August in Review!

My August Book Haul:
IMG_1627

Of the above books, a big thanks to Simon Schuster for sending me a copy of Belzhar to review and to Fremantle Press for sending me a copy of Crashing Down.

IMG_1628

Also, a big thanks to the following authors who have been generous enough to send me their works:
– Colorworld & Teleworld by Rachel E Kelly
– The Divine One by Danielle R Mani
– Dakota Warrior by Gloria Mattioni
– The Buried Life by Carrie Patel

IMG_1629

Most Popular Review This Month:
The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black had the most views even though I only rated it 1.5 stars!

Most Popular 5 Blog Posts Overall This Month (by views):
1. Writers, do drugs/alcohol enhance your creativity/writing ability? – 78 comments
2. Do You Read Widely? – 61 comments
3. Writers, are you in writing mode at the moment? – 47 comments
4. Readers, how do you treat your books? – 78 comments
5. Which book have you re-read the most? – 88 comments

3 TV Shows I’ve Been Watching
1. Orange is the New Black
I’ve been watching this one in bits and pieces because The Boy keeps watching ahead, but I’m definitely enjoying this show this month. Recommend.

2. Outlander
I’ve read the book and I’m still unsure about the show, but Jamie… oh, hello.

3. The Block, Glasshouse
I don’t know if you non-Aussie’s have The Block, but it’s basically a renovation show. Five teams come in to renovate a building to go to auction.

Picture of the Month:
With my friend Georgie at our local pub. Another great night out and about.

How has your August been? For me, I’m just excited that tomorrow is Spring!!!!!

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Month in Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to August in Review!

  1. “How has your August been? For me, I’m just excited that tomorrow is Spring!!!!!”

    …and I can’t wait for summer to be over. /Florida
    xLoJu

    Like

  2. “How has your August been? For me, I’m just excited that tomorrow is Spring!!!!!”

    …and I can’t wait for summer to be over. /Florida
    xLoJu

    Like

  3. bornandread says:

    I know what you mean about Outlander – I can’t decide whether it’s awesome or terrible, but Jamie will keep me watching 😉

    Like

  4. bornandread says:

    I know what you mean about Outlander – I can’t decide whether it’s awesome or terrible, but Jamie will keep me watching 😉

    Like

  5. rlsharpe says:

    Love the size of your book haul. I got Balzhar too. Can’t wait to read it. Looking forward to your review.

    Like

  6. rlsharpe says:

    Love the size of your book haul. I got Balzhar too. Can’t wait to read it. Looking forward to your review.

    Like

  7. Wow, amazing book haul Jodie! I spy Isla in the stack – soooo excited for that book. I hope you enjoy it lots! I’ve been meaning to start watching Orange is the New Black (I’m so tired I wrote organ instead of orange the first go…), but I still need to finish off Breaking Bad! And the bf won’t let me watch ahead 😦

    I hope you enjoy all your new books and shows. Have a wonderful September 🙂

    Joy

    Like

  8. Wow, amazing book haul Jodie! I spy Isla in the stack – soooo excited for that book. I hope you enjoy it lots! I’ve been meaning to start watching Orange is the New Black (I’m so tired I wrote organ instead of orange the first go…), but I still need to finish off Breaking Bad! And the bf won’t let me watch ahead 😦

    I hope you enjoy all your new books and shows. Have a wonderful September 🙂

    Joy

    Like

  9. dustomundo says:

    I always love seeing what other readers pick up through their book hauls, and this is no exception! Thank you for sharing, Jodie!!

    Like

  10. dustomundo says:

    I always love seeing what other readers pick up through their book hauls, and this is no exception! Thank you for sharing, Jodie!!

    Like

  11. Crystal Barnes says:

    You’re lucky to have the opportunity to review a lot of books! My August was transitioning from my work of 10 months, which allowed me to get back to my writing and reading. A slow start to August, but I accomplished a good amount in the end. Thanks for sharing Jodie 🙂

    Like

  12. Crystal Barnes says:

    You’re lucky to have the opportunity to review a lot of books! My August was transitioning from my work of 10 months, which allowed me to get back to my writing and reading. A slow start to August, but I accomplished a good amount in the end. Thanks for sharing Jodie 🙂

    Like

  13. Looks and sounds like you had a brill month! Can’t believe August is over already 😀

    Like

  14. Looks and sounds like you had a brill month! Can’t believe August is over already 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

