Writers & Bloggers, Do You Have a Job?

Okay… I admit it, “do you have a job” is a pretty weird question. But I know a lot of people who read this site are aspiring authors, so I was wondering… what does everyone do in real life? What do you do to make a living? Where are you working right now?

When you aren’t writing or reading or blogging… where do you find yourself making some cash?

I work full-time as a Sales Associate at a Real Estate Agency and I love it. I do a lot of marketing and work mainly on the computer side of things, but I get to work in a big, beautiful office and I love the fast paced environment.

If I can never make a living as a full-time author, then this is a pretty good alternative.

What about you? Where do you work? Do you like it? Or loathe getting out of bed every morning?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

141 Responses to Writers & Bloggers, Do You Have a Job?

  1. elizaturrill says:

    I currently work part-time at Barnes and Noble just pay to pay the bills. Other than the great discount and free ARCs it’s really shitty…basically like any other corporate retail job I worked at in high school. I just finished top of my class from my university and attended one of the best publishing schools in the nation but I still can’t get a job in publishing. I’m learning the hard way that all of my hard work and good grades in school didn’t matter. That at the end of the day I’m stuck in a shitty retail job because unless you know someone, you can’t get a full time job, because no one bothers to give you the time of day to call you back. 😦 can you tell I’m bitter? haha. It’s really sad coming to the realization that I spent 100,000 or more on education and apparently it doesn’t matter.

    Like

  2. Astorienne says:

    I work in academic publishing. I used to like the fast pace and urgent deadlines, but now I find it draining. I feel like almost every one of my colleagues is, or once was, an aspiring novelist. It can be demoralizing to be surrounded by writers who have given up the dream! Or reassuring, I suppose, to know there is a life after writing.

    Like

  3. Reblogged this on The Write Perspective and commented:
    That’s a very good question to know of your fellow bloggers. Me? I work full-time as a Surgical Instrument Technician- a job that I used to enjoy and felt proud to do.
    Long story- after 2008/9 most hospitals began to fall as a domino effect of a struggling economy. Where most claim the “non-profit” status (such as my employer) we had the unfortunate but all too common trend of hiring the CFO (Chief Financial Officer) as the CEO, thus the hospital began to operate most similarly to a bank. It does especially so, still to this day.

    “What happens when that happens?”- You ask?

    In places such as hospitals- generally there used to be a non-verbal ranking of order of importance that used to be;
    1) tie: level of care/patient satisfaction
    2) fiscal responsibility
    3) employee wellbeing
    4) anything else not covered by these blanket terms

    Fast forward a few years as the economy continues to struggle and the bounce back is taking longer than expected. We start seeing more ‘suits’ around (aka million dollar consultants) that for this amount of payment begin to suggest layoffs at a continual pace. Patient volumes ebb and flow from quarter to quarter so we begin a basic feast/famine style of staffing which tends to reflect patient census amounts from previous months (as formulated on bar graphs by the experts).

    Fast forward to now, after years of various departmental staff reductions- the most recent being the one I work in and we’re basically working by numbers and instructed about our staffing requirements by people who’ve never done my job, who’ve if they’ve ever cared for people in healthcare capacity- it was long ago. Long forgotten.

    Our hospital looks beautiful though- because they continually update areas that mostly don’t need it (it was in the ‘budget’ though) and skip over areas that could use the most attention.
    As it stands, my hospital no longer has employee well-being even on its list in regards to a hospital work environment. There are only two things on the list:
    1) Patient Satisfaction (at the top only for a very specific reason)
    2) Fiscal Fitness

    Patient satisfaction is no doubt at the top spot ONLY because Medicare and other government funded health insurers will only pay out if the patient satisfaction and level of care is at a certain amount. This comes from those surveys you get after you’ve given the hospital your insurance information.

    Stay with me here…

    Patients are getting smarter. With Google around and other sites for information regarding illness and treatments patients have become empowered more now than ever. That is good, but…
    Patients still only think about their care in terms of Doctor, Nurse, and maybe one or two other people (assistant/techs they see while receiving care). Hospitals that operate like banks are aware of this and ‘profit’ because of it.

