traditional publishing and how I feel ethically about the latter.

    Like

  21. Beth Caplin says:

    I just released a new novella, Where There’s Smoke (details on my blog). Spending most of my afternoons learning all I can about marketing and building relationships with readers.

    Like

  22. Beth Caplin says:

    I just released a new novella, Where There’s Smoke (details on my blog). Spending most of my afternoons learning all I can about marketing and building relationships with readers.

    Like

  23. eclecticalli says:

    Been rolling along with my blog-serial, as well as my regular blog.. Now to find the time to work on my other projects… But also adjusting to the full time work schedule….ooh, and I started making a dress, that I now really want to finish… Just have to give myself the time…

    Like

  24. eclecticalli says:

    Been rolling along with my blog-serial, as well as my regular blog.. Now to find the time to work on my other projects… But also adjusting to the full time work schedule….ooh, and I started making a dress, that I now really want to finish… Just have to give myself the time…

    Like

  25. Cat Amesbury says:

    I love how much you’ve been getting done and have worked towards filling your various goals.

    I’m currently still tying up loose ends on Book Two in my fantasy series, but I had the cover reveal for Book Two today and it was a lot of fun. Someone compared the new cover to a “literary Grumpy Cat” which is a surprisingly good description of the tone of the series. So I’m very happy with how everything is working right now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  26. Cat Amesbury says:

    I love how much you’ve been getting done and have worked towards filling your various goals.

    I’m currently still tying up loose ends on Book Two in my fantasy series, but I had the cover reveal for Book Two today and it was a lot of fun. Someone compared the new cover to a “literary Grumpy Cat” which is a surprisingly good description of the tone of the series. So I’m very happy with how everything is working right now. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  27. barn7777 says:

    Nothing has changed with me–mainly working, blogging, and reading a friend’s story. However I plan to continue and complete my 3rd story in August ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  28. barn7777 says:

    Nothing has changed with me–mainly working, blogging, and reading a friend’s story. However I plan to continue and complete my 3rd story in August ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  29. I’ve been focusing on a Christian Romance Novel I am writing. As well
    working with ReaAnne Thayne on her Street Team for her new release Wild Iris Ridge!

    Like

  30. I’ve been focusing on a Christian Romance Novel I am writing. As well
    working with ReaAnne Thayne on her Street Team for her new release Wild Iris Ridge!

    Like

  31. Jon Chaisson says:

    I’m actually kind of surprised that I’m already on Chapter 3 of my latest WiP! At this rate I may even be done by summer’s end, which would put this one at the fastest book I’ve ever written. Woo!

    Upcoming: desperately need to start reading the Hugo nominated works so I can vote! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  32. mikemattice says:

    I enjoyed this post. I posted the link on my Facebook. Be careful not to put too much on your plate. Speaking from experience, we ARE writers. Its WHO we are. Its easy to get caught up in other activities that pull us away from our identities.

    Like

  33. embrystical says:

    Writing – Still trying to decide which storyline to pursue for camp next week, but I’ve dabbled in a bit of all my projects, which means a bit of death in Utalentia and a bit of fighting in Different. But mostly just Different, and I’ve been getting loads of awesome help from the guys in my autistic writers group on FB.

    Reading – A week ago, I finished the last book in the Mistborn trilogy and *sob* it was *sob* amazing! So now I’m on the next novel by Brandon Sanderson. And after that, I have The Dwarves and Merlin to read over the course of the summer.

    Upcoming – Well, Camp starts next week, so that’s totally going to eat my soul once again. Although, thankfully, I’m getting longer to write at night now.

    In Other News – I auditioned for a part in the school play. Don’t think I’ll get it, but whatever.

    Like

  34. Went fishing on the McCloud River with my Tenkara fly rod and STILL HAVEN’T regained my otherworldly blogging stamina!

    Like

  35. 80smetalman says:

    I haven’t been doing too much writing but I have speaking engagements at two local schools about my last novel.

    Like

  36. I watched Awkward as well, there’s something fascinating about the finally, have you reached it ?

    Like

  37. Marcus Case says:

    What have I been up to? Not nearly as much as you! Love the blog, by the way.

    Like

  38. Moving house! I moved over the weekends and it’s been crazy hectic getting furniture for the place (our first unfurnished flat!). I am so looking forward to be able to sort out my new study and writing space, but it’s filled with boxes at the moment.

    Writing wise I’ve been doing short story competitions and submissions, but I am getting ready to do Camp NaNo in July ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  39. Sam says:

    I love the quote! Very true. Best of luck with the crochet project.

    Like

  40. Paul J Gies says:

    I am past 10 000 words and at the end of Chapter Two of “Homeward by Night,” the second of a realistic sci fi trilogy. It’s got a quiet romantic feel right now, like a new couple novel with space travel. But that’s deceptive. Things will be blowing up soon.

    Like

  41. sammieanthamarie says:

    I’ve finally finished my outline on the Historical Romance I’m working on. Now, before I leave for Vacation on 7/10 I want to finish my character sheets (I felt my peeps were lacking in direction), and any research questions I still have. Busy, Busy. OH! I also have been painting a bookshelf pretty colors – and am now going to paint my favorite book quotes all over it!

    Like

  42. Jodie, you are amazing. I don’t know how you fit so much into your life. Your interests and activities are so varied. You have inspired me to become more productive.

    Like

  43. acp8author says:

    I completely understand what you mean! When I posted to my author blog today, I couldn’t believe it had been three weeks (!!) since I’d done so. I’ve been busy writing, and just haven’t lifted my head for posting. Here’s to productive writing!

    Like

  44. Okay, now I have my mojo back, I’m messing with the idea of submitting for monthly publications. One friend is convinced that I actually swerved into something that is inspirationally helpful to others. My conundrum is–will such publications actually publish something already blogged?

    Like

  45. PHANTOMGOLFBALL says:

    I’ve been doing things that aren’t reading or writing. Probably the only one here. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I did finish Divergent and I picked up Allegiant (but quit after getting sick of reading about the constant kissing) and now I’m learning to draw. I’d probably need one hell of a dream to kickstart my writing again.

    Like

  46. fireflyin says:

    I have been proofing my novel and doing some research for lit agents. And resisting the urge to start work on my next novel. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  47. Work’s been very busy. Lately I’ve been working on a fan fiction novel and trying to rewrite a short story that I did a long time ago. The characterization in that one was great and the scene-setting was good, too, but I thought the plot was way too simple.

    Like

Leave a Reply

