What books do you love that are outside your genre?

I’m reading Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas at the moment. It’s a beast of a book (565 pages long) and I’m loving every second of it. The Throne of Glass series is an excellent high fantasy series. Which is a big thing for me to say, because in general, I seriously dislike high fantasy.

What book breaks the rules for you? I dislike high fantasy, but really like the Throne of Glass series. Another one is Graceling by Kristin Cashore. But those are pretty much the only two that I’ve read and loved in the fantasy genre.

Do you have any books that break all of your own rules?Β An exception to a genre you generally avoid?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to What books do you love that are outside your genre?

  1. A.D. Martin says:

    Not really sure I’d consider anything that I’ve read and liked outside my genre. But maybe because I’ve avoided those genres too successfully.

    Like

  2. A.D. Martin says:

    Not really sure I’d consider anything that I’ve read and liked outside my genre. But maybe because I’ve avoided those genres too successfully.

    Like

  3. Hmmmm, if you’re open to trying another fantasy novel, may I recommend Maria Snyder’s “Poison Study”? I don’t know if you’re heard of it or already read it, but if you enjoyed “Graceling” this one might be worth a try.

    I tend to slip back and forth between genres. Usually I read fantasy, but I also like historical fiction and contemporary fiction (what’s the proper term for “regular” adult fiction? Just adult fiction?). The last “outside genre” book I read and really enjoyed was Ursula Le Guin’s “The Left Hand of Darkness.” It was my first science fiction novel, and it haunted me (in a good way).

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      Oooo I’ve read Poison Study. Ages ago though. I do remember liking it, though I’m not sure if I ever got around to finishing the series.

      Like

      • Then maybe it’s a sign you should re-read it. πŸ˜‰ I haven’t read the rest of the series yet, but I’m going to this fall (er, season – forgot you’re based in Australia, so it’s spring for you!). That way I’m caught up when Book 4, “Shadow Study,” comes out in February.

        Like

  4. Hmmmm, if you’re open to trying another fantasy novel, may I recommend Maria Snyder’s “Poison Study”? I don’t know if you’re heard of it or already read it, but if you enjoyed “Graceling” this one might be worth a try.

    I tend to slip back and forth between genres. Usually I read fantasy, but I also like historical fiction and contemporary fiction (what’s the proper term for “regular” adult fiction? Just adult fiction?). The last “outside genre” book I read and really enjoyed was Ursula Le Guin’s “The Left Hand of Darkness.” It was my first science fiction novel, and it haunted me (in a good way).

    Like

    • jodiellewellyn says:

      Oooo I’ve read Poison Study. Ages ago though. I do remember liking it, though I’m not sure if I ever got around to finishing the series.

      Like

      • Then maybe it’s a sign you should re-read it. πŸ˜‰ I haven’t read the rest of the series yet, but I’m going to this fall (er, season – forgot you’re based in Australia, so it’s spring for you!). That way I’m caught up when Book 4, “Shadow Study,” comes out in February.

        Like

  5. davemstrom says:

    My genre is superheroes, especially the female ones. I don’t look down on other genres since I was in a critique group. I brought over the older ladies to loving Holly the superheroine. They wrote romance and mystery, I critiqued (and liked) their writing, and I’d tell them: I like that line in your writing, I’m gonna steal it!

    I am a liberal, but I LOVE John Wayne movies (True Grit is my fave). Why? Mike Royko said it best, I like the simple pleasure of seeing the bad guys lose. I watch Walker Texas Ranger for the same reason. And the episode of The Invisibles on The Outer Limits (black-and-white), justifying the hunting down of commie reds in the U S of A? Loved it, a well-written and pulse-pounding Sci-Fi hour.

    I have grabbed a few romance books, but I have not read them in detail yet. It is good to broaden one’s horizons. I remember a Marvel Comics guy telling fanboys to read something besides comic books. Good advice (and I love comic books).

    To write a couple of my upcoming stories, I will have to CHOKE down Twilight and Atlas Shrugged, the latter far more vile than the former. I am not looking forward to that.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. davemstrom says:

    My genre is superheroes, especially the female ones. I don’t look down on other genres since I was in a critique group. I brought over the older ladies to loving Holly the superheroine. They wrote romance and mystery, I critiqued (and liked) their writing, and I’d tell them: I like that line in your writing, I’m gonna steal it!

    I am a liberal, but I LOVE John Wayne movies (True Grit is my fave). Why? Mike Royko said it best, I like the simple pleasure of seeing the bad guys lose. I watch Walker Texas Ranger for the same reason. And the episode of The Invisibles on The Outer Limits (black-and-white), justifying the hunting down of commie reds in the U S of A? Loved it, a well-written and pulse-pounding Sci-Fi hour.

    I have grabbed a few romance books, but I have not read them in detail yet. It is good to broaden one’s horizons. I remember a Marvel Comics guy telling fanboys to read something besides comic books. Good advice (and I love comic books).

