Review: Branded by Abi Ketner

Title: Branded, Book 1 in the Sinners Series
Author: Abi Ketner
Publisher: Month9Books
Genre: YA, Dystopian, Romance
Links: Book Depository

Blurb:

A teenage girl is accused of a crime she didn’t commit, and is forced to live in The Hole, a place where all criminals are forced to endure human horrors. All hope seems lost, until she falls in love with her captor, a crime punishable by death.

Why I picked it up:

I requested this on NetGalley because it was right up there with the most requested novels. The cover looked interesting and the ratings on GoodReads were good, so I decided to give it a go.

What I didn’t like about it:

This book was so disappointing. The first half was AMAZING! I loved every second of it. But the middle section… meh. Cole suddenly felt really out of character, like a different version of himself. He and Lexi were both overly dramatic – punching walls, shattering picture frames, crying, and smacking tables and mattresses. I mean, geez guys, get it together.

Amidst all of the dramatics was gag-worthy fluff. It was just… too much.

My body shakes… My brain and my heart are at war… life is too precious… I could never live with myself if anything would happen to you… a chill shakes my being… I breathe him in… my body shakes…

All of that within a page or two! It was cliché and awful. Like a different book. For a story that started so well, by page 172 I was like… what happened? The romance just kicked off way too fast. Like, BANG they’re in love and can’t live without each other.

What I liked about it:

As mentioned above, the first half of this book was really good. It was visual, I loved the concept, it was gritty, dangerous, and the romance was perfect. Reading the first half, my rating was 4 stars or above.

It sucks that it didn’t last.

My Verdict – 2 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Review: Branded by Abi Ketner

  1. Britt says:

    I love book reviews! And I will definitely be checking out more of your posts!

    Like

  2. I like your reviews, and I LOVE the animation in this case. 🙂

    Like

  3. A great honest review. It’s always disappointing when books kind of flip on their heads half way through 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