    What you don’t know is that when you’re a patient and come into the hospital particularly for surgery, there are perhaps dozens of people who are preparing for your course of treatment. People that prepare your particular set of surgical instruments, people that sterilize those trays, people that had to drive in and bring in extra instruments/implants, people who had to assemble your surgical cart (which can contain up to 100 different items), people that had to get your cart to the OR suite once you arrive, people that had to get YOU to the OR suite, people who wait for a call to get extra items to your room be it anesthesia related, be it blood from the ‘blood bank’- be it IV poles, people who take specimens to the lab, etc. These people are NOT nurses or doctors. They often go unnoticed, unknown but were a vital part of your care. Once your surgery is over- someone has to clean up the mess (and sometimes it’s messy!). When you’re in your hospital room the nurses are busy ordering items on a continual basis for your care. Someone has to answer that call and it’s often only 1 person covering the whole hospital! This is work that with the exception of the washers that clean/sterilize the instruments (which have to be handled and sorted manually)- cannot be done by machine. Those specialty items have to be returned, etc. Everything has to go back in place for the next person awaiting surgical intervention. I digress slightly…

    You the patient being unable to judge the level of care based on these unseen individuals gives the hospitals that operate like banks (HTOLB) a chance to save tons of money by limiting staffing in these areas because they are not judged by fitness by you for Medicare and others to decide if said hospital is worthy of payment. Instead, the HTOLB will only put monies into things a patient will notice and score high on in the survey.
    “Look at the pretty wallpaper! Isn’t it soothing? Though when I was here visiting someone 6 months ago they had a slightly different color scheme. Taupe must be the ‘in’ color this season!”

    That wallpaper and those new comfy chairs that are mostly empty after 5pm cost a lot of folks their jobs and the old furniture wasn’t despicable. You may think that furniture and color scheme is important but what if it were you that got laid off? What do you tell that newly unemployed person’s children? Can anyone of the thousands get a job at the hospital furniture factory? Probably not. Enjoy the comfort though… You can probably come back next year to my hospital and they’ll have new furniture yet again because they’d rather not hire any more ‘unknowns’. The spreadsheets and bar-graphs told them not to.

    So yeah, I aspire to be a full time writer. I will continue to do the best job I can under the tremendous added pressure and unstable work staffing. In my spare time however, I’ll prepare to be the best author I can be through the meticulous process of creating and writing. This is my passion.

    Like

  4. Finley Jayne says:

    I have my BA in English (Writing Emphasis) and Political Science. But I’ve been doing the stay at home mom thing for around 9 years now and don’t see that changing anytime soon πŸ™‚ I am at the beginning stages of writing a memoir of sorts, of my weight loss journey, and then one of my kids is also doing a virtual charter school this year, which means she’s at home all.the.time πŸ˜› I also have a paid gig to do baking for some relatives who have allergies, so that takes up a few hours a week. And then blogging/reading/being mom/wife/housekeeper-zoo keeper to our houseful of pets πŸ˜€

    Like

  5. I am a legal assistant and also a student obtaining a BA in Psychology:Life Coaching. While, I like what I do, I’m in the stage of craving change. Writing is my passion and I want to inspire others, so my desire is to be an author and start a nonprofit for at risk youth.

    Like

  6. zoebyrd says:

    I changed careers after about twenty years… first a Physical Therapist… now a Psychotherapist… loved PT and love my current job. Didnt start writing until a few years ago so I dont see it as a profession … more like a past-time.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m in the United States, and I work from home as a medical transcriptionist.

    I don’t really like it anymore, though I used to. The job has changed since I started doing it, about 20 years ago. It used to be listening to doctors (or other medical personnel) and typing what they said. Nowadays, most institutions use some sort of voice recognition software, and I listen to the doctors while reading what the machine transcribed, and edit it. It pays less this way. I’m nearing retirement age, though, so in about three more years, it’s not going to matter.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hmm I’m working at a hospital in the UK. They are switching over from audio typing on tape to a mix of digital dictation (same thing directly on the PC) and speech recognition. I have asked them to let me do the training for the speech recognition software as I have never done audio (or had the chance to learn!) and they won’t get back to me. It’s really frustrating. I wouldn’t even mind being paid less than a Secretary/PA normally would as I need the work and am eager to learn new things to increase my employability. But no such luck!