    To write a couple of my upcoming stories, I will have to CHOKE down Twilight and Atlas Shrugged, the latter far more vile than the former. I am not looking forward to that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • siamesemayhem says:

      I’ve read Twilight, and it’s not actually that bad (understatement; I love it so much I’m currently blogging about it ad nauseum). But maybe that’s because Fifty Shades of Grey makes everything look good? πŸ˜€

      Like

  7. wildbilbo says:

    Recently read Capote’s In Cold Blood & currently reading Wolfes The Right Stuff. Both nonfiction and both an excellent read. I will be checking out more NF going forward.

    Im a sci fi/fantasy/horror reader – Trying to expand my reading horizons ATM, at some stage I need to brave the murky and scary waters of ‘drama’, ‘romance’ & ‘erotic’. I’d be open to suggestions in any of these categories. πŸ™‚

    I’ve had the book thief & the fault in our stars recommended already.

    Like

  8. wildbilbo says:

    Recently read Capote’s In Cold Blood & currently reading Wolfes The Right Stuff. Both nonfiction and both an excellent read. I will be checking out more NF going forward.

    Im a sci fi/fantasy/horror reader – Trying to expand my reading horizons ATM, at some stage I need to brave the murky and scary waters of ‘drama’, ‘romance’ & ‘erotic’. I’d be open to suggestions in any of these categories. πŸ™‚

    I’ve had the book thief & the fault in our stars recommended already.

    Like

  9. I usually avoid any book where the main character is a writer. Just seems too close to home, maybe. William Goldman’s “The Color of Light” just nails how we think, though, especially how we take real life and rework it into fiction. It’s a great read, too, and with one of the best final lines ever.

    Like

  10. I usually avoid any book where the main character is a writer. Just seems too close to home, maybe. William Goldman’s “The Color of Light” just nails how we think, though, especially how we take real life and rework it into fiction. It’s a great read, too, and with one of the best final lines ever.

    Like

  11. thezwrites says:

    I don’t really have one genre. I don’t read sports books or horse books, but I can’t think of any of those that shone through, either.

    Like

  12. thezwrites says:

    I don’t really have one genre. I don’t read sports books or horse books, but I can’t think of any of those that shone through, either.

    Like

  13. janceewright says:

    I don’t have a genre. I will typically give anything a try at least once. I’ve found books I’ve loved and books I’ve disliked in every category. I wouldn’t even say I have a favorite.

    Like

  14. janceewright says:

    I don’t have a genre. I will typically give anything a try at least once. I’ve found books I’ve loved and books I’ve disliked in every category. I wouldn’t even say I have a favorite.

    Like

  15. D.J. Lutz says:

    As for reading, I’m not particular enough to stay within the mystery genre. If it’s a well-crafted story, I will probably enjoy it. Currently reading Back Channel by Stephen L. Carter.

    Like

  16. D.J. Lutz says:

    As for reading, I’m not particular enough to stay within the mystery genre. If it’s a well-crafted story, I will probably enjoy it. Currently reading Back Channel by Stephen L. Carter.

    Like

  17. Natalie K. says:

    Generally, I avoid any and all romance. However, I’ve read a couple of fun YA romances in recent years: Susan Ee’s ‘Angelfall’ and ‘World After,’ and Amanda Hocking’s The Hollows series. Admittedly I’m not 100% sure they’re supposed to be classified as romance, but nevertheless, they’re not the type of books I’d normally read, but I loved them anyway!

    Like

  18. Jess says:

    I can’t think of a genre surprise, although I suppose I tend to shy away from very serious fiction, and “Bel Canto” by Ann Patchett was a very pleasant surprise. I’m always up for something different, though, and although I am also Not a fantasy fan, I am very excited to check out The Throne of Glass books thanks to your glowing report. Thank you!

    Like

  19. It’s funny you should ask if there are any books I read that are outside my genre. I’m not that crazy about history, and I definitely don’t like books with a lot of violence, but I just finished reading Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption by Laura Hillenbrand which tells the story in great detail of Olympic track star Louis Zamperini’s experiences in Japanese POW camps after his plane crashed in the Pacific Occean. You can read a review of this book on my blog.

    Like

  20. I avoid the romance genre but my new novel has romance in it. I like to read multidimensional novels but this is the first time I’m writing one.

    Like

  21. Two fantastic series! The Girl With All The Gifts was out of my genre comfort zone. I’m not a zombie fan but the book was great. Not sure if I’ll continue on with the zombie theme though.

    Like

  22. K. Caffee says:

    Dedicated fantasy reader with a second love of a well crafted sci-fi story to tag along. I hate… hate is too mild a term… despise gets closer, but still not quite there – romance. Especially graphic romance. Then, my BF from high school turned me onto “Warrior’s Woman.” I bemoan the fact, even to this day that it is not in my library – lost it a while back in an unintended move.

    Other romance that caught my attention include “Moonstruck Madness” and, oddly enough Ariel. Not sure the last could be qualified as romance, but the last scene definitely qualifies as graphic!

    Another oddball that I’ve found to enjoy through the years include “Atlas Shrugged” – I kicked and screamed about reading that one, but I finally broke down and did so in order to attempt the big scholarship that focuses on the book.

