Review: Puppy Love by A. Destiny & Catherine Hapka

Title: Puppy Love
Author: A Destiny and Catherine Hapka
Publisher: Simon Pulse (Simon Schuster)
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Links: Book Depository

Blurb:

Fifteen-year-old Lauren has always loved dogs, but could never have one of her own until her highly allergic older sister went to college. Now she has her very own puppy, and she’s head over heels until the cute little monster starts chewing everything in sight and barking loud enough to drive the whole family crazy!

So it’s off to puppy kindergarten they go. There, Lauren quickly falls for the dog trainer, a seventeen-year-old dog whisperer with a hot accent.

But is he really the one for her, or would she be better matched with Jamal, a fellow fumbling owner her own age with an unruly mutt?

Will Lauren graduate from puppy kindergarten with a just a well-trained pup? Or will she have a new boyfriend by her side?

Why I picked it up:

This book was sent to me from Simon Schuster in exchange for an honest review.

What I didn’t like about it:

I shouldn’t complain about this, because with a title like “Puppy Love” and a fifteen-year-old main character, I knew what to expect. Fluff, cuteness galore, wrapped up in a little bow of more fluff…

But wow, this book was fluffy! Fluffy and light and too “young” for me… I love YA, but this was verging towards middle grade. It had a “first crush” vibe, which I don’t mind, but combined with Lauren’s extreme naiveté, it just felt way too young. This is the sort of book I’d recommend to a 12-year-old.

It didn’t help that Lauren was shallow, judgemental, self absorbed and incredibly clueless. Which I guess is pretty common for someone her age, but she was literally about as deep as a paddling pool.

What I liked about it:

Despite all of the above, Puppy Love wasn’t a bad novel. It was a quick read, well paced, and well written. It kept my attention throughout and despite many eye-roll moments, it was pretty enjoyable.

This book definitely wasn’t for me, but I’d recommend it to anyone under the age of sixteen.

My Verdict – This is a hard one… for me, it was 2 stars, but for anyone under sixteen, I’d give it a 3. So… 2.5?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: Puppy Love by A. Destiny & Catherine Hapka

  1. Jodie, excellent review as always! I’m curious, you say this novel was closer to middle grade – do you think this book’s intended audience would enjoy it more than you would? Or would they find the ‘eye-roll moments’ equally … eye-rolly.

    Like

  2. Jodie, excellent review as always! I’m curious, you say this novel was closer to middle grade – do you think this book’s intended audience would enjoy it more than you would? Or would they find the ‘eye-roll moments’ equally … eye-rolly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

