Do you read widely?

I read a lot. That’s no secret. I’ll very easily get through two or three novels a week. Sometimes more if what I’m reading is good enough to devour in one sitting.

But while I read a lot… I don’t necessarily read widely. I know what I like, so I’ll read a lot of young adult and new adult novels. I prioritise contemporary and romance novels over genres like high fantasy, horror and thrillers. I always pick up light chick-lit novels and generally read books with high ratings on GoodReads.

To me, reading is one of the very best things you can do… but… I think I need to get out of my comfort zone a little! I started reading a new book last night which is Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover. It has a love interest that is deaf. I just finished Archer’s Voice by Mia Sheridan, whose main love interest was also deaf… I feel like I’m reading in circles!!!

Do you ever feel like you’ve out-read your genre of choice? Do they all start to feel the same after a while? Do you read across multiple age categories and genres? Or do you stick to one or two?

I have to say… I really feel like reading something completely different! Expand my horizons a little.

Thoughts?

 

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to Do you read widely?

  1. I tend to stay with certain genres because I’ve read widely enough to know which ones do NOT work for me. I know horror fiction (with the exception of House of Leave), true crime, political non-fiction, and mystic genres are boring or frustrating for me, so I never even glance at them any more. Things like chick lit, religious fiction, and informative books concerning anything from nature to science to astronomy to pirates I cautiously touch, but only with STRONG recommendations from people who know my tastes.
    Years of voracious reading, and trying books my friends suggest, leave me with a pretty long list of genres that DO work for me, and there’s sufficient number of them that I don’t feel like I’m treading the same patch of carpet over and over.

    In order of greatest interest to least (for now):
    YA fiction
    Classic literature
    Science fiction
    Mystery
    Religious non-fiction (Christian)
    Thriller
    Manga
    Fantasy
    Memoirs
    Historical fiction
    Historical non-fiction

    If you want to read something very different from YA fiction, but one that still has the air of storytelling about it, try “The Republic of Pirates” by Colin Woodard. There are two or three horrific accounts in it of life aboard ship, but those are the only stomach-squeezing moments in the book. The rest is actually rather fascinating. At least it was for me, cus I have a bit of a soft spot for pirates. 🙂 At least the romanticized one.
    Also, a short classic literature book I recommend is “Persuasion” by Jane Austen. It’s half the size of her more famous story “Pride and Prejudice.” I actually liked Persuasion better.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. blondeusk says:

    Just started reading Steampunk fiction and it’s been life changing!! Everyone should dip into another genre once in awhile! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Great post. I love the quote. Reading widely isn’t easy, but it’s better than not reading at all.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kevsteph says:

    I’ve read books, plays or short stories by every Nobel Prize in Literature winner going back to 1997. I’m almost up to date on the Pulitzer Prize Winners. (I’m reading “The Goldfinch” right now.) The down side to this is that Nobel winners are very hard to follow. I think Pulitzer and Man-Bookers are awarded based on creativity or innovating the novel form rather than good writing ability. The problem is that when one tries to imitate this style of writing, one gets knocked down on the grounds it “makes no sense” and is “too complicated to understand”. Gotta love it. You would think great books and authors received awards because other writers should emulate them.

    Like

  5. erinszoo says:

    I tend to read everything and anything … books, magazines, grocery receipts, … The one thing that has helped me read widely and out of the genre of my choice is critiquing other writers work. Being committed to a writing critique group means that I have to read stuff that I might not like and look at with an objective eye. I can’t just say, “I hate this novel and it’s no good because it’s not my thing.” I’ve learned to love “other” styles and genres and have learned so much about character development and world building by reading EVERYTHING I can get my hands on. Nice post, by the way!

    Like

  6. davemstrom says:

    New adult? I had to google/wiki it. Since I am writing a superheroine, I get told, “oh, you’re doing young adult” a lot. But Holly is 24 or 25, so her stories will fit in new adult. I never thought about demographics when I started writing. Now I am writing a story with a little girl superheroine, and yes, I think of kids for this one. (I think of kids for my Holly stories also, so I go easy on adult themes.)

    Since I joined writing clubs, I have expanded my reading a bit. Poetry, a little romance, a gritty prison book, and other books from the club members. But due to the aim of my stories, I have a particular interest in stories where the superhero is a girl or woman.

    The wiki for new adult is interesting. But if my stories ever got into a bookstore, they’d likely be under SciFi/Fantasy.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New-adult_fiction

    Like

  7. rebeccalakey says:

    I try to read outside my bubble, I really do. But often I seem to pick books I’ve heard a lot about and partway into a beginning chapter a very dark theme comes out of left field and hits me in the heart and I can’t bring myself to read more. I’ve read some dark books of course, but there are certain elements authors put into gritty realism that I just can’t handle. I’m working on that.

    Like

  8. Bookgirl says:

    I do consume large volumes of the YA genre, but the best advice I ever received from a writer, was to read outside of the genre that you write. I think it helps original ideas form and keeps accidental plagiarism at bay.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Before I started teaching, I had three basic genres that I read: sci-fi/fantasy, historical romance, and supernatural romance. I avoided research and science assiduously. Now I find myself actively hunting out topics that appeal to my students as well as to their classes. So I’m reading about artists, scientists, and history. I’ve expanded to the Dan Browns, the Ludlums, and others of the ilk. I’ve found that if I let myself cycle into a genre for 6 months or so, then move to another one, that by the time I’ve gone through all of my genres, that new books have been written while I’ve been gone.

    Like

  10. Melanie Eden says:

    I generally read romance, but I try not to limit myself to YA or adult fiction. I read any genre as long as there is a good world behind it. I’ve been reading a lot of science fiction romance, but the romance isn’t always the obvious plot device used, and I like that. Sometimes I have to trick myself to get past that. Too much of just romance is boring, and I love it too much to ever let myself get bored!

    I’ve read an enjoyed: paranormal fiction, historical romance, contemporary romance, crime dramas, and even just period books.

    Surprisingly, I’m writing a High Fantasy piece, and I’m not sure I’ve ever read one before.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. nawallovexo says:

    I guess I do in a way but then I always have to have some sort of romantic semblance in the books i choose to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. tanywei says:

    Reblogged this on Inner Conversations and commented:
    Testing 123

    Like

  13. fireflyin says:

    Yeah, I’ve felt sometimes that I’ve outread my genre. Which is impossible. There’s probably more fantasy/sci-fi than there’s ever been before. So I’ve broadened my horizon a little. 🙂
    But only a little. I still read fantasy and sci-fi, but I’m trying subgenres I haven’t attempted before.

    Like

  14. E.I Wong says:

    I feel that way about books by comedians, because they usually only come out with one. Most of the time they are off writing new material for their act, so the book is usually a supplementary thing for them. Regardless, I like taking a deeper look into their processes on paper and can’t wait to read one when they come out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

