Review: Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan

Title: Archer’s Voice
Author: Mia Sheridan
Publisher: Self Published (CreateSpace)
Genre: Adult, Romance, Contemporary

Blurb:

When Bree Prescott arrives in the sleepy, lakeside town of Pelion, Maine, she hopes against hope that this is the place where she will finally find the peace she so desperately seeks. On her first day there, her life collides with Archer Hale, an isolated man who holds a secret agony of his own. A man no one else sees.

Archer’s Voice is the story of a woman chained to the memory of one horrifying night and the man whose love is the key to her freedom. It is the story of a silent man who lives with an excruciating wound and the woman who helps him find his voice. It is the story of suffering, fate, and the transformative power of love.

Why I picked it up:

I stumbled across this book on top of the Top Ten Romances Of 2014…So Far (Jan 1st to Aug 31st) GoodReads Listopia list. The reviews are amazing (average rating of 4.59 across almost 19,000 ratings) so I picked it up to see what all the fuss was about.

What I didn’t like about it:

In short, I loved this book. I came into it with no expectations and was pleasantly surprised. However, there was one thing that stopped me from giving it a perfect 5-star review… I generally reserve perfect reviews for books that I both adore and also teach me something new.

While I adored this book, it wasn’t out of the ordinary. It felt like it spilled from the same bucket as a lot of other romances, hence my 4 star rating. But hey, 4 starts is still an awesome rating for me. My average rating on GoodReads is 2.8!

What I liked about it:

This book was beautifully visual. I was instantly attached to the setting. I felt like I was right there in that little cottage on the lake, sipping tea on the back porch with the little old lady next door. Beautiful. I love the small town vibe (being from a small town myself). This author can definitely set a scene.

More than that, I just loved the concept. Isn’t there something so wonderfully romantic about finding a guy who owns a home, his own land and spends all his time tending to it? It’s so simple. Almost caveman. I just love it. Who needs a successful career guy anyway? Who needs all that city glitz and glamour? Give me a manly man who knows how to build his own back porch any day!

In short. This is the sort of book that makes you fall in love with being in love. It had so many of these moments:

Archer’s Voice was a great book. Very believable. The characters are both so damaged, Archer especially, but the author never skates around the issues. They become something to overcome.

My Verdict – 4 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Review: Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan

  1. Jason Abbott says:

    I’ll need to thumb through this one and see how well the author captured the setting. I’ve lived my whole life in Maine with family roots tied to this place going back to the 18th century and beyond. I always like to see if others came for a visit or did their homework on the place I call home… so often people get it wrong and describe it like somewhere else. It can be funny. 🙂

    Like

  2. Jason Abbott says:

    I’ll need to thumb through this one and see how well the author captured the setting. I’ve lived my whole life in Maine with family roots tied to this place going back to the 18th century and beyond. I always like to see if others came for a visit or did their homework on the place I call home… so often people get it wrong and describe it like somewhere else. It can be funny. 🙂

    Like

  3. mihrank says:

    wonderful and deep post!!

    Like

  4. mihrank says:

    wonderful and deep post!!

    Like

  5. arielpakizer says:

    That is a nice rating! Wow. Lots of ratings too. I’m still not sure it’s my cup of tea . . . but thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. arielpakizer says:

    That is a nice rating! Wow. Lots of ratings too. I’m still not sure it’s my cup of tea . . . but thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve been hearing a lot about this book but wasn’t sure if I would like it. Your review made me think twice about giving it a try:)

    Like

  8. I’ve been hearing a lot about this book but wasn’t sure if I would like it. Your review made me think twice about giving it a try:)

    Like

  9. Love all of your reviews. Simple and straight-forward.

    Like

  10. Love all of your reviews. Simple and straight-forward.

    Like

Leave a Reply

