Review: White Trash Beautiful by Teresa Mummert

Title: White Trash Beautiful, Book 1 in the White Trash Trilogy
Author: Teresa Mummert
Publisher: Gallery Books
Genre: NA, contemporary, issues, abuse
Links: Book Depository

Blurb:

Cass Daniels isn’t waiting for her knight in shining armor. She knows that girls like her don’t get a happily ever after. Not if you live in a trailer with your mom, work at a greasy spoon diner, and get leered at by old men. Maybe that’s why she puts up with Jackson—her poor excuse for a boyfriend, who treats her like dirt. Cass has learned to accept her lot in life. That is, until he walks into her diner. . . .

His name is Tucker White, and he’s different from any man Cass has ever known. Tall, tattooed, and bad-ass gorgeous, he’s the lead singer of the rock band Damaged. From the moment they meet, Tucker sees something in Cass he just can’t shake. Something beautiful. Something haunted. Something special. And he’s determined to find out what it is—if only he can get her to open up and let him in. . . .

Why I picked it up:
Quite frankly, the cover is gorgeous. I love the pale pink with the black font.

What I didn’t like about it:
White Trash Beautiful isn’t anything original. Girl from the wrong side of the tracks meets a bad boy, Gary-Stu, rock star– its been done before and it will be done again. I’ve read quite a few “abusive boyfriend” books over the years, so this feels like a part of the pack.

I didn’t love the writing style. There was a lot of “I [verb]” sentences. And a lot of repetition with Cass complaining about her life. Cass seemed very “aware” of her situation. She’d do something and then explain her actions through the narrative. It seemed odd that she’d psychoanalyse herself like that.

As a whole, I enjoyed this story but I can’t say I’m interested in reading more about Cass and Tucker. I’m not too sure why… This is a trilogy but the idea of reading more about the two of them feels like a lot of work.

What I liked about it:
I really liked Cass. I found her really genuine. I believed every second of her relationship with Tucker. The passion between them was gorgeous to read.

At page 185 I thought this book was ruined! At page 216 this happened:

And if I wanted to get my life back together, I needed to be my own white knight for once.

Yes! Yes! Yes! Yes! Did she do it? Meh, not really, but it still played out better than it looked like it was going to at page 185. I’m sorry, but I have a real drama with authors who basically say that all a woman needs in her life to be happy is a man and a child.

All in all, I thought this was a nice read. Nothing to write home about, but I enjoyed it.

My Verdict: 3 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Review: White Trash Beautiful by Teresa Mummert

  1. tgotsis13 says:

    It’s a problem that young female readers are spouted all that drivel about needed boys to come and rescue them. That’s why I have problems with the Twilight series.

    Like

    • jorgekafkazar says:

      It’s part of the genre, innit? Personally, I’d rather dance the kazatsky barefoot on thumbtacks than read a romance novel. I think it’s possible to burn out on the genre as, over time, the heroines and bad boys become a blur. Two blurs.

      Like

  2. tgotsis13 says:

    It’s a problem that young female readers are spouted all that drivel about needed boys to come and rescue them. That’s why I have problems with the Twilight series.

    Like

    • jorgekafkazar says:

      It’s part of the genre, innit? Personally, I’d rather dance the kazatsky barefoot on thumbtacks than read a romance novel. I think it’s possible to burn out on the genre as, over time, the heroines and bad boys become a blur. Two blurs.

      Like

  3. BookGrl2013 says:

    I just finished reading this and your review were my thoughts exactly. I don’t think I could take reading more about Cass and Tucker as well. It was kind of like insta-love with them. And what happened to her mom was like whhaatt….I was hoping for a happier ending….

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      Yeah, I can’t put my finger on it. I think because they were so whiney, the idea of reading another book with up’s and down’s was just a little… meh. And Tucker wasn’t really all that developed as a character.

      Like

  4. BookGrl2013 says:

    I just finished reading this and your review were my thoughts exactly. I don’t think I could take reading more about Cass and Tucker as well. It was kind of like insta-love with them. And what happened to her mom was like whhaatt….I was hoping for a happier ending….

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      Yeah, I can’t put my finger on it. I think because they were so whiney, the idea of reading another book with up’s and down’s was just a little… meh. And Tucker wasn’t really all that developed as a character.

      Like

  5. Wow! You’ve been reading a lot!

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      I know! I’m in the mood. The weather is cold and curling up at nights with a good book just sounds perfect right now.

      Like

      • jpkenna says:

        Reading, and writing reviews–sounds like the perfect wintertime activity. Up here, where July means summer, there are all these outdoor tasks to be done before the rainy season returns. It distracts from the reading and writing.
        I enjoy your reviews. Even when they are about books I would never read.

        Like

  6. Wow! You’ve been reading a lot!

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      I know! I’m in the mood. The weather is cold and curling up at nights with a good book just sounds perfect right now.

      Like

      • jpkenna says:

        Reading, and writing reviews–sounds like the perfect wintertime activity. Up here, where July means summer, there are all these outdoor tasks to be done before the rainy season returns. It distracts from the reading and writing.
        I enjoy your reviews. Even when they are about books I would never read.

        Like

Leave a Reply