      Like

  8. Working part time in an office but am looking for full time work. Unfortunately I am struggling to get back into full time work as I left a full time but unsatisfying office job to attend university not long after the recession began. 5 years later the UK has not yet recovered from the recession so there are loads of people looking.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. awjo224 says:

    Well, I just graduated and am still on the job hunt. So I’m not working hah. I would love to get into real estate. I even met with a realtor a few weeks ago to discuss it. It’s something I’m definitely going to do eventually.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Hi Jodie,

    I’m in the San Francisco Bay area and I teach writing classes to make some spending money. I’m a semi retired teacher so I can work in my husband’s office a couple days a week. I can write most of the time there between answering phones.

    It’s great you like where you work. I do too.

    Julaina

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I am a publishing consultant. I own and operate my own company, through which I help others improve their manuscripts, nail down contracts with agents and publishers, and market their self-published and published books. So it’s the best of both worlds…time for my own projects plus all the “work” time is spent helping other authors!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. JB Dutton says:

    I’m lucky enough to be a freelance marketing copywriter and translator so I get to: a) write all day, b) get paid for some of it, and c) organize my schedule. When freelance work drops off a bit I have to be disciplined enough to use that time to write (and market) my own fiction.

    Good luck with all your projects and just keep at it!

    John

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I have not worked for the last two and half years. Luckily, hubby makes enough, but it is weird not working after working all my life since age sixteen. I will be looking again though. Need human interaction, more than my kids. πŸ™‚ I do love having the time to read and write more. I plan to keep it going once I do find a job. I did bookkeeping for seventeen years before not working. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Will says:

    Hey Jodie I own my own medical supply wholesale and liquidation business. I also recently started a new social enterprise called the Give Back Challenge, which challenges people to give back to the less fortunate within their community (set to launch 2015). I write just to document my life, my travels, and to inspire others. Great post by the way!

    Like

  15. Gert Loveday says:

    Hi Jodie and thanks for the likes you give us. This is an interesting topic because there’s been a lot of stuff round recently about writers’ grants (one here at Overland https://overland.org.au/2014/10/is-creative-writing-killing-literature). I have friends who say they’d love to give up work and write full tine. I’ve never wanted to do that. I think it’s much better for writers to have another life, in touch with all the human messiness. I’ve just given up work, but I was a Speech Pathologist working with neurological disorders. I loved my work and it did give me a charge that writing never could, but it fed into my writing too.

    Like

  16. Steven Baird says:

    I work as a graphic artist for a major newspaper corporation…. a small cog in a very large machine. It’s exhausting work dealing with so many different levels of management, and the artistic aspect of it is diminishing every year. Most of my creativity comes from the things I do for myself: writing and photography. Those things keep me energized enough to keep on keep on earning a paycheck.

    Like

  17. April Boyer says:

    What a very good question! I love your take on aspiring to be a writer/author. Thanks for visiting me!

    Like

  18. Summerita says:

    Great post, Jodie! Your office job sounds cool. Just the kind I’d like the heroine in my book to have πŸ™‚
    I’m a doctor who is in academics. I love to teach and enjoy putting things into the students’ heads. Every new session brings a new season and a different pace to my job which is refreshing.
    I often long to have more time for writing but also wonder if I can do without my job. And the fun relaxing time with my colleagues πŸ™‚

    Like

  19. Hi Jodie!

    I saw you liked my most recent post so I wanted to stop by and say thank you. I’m moving out of state (NY to FL) in 8 days so I just left my page job at the local library over the weekend. I also just started blogging. I hope to go pro with it eventually, so right now I’m kinda in between. Good luck in your ventures. Consider yourself followed. πŸ˜€

    Like

  20. Kym Kennedy says:

    My writing is part of my home business – I have been a Home Business Owner for over 20 years – my reason for creating my original Home Business was to be home with my children – I have home schooled them during that time so they could follow their dreams. My current Home Business is in the network marketing industry and I love it – I now get to travel so I can connect with my grown children and assist others to find personal and financial freedom. I am passionate about my work and I am passionate about others finding the right opportunity to allow them to do more of what they love. It is all about doing what we love and then the money follows, clichΓ© but true.

    Like

  21. Jen says:

    Wow – loads of comments here… it’s fascinating to see what everyone’s doing ‘in the real world’.
    Me? At the moment I’m working part time in IT/Communications (on contract though, so things will change again next year…) and the other days of the week I’m studying Professional Writing and Editing (all online!!).

    The only writing I seem to have time for is for the Uni assessments, but that’s okay – it means I get to write in all forms, formats and genres. Oh, and on my blog occasionally πŸ™‚

    Great topic for a blog post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

