Writers, whose writing do you most admire?

You know how you read a book sometimes, and while the writing is brilliant, it just doesn’t “speak” to you in the way other writing does?

I like to consider myself a writer. An aspiring author, but still technically a writer, so when I pick up a new book, the writing is the first thing I notice – the tense, the POV, the style… I can tell within the first few pages if the author has a style that I like. And most of the time, that means they have a style that (I like to think) is a little like mine.

This topic popped into my head last night while I was re-reading Backstage Pass which is the first book in the Sinners on Tour series by Olivia Cunning. While the story isn’t anything I’d ever write, I love her writing. It flows so easily and you can just devour it.

Which got me thinking about other authors whose writing I admire. And from the top of my head I can come up with three:


1. Richelle Mead and her writing in the Vampire Academy series, particularly the first three books. It’s so easy to fall into her world and Rose and Dimitri are such solid characters.


2. Olivia Cunning as mentioned above. Wow. Despite her novels being 80% sex, her characters fly off the page. They are so real and well developed.


3. Stephanie Perkins and her writing in Anna and the French Kiss. What an amazing story. Once again, just like Richelle and Olivia, Stephanie has a gift for creating characters that come to life.

All of these authors write in a style that I really like. It’s quick, engaging and the sort of writing you can just fly through. Light and entertaining and most importantly, the characters are amazing. So maybe I value characters I can love above all else.

Whose writing do you most admire?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Writing Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

93 Responses to Writers, whose writing do you most admire?

  1. John Steinbeck
    Bill Bryson
    E. Annie Proulx
    C.S. Lewis
    J.R. Tolkien
    John Irving
    Shakespeare
    Edgar Poe
    Lord Byron
    Herman Melville
    . . .funny as it may seem, J.K. Rowling

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dave Eggers is my Eddie Vedder, and yeah, that’s “What would you bring with you on a deserted island?” great hero status.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. webbzephyr says:

    J.D. Salinger, forever and always.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. The authors I admire the most are Cormac McCarthy, Margaret Atwood, William Faulkner, Orwell, and Bradbury. It was love at first word with McCarthy XD I fell in love with Atwood as a teen. She manages to write literature that has beautiful prose while also being entertaining. Faulkner is another author I love for the prose. I also love him for defying convention. Orwell and Bradbury write amazing stories. I went through a huge sci-fi phase in high school. I don’t remember their prose, but it was secondary to the story. I guess I should add Timothy Findley to the list. His prose is good, but not on par with Atwood, McCarthy, or Faulkner. But he often writes about mental illness and tries to blur the line between reality and delusions. He has a schizophrenic protagonist in several books, and he really gets into their heads. It makes me think he was close to someone with mental illness.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. sb2711 says:

    A week in winter – Marcia Willet, A Golden Age – Tahmima Anam, A Gathering Light – Jennifer Donelly. 🙂 You will love them as much as I did.

    Like

  6. You know whose writing was really a let down? Lovecraft. It’s very clear that he went straight from research writing to authoring without changing style or studying writing in the interim

    Like

  7. S.M. Cooper says:

    Dianne Sylvan has this incredibly witty style she brings to all of her prose. I only wish I could pull it off as well as she can… I continue reading her stuff in the hopes it will rub off on me. 😉

    Like

  8. T.K. says:

    Oscar Wilde. His writing is simply beautiful. I understand the true meaning of aesthetics above everything else when I read Dorian Gray.

    Stories can be swashbuckling adventures of spectacularity, with twists and turns abounding in every dramatic corner. But unless the content is expressed in beautiful prose, a story will always be lacking something, IMO.

    Liked by 1 person

    • webbzephyr says:

      One of my favorite literary works is Wilde’s “The Importance of Being Earnest.” (I wish the commenting feature would allow for italics, for it is really improper to put a book title in quotations). And the 2002 film version is amazing. The selection of Colin Firth for the role of Jack Worthing was an absolutely inspired casting choice, though I admit I have always possessed a favorable bias toward Colin Firth. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • T.K. says:

        Yes! That play was wonderful as well. Probably one of the few plays I could make through… I only watched the super-old version though, from the 40s or something! Have to check out this 2002 version sometime!

        Like

  9. Stephanie Perkins is definitely on my list. I would also add Cassandra Clare and Rainbow Rowell. For me, their writing express everything so beautifully!

    Like

  10. Nathanael C. Love says:

    Leo Tolstoy. Vladimir Nabokov. Joe Abercrombie.

    Like

  11. Neil Gaiman without a doubt. I firmly believe he is the most talented writer/story teller in the history of written language.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I’ve been trying to write more like Stephanie Perkins lately. Rainbow Rowell is another author I’m always in awe of.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. sabina ayne says:

    So I was surprised that no one mentioned Jasper Fforde! He is my fav all time author. I have read all his books multiple times. His Thursday Next series is the best! If you don’t mind an alternative-history England circa 1980-90, fantastic characters and unbelievable plots – go for it! His stuff is so out there you just have to go with the flow and not think too hard about it. He also wrote two books in a Nursery Crimes Series, one in which Humpty Dumpty is murdered and Jack Sprat has to figure out why. The final book of his YA series, Dragonslayer is due out soon and I am waiting with bated breath.

    Liked by 1 person

    • dustomundo says:

      Great point, Sabina! I can’t say I’ve had the pleasure of experiencing Fforde, but his Thursday Next series comes HIGHLY recommended by a wonderful Goodreads friend, and I have them on my TBR. I recently discovered that out library carries them, too. I can.t wait to read him!

      Like

  14. winterangela says:

    Kresley Cole… I LOVE anything written by her. I currently follow 2 series that she has going on – Immortals After Dark series and The Arcana Chronicles. I highly recommend her.

    Like

  15. bklynboy59 says:

    Wow alot of comments…you really got people talking…I like the late Robert B. Parker especially his Spenser for Hire series. I also Like Walter Mosley and James Patterson’s Alex Cross series.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Jarrod C says:

    Do you tend to favor red heads when it comes to favorite writers? 🙂 I am just kidding around.

    Like

  17. fireflyin says:

    For the last several years, I’ve become a devoted fan of Steven Erikson, author of the Malazan Book of the Fallen fantasy series. His ability to inject philosophy, humor, pathos and gravitas into a sweeping epic tale leaves me speechless. The way he blends the narrator’s voice with the character’s voice blows me away.
    Before I got to know his writing… it’s hard to recall who I looked up to. George RR Martin, I suppose, Robert Jordan. But now, I find myself comparing every new book I read to Erikson’s style.

    Liked by 1 person

    • dustomundo says:

      Wow, Erikson sounds great, Fireflyin’, thank you. I’ll be sure to check out the series. In your opinion, how does his work compare to GRRM?

      Like

      • fireflyin says:

        Oh, they’re kind of like night and day. Martin is much more accessible, his story is much more… classical and traditional compared to Erikson. In my opinion, Martin’s work is a lot about the choices people make and the consequences that follow, while Erikson’s work is more about how history–even ancient history–can still affect events of today.
        I don’t know. I don’t think I’m doing it justice. But Erikson’s work is definitely a lot harder to get into.

        Liked by 1 person

      • dustomundo says:

        Thank you, I appreciate that.:)

        Like

  18. thecorsos says:

    I will definitely have to check these authors out! I love your blog!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

