Review: Bloodrose by Andrea Cremer

Title: Bloodrose, Book 3 in the Nightshade trilogy
Author: Andrea Cremer
Publisher: Penguin
Genre: Young adult, fantasy, wolves
Links: Book Depository

Blurb:
Calla has always welcomed war.

But now that the final battle is upon her, there’s more at stake than fighting. There’s saving Ren, even if it incurs Shay’s wrath. There’s keeping Ansel safe, even if he’s been branded a traitor. There’s proving herself as the pack’s alpha, facing unnamable horrors, and ridding the world of the Keepers’ magic once and for all. And then there’s deciding what to do when the war ends. If Calla makes it out alive, that is.

Why I picked it up:
In retrospect, I probably should have stopped reading after the second book, because while I liked the first book, I disliked the second and hence, I ventured into “don’t care” territory and there is no real coming back from that. But I was interested to see how the trilogy ended.

What I didn’t like about it:
As a general rule, I don’t mind a love triangle. Are they a little overdone in YA fiction? Yes, they definitely are, but I don’t mind them if (and only if) they are executed in a way that doesn’t make the girl come across as a selfish and indecisive bitch…

Calla came across as a selfish and indecisive bitch. It would have been okay if she was weighing up her options without acting on them, but she was acting on them all over the place to the extent that I couldn’t believe Ren or Shay were sticking around. What the hell were they even thinking begging and pleading for her attention and pledging their undying love? Urgh.

While Wolfsbane was all chatter, Bloodrose was all action. I would have liked the author to take the time every once in a while to ground us in the moment instead of flying from one action scene to the next. A couple of times I was struggling to remember why I was supposed to care about the characters.

What I liked about it:

As a whole, I thought it was a nice end to the series. I won’t give away all the spoiler endings, but I was satisfied. Is it one of my all time favourite series? No. But I liked what the author did. I thought the world was interesting and the development throughout the trilogy was good. I’d read more from Andrea Cremer because for the most part, I like her writing style, but I wouldn’t read anything more from this series. I’m happy to move on to the next book on my shelf.

My Verdict: 3 stars

My Verdict for the Nightshade series: 3 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Bloodrose by Andrea Cremer

Leave a Reply

