What books have you bought this month?

I can’t believe that June has passed so quickly! For me it passed in a wave of work, watching Awkward Season3, sitting around the fire with friends and… buying books!

Has anyone ever heard of a “book haul” before? It seems to be the popular on Tumblr, where people share their book purchases from the day/week/month. So I’m going to share mine!

What books have you bought this month? If you want to know what I thought of my purchases, feel free to follow my GoodReads account.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to What books have you bought this month?

  1. Likestarfilledskies says:

    Infidel by Ted Dekker, All That Glitters by Gilbert Morris, A Painted House by John Grisham, and The Innocent Man by John Grisham.
    And a couple other vintage books for decorating. But I purchased those because of how they looked. Most likely not going to read them.

    Like

  2. Likestarfilledskies says:

    Infidel by Ted Dekker, All That Glitters by Gilbert Morris, A Painted House by John Grisham, and The Innocent Man by John Grisham.
    And a couple other vintage books for decorating. But I purchased those because of how they looked. Most likely not going to read them.

    Like

  3. emmawicker says:

    That’s a great idea. I cannot believe how many books you have bought this month! For me this month was filled with Beta reads mostly but I did manage to buy two new ones, both of which I have read now. ‘The Profiteer’ and ‘Sweeter for the Pain’ both by Evan Asher, a new indie author. I really enjoyed them.

    Like

  4. emmawicker says:

    That’s a great idea. I cannot believe how many books you have bought this month! For me this month was filled with Beta reads mostly but I did manage to buy two new ones, both of which I have read now. ‘The Profiteer’ and ‘Sweeter for the Pain’ both by Evan Asher, a new indie author. I really enjoyed them.

    Like

  5. Anthony says:

    I had never heard of a book haul before. It only makes sense when I consider all the other “hauls” I have witnessed on YouTube–maybe I should start library haul.

    Like

  6. Anthony says:

    I had never heard of a book haul before. It only makes sense when I consider all the other “hauls” I have witnessed on YouTube–maybe I should start library haul.

    Like

  7. Heather M. says:

    I didn’t buy any books, but my mom bought about 60 bucks worth of books for me. Lol I got the entire series of The Maze Runner and a few JR Ward books.

    Also, OMG Awkward! I love that show!

    Like

  8. Heather M. says:

    I didn’t buy any books, but my mom bought about 60 bucks worth of books for me. Lol I got the entire series of The Maze Runner and a few JR Ward books.

    Also, OMG Awkward! I love that show!

    Like

  9. katcosa says:

    I finally used up my Barnes and Nobel gift cards by buying the newest Katie McGarry novel “Take Me On” and Kristin Cashore’s “Fire”! Seeing as I only buy books I want to read more than once, I highly recommend both. πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. katcosa says:

    I finally used up my Barnes and Nobel gift cards by buying the newest Katie McGarry novel “Take Me On” and Kristin Cashore’s “Fire”! Seeing as I only buy books I want to read more than once, I highly recommend both. πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. glenn2point0 says:

    I am currently reading the comedian and actress Julie Walters book “That’s Another Story: The Autobiography”. I have also read “Maybe the Moon” by Armistead Maupin, “Tricks of the Mind” by Derren Brown and “Doctor Who and Philosophy: Bigger on the Inside”.

    Like

  12. glenn2point0 says:

    I am currently reading the comedian and actress Julie Walters book “That’s Another Story: The Autobiography”. I have also read “Maybe the Moon” by Armistead Maupin, “Tricks of the Mind” by Derren Brown and “Doctor Who and Philosophy: Bigger on the Inside”.

    Like

  13. I got a lot of books this month, but since they are ebooks, I’d need to take a screen shot of my Kindle carousel πŸ˜‰
    Among the highlights is a book I’m kind of excited to read: Life and Death on the Tamiami Trail, a mystery set right in Sarasota FL! Another one that will be handy next weekend for me is America’s 50 Favorite Barbecue Recipes!
    I also picked up a few classics: The Picture of Dorian Gray, Moby Dick, and War and Peace (yeah, ambitious, I know).

