Which character do you identify with the most?

Ya know how sometimes you’re reading a book or watching a movie and you’re like hey, that character is just like me! Maybe you’re not alike in every single way, but something about them just draws you to them. It’s a character that you immediately love because you identify with them.

For me, it has to be Rory from Gilmore Girls. I loved that show growing up. Rory is still one of my favourite characters. I just love how she was always so driven and focused on her goals and yet was still a normal girl with normal relationships.

What character do you love and identify with the most?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to Which character do you identify with the most?

  1. I have always identified with Dana Scully from the X-Files and Jo March from Little Women.

    Like

  2. I have always identified with Dana Scully from the X-Files and Jo March from Little Women.

    Like

  3. embrystical says:

    Vin from Mistborn, definitely. Probably the only book where I cared about the characters (call me heartless all you like, it’s true!).

    Like

  4. embrystical says:

    Vin from Mistborn, definitely. Probably the only book where I cared about the characters (call me heartless all you like, it’s true!).

    Like

    • I’ve been watching some lectures from Mistborn’s author, Brandon Sanderson. I read one of his Way of Kings books, but it wasn’t quite for me. Was Mistborn really good? What did you like about it the most?

      Liked by 1 person

      • embrystical says:

        The way that Vin was portrayed. The fact that she was neither a girly girl or a complete tomboy, but rather a rather greatly-written mix of both. Also, KELSIER!

        Like

  5. Monica from Friends. Boy do I like a clean house!

    Like

  6. Monica from Friends. Boy do I like a clean house!

    Like

  7. 0hmyword says:

    Daria, I’ve always felt I could relate with her character: opinionated, sarcastic, head-strong. And she was intelligent, cleaver, and contained about the same amount of vanity as me…or at least I considered that to be so. It’s nice to have these relate able characters & have them act-out scenarios that allow us to watch them & consider how we ourselves handle life situations. It’s what keeps us watching.

    Like

  8. 0hmyword says:

    Daria, I’ve always felt I could relate with her character: opinionated, sarcastic, head-strong. And she was intelligent, cleaver, and contained about the same amount of vanity as me…or at least I considered that to be so. It’s nice to have these relate able characters & have them act-out scenarios that allow us to watch them & consider how we ourselves handle life situations. It’s what keeps us watching.

    Like

  9. Beth Caplin says:

    Jo and Beth March from Little Women, plus Anne of Green Gables, Jane Eyre, Sara Crewe, Stargirl, Katniss Everdeen, and many more I can’t think of right now.

    Like

  10. Beth Caplin says:

    Jo and Beth March from Little Women, plus Anne of Green Gables, Jane Eyre, Sara Crewe, Stargirl, Katniss Everdeen, and many more I can’t think of right now.

    Like

  11. Lydia Thomas says:

    Eowyn from The Lord of the Rings.

    Like

  12. Lydia Thomas says:

    Eowyn from The Lord of the Rings.

    Like

  13. I love Rory too! She was always so smart and witty like her mom. I’d say I identify with Sherlock Holmes from the British Sherlock series. Like me, he’s naturally curious, easily bored and a bit of an anti-social recluse who doesn’t bond easily with people.

    Like

  14. I love Rory too! She was always so smart and witty like her mom. I’d say I identify with Sherlock Holmes from the British Sherlock series. Like me, he’s naturally curious, easily bored and a bit of an anti-social recluse who doesn’t bond easily with people.

    Like

  15. laurenlola says:

    Korra from “Legend of Korra.” In “Avatar: The Last Airbender,” I always identified as a mix between Katara and Toph, and then this series comes along and Korra does it justice in encompassing both character traits in her personality.

    Like

  16. laurenlola says:

    Korra from “Legend of Korra.” In “Avatar: The Last Airbender,” I always identified as a mix between Katara and Toph, and then this series comes along and Korra does it justice in encompassing both character traits in her personality.

    Like

  17. amber28wwmwd says:

    Dean from Supernatural. I’m not a hot man, I’m an ugly chick, but our personalities are strikingly similar. Even major components of his family dynamic, I share. He’s the best of me and the worst of me, and I love him!

    Like

  18. amber28wwmwd says:

    Dean from Supernatural. I’m not a hot man, I’m an ugly chick, but our personalities are strikingly similar. Even major components of his family dynamic, I share. He’s the best of me and the worst of me, and I love him!

    Like

  19. leesha0304 says:

    Bridget Jones from Bridget Jones’s Diary 🙂

    Like

  20. leesha0304 says:

    Bridget Jones from Bridget Jones’s Diary 🙂

    Like

  21. The only character I’ve really related to was a OC Hufflepuff in a Harry Potter fanfiction. I went to the site to get the link, but the story was gone D:
    Seriously though, the character could have been me.

    Like

  22. The only character I’ve really related to was a OC Hufflepuff in a Harry Potter fanfiction. I went to the site to get the link, but the story was gone D:
    Seriously though, the character could have been me.

