How long does it take you to write a book?

I wrote my first book, SECTOR 12 in 2.5 weeks. It was a dare from a friend, and apparently I can work pretty fast when I have a goal. I churned out about 60,000 words in that time. It was crazy.

I wrote my second book, WRAPPED IN DARKNESS in 3 months. I committed to 1,000 words a day and got 80,000 words done in just under the 3 month mark.

I wrote my third book, CHEMICALS COLLIDE in about a month. I wrote most of it in Nanowrimo and a tiny bit afterwards.

I’m currently working on a YA Fantasy and my plan this time is to take my time. To set no goals and let it flow organically, just to see how it pans out.

How long do you take to write a novel?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to How long does it take you to write a book?

  1. You’re pretty speedy 🙂 The first ‘novel’ I wrote, when I had no solid idea of a novel’s length, came in at 44k words and took three months, but the first full length piece I finished(109k) wrapped up in a month and a half.

    Of late I’ve been trying your approach, letting it flow as it may. It’s been about six months and I’ve only got sixty pages or so left to go.

    Good luck with your YA. I’ve only tried writing an MG novel once, but I had a lot of fun with it.

    Like

  2. fireflyin says:

    Damn, and I thought I wrote fast. That’s impressive!

    Like

  3. M T McGuire says:

    Mwahahahaargh! That’s awesome! Go you! I took years to write my books. I’ve written 4 between 2008 and now. About 600,000 words, and I reckoned I’ve binned at least another 100,000 words. I am a pantser and a parent. The two do not make for swift production.

    Cheers

    MTM

    Like

  4. mem13 says:

    This is my 3rd attempt at my 1st novel. The story I’m writing now feels far more promising. Teaching/working is sometimes an obstacle because of the demands on my time and energy, but I’ve also found that it can actually be easier to work when I’m busier than when I have free time. I don’t know why that is, but when there’s a seemingly infinite canvas of time and space to work with, my brain slows down. When I have to balance a million other things, the little free time left to me takes on a greater meaning to me, and I seem to get more work done then. I know a few other writers who’ve expressed the same feeling.

    Like

  5. Dustin says:

    Holy smokes, Jodie, you are AMAZING!! I have the utmost admiration and respect for you, my friend!

    Like

  6. I tend to write just over one thousand words a day and write tales that take about one hundred and twenty thousand words. However the editing process seems to take a life time.

    Like

  7. The Laughable Cheese says:

    I just started writing my story like two days ago… I guess it is probably too early to tell?

    Like

Leave a Reply