    Like

  23. Miranda Stone says:

    I generally don’t care for fantasy, but I loved Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. webbzephyr says:

    I have never been much for spy fiction, but I quite enjoyed Eye of the Needle by Ken Follett. Probably because it blended spy fiction and historical fiction, and I have known to be an absolute sucker for a captivating piece of historical fiction.

    Like

  25. Bookgirl says:

    I generally read all genres, but tend to sway towards YA fiction because some adult fiction has content that can be disturbing. That being said I recently read ‘I am Pilgrim” and loved it.

    Like

  26. I generally avoid Paranormal Romance books as they just aren’t male reader friendly IMHO. But the one notable exception, I think, is The Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward. These books are very good, and I wouldn’t be embarrassed to recommend them to male readers.

    Like

  27. I’ve been trying to read some different books outside of what I normally read. I was approved by NetGalley to read/review the Rosie Effect which is a straight up romane. I just got the first book The Rosie Project from my library so I’m looking forward to reading them. I also just started Kristen Callihan first contemporary romance The Hook Up. She writes the Darkest London series which is set in Victorian England and is a mix of fantasy, paranormal, and steampunk. So, this is a total departure for her. I’ve only read the first chapter but I’m enjoying it so far.

    Like

  28. infinityreads says:

    I’ve never been much of a fantasy fan either but I’m a sucker for the Song of Ice and Fire books. In saying that I’m not much into romance either but I absolutely adore Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins πŸ™‚

    Like

  29. rlsharpe says:

    I love stepping out of my favourite genres and finding a gem. I must admit I don’t so it that often though, mainly because I have too many books to read in my genre. I love Sarah J. Mass, her books are amazing, glad you are enjoying Heir Of Fire, I’ll be reading it soon and can’t wait!

    Like

  30. I have never heard of the Throne of Glass series, but now I have to check them out. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  31. kindlemom1 says:

    I am right there with you, I normally don’t love fantasy but I absolutely adore the Throne of Glass series. It really is wonderful. So glad you decided to try it and are loving it as well.

    Like

  32. aryathefangirl says:

    I read from a wide variety of books normally. I have a hard time reading from the same genre without getting bored or going into a slump. With that being said I tend to avoid mystery, nonfiction,and horror. I’ve had a hard time finding ones in these genes that I’ve truly enjoyed.

    Like

  33. dustomundo says:

    Not really, no. I enjoy a wide variety of genres.

    Like

  34. I’m not big on thrillers in general, but I love the Preston & Child Pendergast series. They all have just a *slight* speculative edge, good plots, and engaging characters.

    Like

  35. Heir of Fire was amazing!!! I’m still not sure what the connection to the Witches in the Omega will be, but I’m assuming it will be more apparently in the next good. I loved how the connection with Celanea and Rowen was there, but not like it was with Dorian or Chayol. I read it twice. I can’t wait for the next one to come out already…. /humpfff… stupid series. (ok not stupid, just has me hook line and sinker so I can’t wait for the next one to come out. Yes I know this was just released. )

    I’m not sure which book has broken the rule for me. Probably Mockingjay by Kathryn Erske (I don’t think I spelled her name right). It’s about a girl with Asbergers through her eyes. It’s such an amazing book that I recommend it to anyone and everyone.

    Like

  36. joyousreads says:

    I’m not much of a horror reader but I read Bird Box by Josh Malerman a couple of months ago and thoroughly enjoyed it…as much as one can enjoy horror reads, that is. πŸ™‚

    Like

  37. I like nearly ALL the genres and jump around them all! My least favourite are Sci Fi and Fantasy but I have found some amazing books in both of these genres over the last 12 months to I don’t think I can even say that anymore. The only genre I never try is Christian Fiction, it’s too preachy for me.

    Thanks for joining in my feel-good feels feature! This is my first time visiting but I really like the tag line on your header as it immediately tells me something really important about you. And then I glance right and see that you are an Aussie so I love that I find out two huge things that give me a sense of you within seconds of visiting. I like also that you are asking questions on your blog, like this post and ‘do you have a job’, etc. It feels like you genuinely want to connect with your readers and obviously it’s working as you are getting loads of comments and feedback.

    Like

  38. I read quite a lot of different types of books but don’t like YA contemporary (or adult either, unless it’s Mystery). But, I did like Graffiti Moon.

    Like

  39. Ellen Morris Prewitt says:

    Who knows what genre I write (they’re still trying to figure that out), but I definitely dislike zombie books. Imagine my surprise when I picked up a Colson Whitehead, and it was a zombie book! And I liked it! It’s Zone One and, as with all his stuff, beautifully written.

    Like

  40. marnij says:

    I am big into YA books, especially dystopia. I don’t go out of my way to read contemporary romance or anything like that, but I do find myself enjoying the classic chick lit. These authors include Emily Griffin, Lauren Weisberger, Sophie Kinsella, the authors of the Nanny Diaries, to name a few.

    Like

  41. fireflyin says:

    Grisham’s “Street Lawyer” broke my genre rule. I’m generally a high fantasy sort of reader. Obviously Grisham doesn’t go anywhere near that genre lol πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