    Like

  23. Anthony says:

    John Wheelwright in a Prayer for Owen Meany…. I can see that I am part of something amazing around me…. but I am not the focal point. Ted from How I Met Your Mother—searching, instead of waiting for it to happen.

    Like

  24. Anthony says:

    John Wheelwright in a Prayer for Owen Meany…. I can see that I am part of something amazing around me…. but I am not the focal point. Ted from How I Met Your Mother—searching, instead of waiting for it to happen.

    Like

  25. solarisone89 says:

    On my bad days — Vegeta.

    Like

  26. solarisone89 says:

    On my bad days — Vegeta.

    Like

  27. Fredrik Kayser says:

    To my surprise, this was very tricky to answer when I got around to thinking about it. I see small pieces of myself in very different characters e.g. The wolverine and Tyrion Lannister.

    Like

  28. Fredrik Kayser says:

    To my surprise, this was very tricky to answer when I got around to thinking about it. I see small pieces of myself in very different characters e.g. The wolverine and Tyrion Lannister.

    Like

  29. njmckay says:

    Hermione, from Harry Potter. I may not be as bossy, but you could always find me around school reading. ALWAYS my nose in a book.

    Like

  30. njmckay says:

    Hermione, from Harry Potter. I may not be as bossy, but you could always find me around school reading. ALWAYS my nose in a book.

    Like

  31. You know, I have no idea which character I’d identify with. I think I’m too overloaded on movies and books to remember 😀 Great post!

    Like

  32. pauljgies says:

    Gandalf—bah ha ha hah! No, wait—Voldemort! Of course! Okay.

    Seriously, after thinking about this for a bit, the obvious answer was Willett, that’s Marinus Bicknell Willett, the sharp-witted little doctor who saves the universe from cosmic horror and madness in H. P. Lovecraft’s “The Case of Charles Dexter Ward.” “As he had foreseen, there would be no need for acids…”

    Like

  33. MF says:

    Hummm…what a wonderful, thought-provoking post. I just spent the last minutes doing a lovely mental review of the various books and movies others mentioned, and then thinking of my own list of favorites. I would like to think I’m like Elizabeth in Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice–she’s just the right amount of spit and vinegar, makes mistakes and has doubts, but ends strong. I’d like to think I could do that too.

    Like

  34. Rory is so strong! And I love her connection with her mom…so raw and real.
    My girls and I grew up with the Gilmore Girls…thanks for the piece of Heaven today.
    ~Marie :0)

    Like

  35. ashapark says:

    Daria. I remember seeing and telling my parents that I was on tv! Well, a caucasian me, but still.

    Like

  36. Anna says:

    What a great question! I vibe with Bridget Jones, too. Kinda clumsy and awkward sometimes, and always going for the wrong guy. Maybe one day I’ll get it right. 🙂

    Like

  37. I think I’m like Bilbo Baggins. It seems like I always have to play the hero even when I don’t want to, and I can’t even think straight until I have my morning breakfast. Most of the time I have his sense of humor as well.

    Like

  38. davemstrom says:

    My geek side: Sheldon and Leonard from The Big Bang Theory. My humor side: Wally West’s Flash from the Justice League cartoons, and maybe a bit of Spider-Man. A bit of my writer soul: Harlan Ellison, if I can count a real person who has showed up on The Simpsons. Oh, and I spied ashapark above, and I must add Daria! (I think I was in love!)

    Like

  39. sharonholly says:

    Buffy Summers (though I was never a popular, blonde cheerleader-turned-superhero), Veronica Mars (I wish I was that smart!I) and of course, Daria 🙂

    Like

  40. I’d have to say Archer (except for his more outrageous moments). His hyper-awareness ridiculous ignorance, and above all his ‘don’t care’ attitude get me every moment I watch him.

    Like

  41. Laura says:

    Growing up, I loved Anne of Green Gables because I also had a temper, was stubborn as a mule, and spent most of my time daydreaming. The temper is under control, but not much else has changed.

    Like

  42. Mary says:

    I love Rory Gilmore! I’m actually a few episodes away from watching the Gilmore Girls series from start to finish for the fourth time. Guilty pleasure, I suppose.

    Like

  43. A little bit of Elizabeth in Pride and Prejudice, a little bit of Scarlett O’Hara 🙂 also a bit of Katniss from Hunger Games

    Like

  44. Feminism Through Cinema and Literature says:

    Charlotte from Sex and the City

    Like

  45. I guess I am a romantic and have always identified with Tom Hanks. In particular I identified with his character in YOU’VE GOT MAIL, but also in SAVING PRIVATE RYAN (my all-time favorite movie). Of course my main character in my novels most closely acts and livesl like me.

    Like

  46. fireflyin says:

    When I was younger, I used to identify with Angel, from the TV show Angel. Now… I think I feel more like Amory Blaine from This Side of Paradise.

    Like

  47. fireflyin says:

    When I was younger, I used to identify with Angel, from the TV show Angel. Now… I think I feel more like Amory Blaine from This Side of Paradise.

    Like

Leave a Reply

