Review: Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer

Title: Wolfsbane, Book 2 in the Nightshade series
Author: Andrea Cremer
Publisher: Penguin
Genre: Young adult, fantasy, wolves
Relevant Reviews: Nightshade, Bloodrose
Links: Book Depository

Blurb:
When Calla Tor wakes up in the lair of her sworn enemies, she’s certain her days are numbered. But then the Searchers make her an offer, one that gives her the chance to destroy her former masters and save the pack – and the boy – she left behind.

But is Ren worth the price of her freedom? And will Shay stand by her side, no matter what?

Now in control of her own destiny Calla must decide which battles are worth fighting and how many trials true love can survive.

Why I picked it up:
I loved the first book in the series, Nightshade. I rated it four stars.

What I didn’t like about it:
To be blunt, this was the worst start to a book that I’ve ever read. I loved Nightshade and had high hopes for Wolfsbane, but they literally stood around and talked for the first 70 pages. 70! If I didn’t like Nightshade so much I would have stopped reading. The worst part was that there wasn’t even any new information given, they just rehashed and argued over things we’d already learnt in the first book.

Unfortunately, talking seemed to be the theme of Wolfsbane. It seemed like the “story” happened back in the Vail between the Guardians and the Keepers and all we got was Calla snarling and the Searcher’s talk, talk, talking, info dumping and talking some more.

In between all that talking, something else really bothered me:
My body quaked (pg.41)
A trembling began in my shoulders, traveling down my back (pg.53)
I noticed I was trembling (pg.348)
I shivered (pg.346)
I backed away, limbs trembling (pg.335)

This is Calla:

What I liked about it:

I liked that Andrea Cremer didn’t hold back. The Guardian’s got screwed over from Calla’s actions and I liked that she didn’t sugar coat it. Despite the execution, I still think the story is interesting and I’ll read the third book to see how it all ends. Hopefully the third book will be more like the first *crosses fingers*

My Verdict: 2 stars

Have you ever read a series where you loved the first book and were disappointed in the second? I could make a list of them! 

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Review: Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer

  1. How would you have changed the first 70 pages? Your review was pretty funny. Lol

    Like

  2. Paul J Gies says:

    Lynn Kurland’s “Star of the Morning” was good and clever and very cool but the series went swiftly downhill. Patrick Rothfuss’s “Name of the Wind” sucked (I thought) steadily more after the first 200 pages.

    Like

  3. embrystical says:

    I didn’t think that A Clash of Kings was quite as good as AGoT, in my opinion. I mean, not by much, but it was the longest book (in print, not series-wise) and there was so much fighting. (I hate reading extensive fight scenes.)

    Like

  4. davemstrom says:

    Sorry to step sideways into movies, but as for sequels, I like Sam Rami’s Spider-Man (Green Goblin), REALLY liked Spider-Man II (Doctor Octopus) and did not like Spider-Man III (loved the guy doing the Sandman, but way too much other Green Goblin and Venom, made for too much cowbell). And then there is the thing of most odd-numbered Star Trek movies being worse than the even-numbered ones (2: KHAAAAANNNN!!! 4: “I think Spock had a little too much L.D.S.).

    You made a good point of backstory not being a great idea. Since I learned more about writing, I notice when movies start by reciting a FAT layer of backstory (can you say Dune?). Alfred Hitchcok said it best: Exposition is a pill that must be sugar-coated.

    Like

  5. davemstrom says:

    I can’t believe I misspelled Hitchcock.

    Like

  6. Great review. What was it about Nightshade that allowed you to keep going through those first seventy pages?

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      I really liked Nightshade. I read it for the first time in 2011 when it first came out and I loved it then and I loved it now. Everything just worked – the plot, the pacing, the characters. It all came together really well.

      Like

Leave a Reply