    Like

  14. I got a lot of books this month, but since they are ebooks, I’d need to take a screen shot of my Kindle carousel πŸ˜‰
    Among the highlights is a book I’m kind of excited to read: Life and Death on the Tamiami Trail, a mystery set right in Sarasota FL! Another one that will be handy next weekend for me is America’s 50 Favorite Barbecue Recipes!
    I also picked up a few classics: The Picture of Dorian Gray, Moby Dick, and War and Peace (yeah, ambitious, I know).

    Like

  15. nov1992girl says:

    No books =( I have so many stockpiled to read that I had to put a ban on myself. It sucks because I need more books. Unfortunately, I don’t want to be a hoarder, either.

    Like

  16. nov1992girl says:

    No books =( I have so many stockpiled to read that I had to put a ban on myself. It sucks because I need more books. Unfortunately, I don’t want to be a hoarder, either.

    Like

  17. Day17Month11 says:

    Ray Bradbury “Martian Chronicles”, and Leonard Mlodinow “Subliminal: How Your Unconscious Mind Rules Your Behavior”. The latter one was really smth I read at Barnes & Noble for my Psych -class, but after the first chapter and two Shakespeare references, I was sold and had to have it ^^ Very fascinating subject, very well written, very scientific. And of course, Ray Bradbury is a genius. πŸ˜€

    (I also re-read The Picture Of Dorian Grey the other day, marvellous as always!)

    Like

  18. Day17Month11 says:

    Ray Bradbury “Martian Chronicles”, and Leonard Mlodinow “Subliminal: How Your Unconscious Mind Rules Your Behavior”. The latter one was really smth I read at Barnes & Noble for my Psych -class, but after the first chapter and two Shakespeare references, I was sold and had to have it ^^ Very fascinating subject, very well written, very scientific. And of course, Ray Bradbury is a genius. πŸ˜€

    (I also re-read The Picture Of Dorian Grey the other day, marvellous as always!)

    Like

  19. rlsharpe says:

    Some great books you have there Jodie, happy reading πŸ™‚

    Like

  20. rlsharpe says:

    Some great books you have there Jodie, happy reading πŸ™‚

    Like

  21. lorellepage says:

    Looks like we enjoy similar books. I hear the novellas before Throne of Glass takes place are almost essential. I just finished book 2 which was an improvement πŸ™‚ Just sent you a friend request on goodreads!

    Like

  22. lorellepage says:

    Looks like we enjoy similar books. I hear the novellas before Throne of Glass takes place are almost essential. I just finished book 2 which was an improvement πŸ™‚ Just sent you a friend request on goodreads!

    Like

  23. rod says:

    I bought an illustrated story for young children in Kindle format to study how text and illustration work in eBook format. It was not effective in this case, though it might have been better in print. I also bought Murder Now and Then by Diana Jackson.

    Like

  24. Erica Judd says:

    Oh, man, what a question. I’ve bought 17 eBooks this month (one was free and a lot were 76c), plus I’m paying off a stack at my favourite New & Used bookshop – The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Graeme; Trilby by George Du Maurier; Manganinnie by Beth Roberts; The ABC Murders by Agatha Christie; and an Adam Nevill, I think it was Last Days but I could be wrong. And for some extra reading I’ve signed up for a year’s subscription to Aurealis Magazine to get me up to date with the latest fantasy and such. OH and Mum talked me into putting Mr Mercedes by Stephen King in with my layby at Big W.
    I should *not* be left alone with a debit card, a bank balance and a book shop – bricks or bytes! πŸ˜‰

    Like

  25. apgoodman says:

    Five paperback books bought yesterday at a writing festival in Ivinghoe (BeaconLit) in Buckinghamshire, UK:
    ‘The Siren’ and ‘The Backs’ both by Alison Bruce
    ‘The Truth Will Out’ by Jane Isaac
    ‘Death Can’t Take a Joke’ by Anya Lipska, and
    ‘Black Dog’ by Stephen Booth

    Like

  26. I love this idea! Goodreads is a fun way to stalk my friend’s reading choices but I always forget to update mine. This month I’ve bought
    “May I Have Your Attention Please” James Corden
    “The Shock of the Fall” Nathan Filer
    “Can’t and Won’t” Lydia Davis
    “Man’s Search for Meaning” Viktor Frankl
    “Skin Game” Jim Butcher
    “The Sound of Things Falling” Juan Gabriel Vasquez
    “The Reluctant Fundamentalist” Mohsin Hamid
    “Vagina: A New Biography” Naomi Wolf

    I’ve read all of them except for “Can’t & Won’t” and “The Sound of Things Falling” which have both had really good reviews so I’m excited!

