Review: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

Book: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black
Publisher: Indigo (Orion)
Genre: YA, Urban Fantasy, Vampires
Links: Book Depository | Amazon | GoodReads

Blurb:
Tana lives in a world where walled cities called Coldtowns exist. In them, quarantined monsters and humans mingle in a decadently bloody mix of predator and prey. It’s an eternal party, shown on TV twenty-four hours a day – gorgeous, glamorous, deadly.

The problem is, once you pass through Coldtown’s gates, you can never leave…

Why I Picked it Up:

This book was all over the “reading”, “books” and “YA” tags on WordPress. I was drawn in by the hype, the cover, and hey, who doesn’t like vampires?

What I didn’t like about it:

This book bothered me from the beginning, because while the first chapter was beautifully visual… if you woke up to a house of dead classmates, wouldn’t you call your parents? If it were me, I’d be on the phone to emergency services and then freaking out to my mum. Not getting in a car with a vampire, and an ex-boyfriend, and taking off on the run for no real reason.

I couldn’t understand why Tana did what she did. She just up and left her father and sister to go to Coldtown. Her motives were really unclear and that was consistent throughout the book, I couldn’t get on board with why she was doing things.

I was also a little disappointed that the book went down such a shallow path. I liked the concept of “Coldtowns” and the idea that being “cold” was a virus, but it didn’t go down the “plague” road. I’m not sure what road it went down… the pacing was odd and nothing really happened. The plot was all over the place.

I just my main drama was that the majority of the story was told from Tana’s third person POV, but she didn’t drive the plot. She reacted to everything around her. If the other characters weren’t around, nothing would have happened. It was very plot driven as opposed to character driven. She seemed to stand around a lot listening to other characters talk.

I skimmed the last 50 or so pages.

What I liked about it:

I enjoyed the concept. The idea of “Coldtowns” was smart, and I like a good vampire story as much as the next person.

Unfortunately this one didn’t hold a flame to others in the genre.

My Verdict – 1.5 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Review: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

  1. qwietpleez says:

    I would have picked it for the cover . . . It doesn’t sound much like something I would enjoy. Thanks for the review :o)

    Like

  2. qwietpleez says:

    I would have picked it for the cover . . . It doesn’t sound much like something I would enjoy. Thanks for the review :o)

    Like

  3. Widdershins says:

    Maybe start a story competition where you pick a really good cover and then get peeps to write the story the cover is trying to relay.

    Like

  4. Widdershins says:

    Maybe start a story competition where you pick a really good cover and then get peeps to write the story the cover is trying to relay.

    Like

  5. kevsteph says:

    I know I shouldn’t use cliches, but they say you can’t judge a book by its cover. I guess this one proves it. Maybe, you can judge a book by its title, though. “The Coldest Girl in Coldtown” strikes me as trite. It makes me less interested in reading the book than Jodie’s review. That’s saying something.

    Like

  6. kevsteph says:

    I know I shouldn’t use cliches, but they say you can’t judge a book by its cover. I guess this one proves it. Maybe, you can judge a book by its title, though. “The Coldest Girl in Coldtown” strikes me as trite. It makes me less interested in reading the book than Jodie’s review. That’s saying something.

    Like

  7. becksawalton says:

    Thankyou so much for this review. I have had it all over my tumblr feed and was had put it on my library holds list – I’ll take it off now – I have little patience for bad supernatural stories.

    Like

  8. becksawalton says:

    Thankyou so much for this review. I have had it all over my tumblr feed and was had put it on my library holds list – I’ll take it off now – I have little patience for bad supernatural stories.

    Like

  9. Bookgirl says:

    Holly Black has a large following, so it’s a shame this one doesn’t deliver. The blurb sounds a bit cliche, a mix of every other YA out there. Thanks for the review.

    Like

  10. Bookgirl says:

    Holly Black has a large following, so it’s a shame this one doesn’t deliver. The blurb sounds a bit cliche, a mix of every other YA out there. Thanks for the review.

    Like

  11. Chris says:

    I’ve had this on my to-read list for a while, and I’m sorry to see the bad review. But I think I’m going to read it anyway — from a writing point of view, sometimes it’s just as instructive to figure out what isn’t working and why.

    Like

  12. johnrsermon says:

    This is the second review of a YA, fantasy, vampire novel and they’re really good so far. I’m always looking for a new fantasy book to dive into and your helping me choose, or in the case of the last two, disregard, some new stories I would probably have bought just from the blurb. The Coldest Girl in Coldtown would definitely have been one I would’ve purchased. Thank You

    Like

Leave a Reply