    I absolutely adored The Rosie Project from your list, haven’t read any of the others though. Any of them particularly worth a read?

    Like

  27. I’m not sure I can even keep track of the books I bought this month, even though I blogged about some of my more recent purchases not too long ago… Recent buys:

    I got the new Stephen King book, the first two titles in Jeff Vandermeer’s Southern Reach trilogy, Veronica Mars: The Thousand Dollar Tan-Line, a few titles from DarkFuse publishing, Christopher Golden’s Snowblind, and Super by Ernie Lindsey.

    And I know I’m forgetting a few others… Awesome topic though! I may need to keep better track of my book hauls from here on out.

    Like

  28. PHANTOMGOLFBALL says:

    I bought Ursula K. Le Guin’s Earthsea Quartet. I Write Like told me I write like her so I decided to pick up one (or four?) or her books. Hopefully it’ll be great (and also hopefully worth giving Flowers for Algernon a miss too because I was interested in that too)

    Like

  29. Natalie says:

    I bought The Rosie Project, read it in one seating. It was really good. Very light hearted and funny.

    Like

  30. Loved the Rosie Project! Just bought Shattered by Kevin Hearne.

    Like

  31. itsmeamykhall says:

    I love this post. I’ve never heard of a book haul but i’m loving it.
    Such a great idea. I’m a bit of a self-development nerd so this month I bought and read

    “Money: a love story” by Kate Northrup
    “You are a badass” by Jen Sincero
    “Mans search for meaning” Viktor Frankl

    Like

  32. colorfulpen says:

    I “oooed” when I saw Julie Kagawa in your book haul. I love her writing! I only bought one book this month, and it was “The Beekeeper’s Ball” by Susan Wiggs. It was an odd choice for me. I mainly bought it to share with a friend who I thought could appreciate the idea of a main character who turns her childhood home into a cooking school. I’ll be working on a writing project with said friend, so it’s a little research/inspiration.

    Like

  33. mouth0mighty says:

    I recently bought behind the beautiful forevers by Katherine boo. (Review on my blog) I’m planning on a Adele Parkes catalogue…I have fallen behind and have so many of hers to read. I’m still buying paperback books, I love the feel and smell of a new book. I can’t move to kindle!! X

    Like

  34. faydescape says:

    hahah…I definitely have a book haul. I started working at a book-shipping warehouse so I get discounts and get to by books that aren’t being sold for a quarter. So, naturally, I bought 23 books XP. 24 if you count the textbook I bought for my mythology class I’m taking in August at college. Among the bunch was two books on architecture, four Shakespeare plays, various supernatural themed novels, and a signed copy (!!!!) of The Giver by Lois Lowry =).

    Like

  35. ogaribay says:

    ASK THE DUST

    Like

  36. almostvvriter says:

    The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion is a great read– I’ve got a signed copy myself!

    Like

  37. Nice, I’ve been trying to find the paperback of Throne of Glass but it’s sold out everywhere!

    Like

  38. sarahlearichards says:

    I actually bought a book written by a man. I generally prefer books written by women (they tend to get less bogged down by technical descriptions), but this one was well worth a read: “The Mountain Between Us”, by Charles Martin. Though it reminded me a bit of Nicholas Sparks, the contrast in the writing aptitude was like community college vs. Ivy League.

    Like

  39. Nice book suggestions. This might be a good start to expand my book collection from teen vampire stuff to more of the supernatural. I have Vampire Academy from Mead and a lot more.

    Like

  40. The Rosie Project – a seriously cool story

    Like

Leave a Reply

