Readers, what stories live inside you?

I love this quote. I found it on Pinterest and had to share it:

It’s no secret that I’m a big Harry Potter fan. But I also carry other stories inside me. Stories like Rabbit Ears by Maggie de Vries. The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls. Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers. These books have all taught me something about the world and allowed me to experience a life that I never personally lived. They were devastating and enlightening, and I will carry them with me for a lot longer than I’ll ever carry a book that I read for pure entertainment.

What stories live inside you? Are they the stories that changed the way you view the world? Or stories that let you escape?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Readers, what stories live inside you?

  1. mihrank says:

    wow – so deep and precise!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mihrank says:

    wow – so deep and precise!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Crystal Barnes says:

    Love the statement. Although I am not a child anymore, children stories such as the Winnie The Pooh and Berenstain Bears series live in me and always will. I love the carefree and peaceful world they live in 🙂

    Like

  4. Crystal Barnes says:

    Love the statement. Although I am not a child anymore, children stories such as the Winnie The Pooh and Berenstain Bears series live in me and always will. I love the carefree and peaceful world they live in 🙂

    Like

  5. raulconde001 says:

    Great books that you’ve read. I mean the Harry Potter series. 🙂

    Like

  6. raulconde001 says:

    Great books that you’ve read. I mean the Harry Potter series. 🙂

    Like

  7. I do like the weird, the wonderful, and the truly bizarre side of literature, however.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I do like the weird, the wonderful, and the truly bizarre side of literature, however.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. webbzephyr says:

    The Catcher In The Rye changed my life, and will live forever in my heart alongside Pride and Prejudice, The Chosen, The Cricket In Times Square, Weslandia, Matilda, Holes, the Harry Potter series, and so many wonderful stories that do not immediately come to mind. ❤

    Like

  10. webbzephyr says:

    The Catcher In The Rye changed my life, and will live forever in my heart alongside Pride and Prejudice, The Chosen, The Cricket In Times Square, Weslandia, Matilda, Holes, the Harry Potter series, and so many wonderful stories that do not immediately come to mind. ❤

    Like

  11. Raúl says:

    Stephen King’s The Dark Tower, and Hopscotch (Rayuela) By Julio Cortázar, pretty different but they rule my days and night dreams

    Like

  12. Raúl says:

    Stephen King’s The Dark Tower, and Hopscotch (Rayuela) By Julio Cortázar, pretty different but they rule my days and night dreams

    Like

  13. sonworshiper says:

    Lord of the Rings holds a special place in my heart–my older brother is more of a Tolkien fan than I am, but little brothers like to follow their siblings’ example.
    Brandon Sanderson is creating a space right next door to Tolkien, with fantastic stuff like Mistborn and The Way of Kings. He finished off Wheel of Time (Robert Jordan’s masterpiece) and brought me back after I’d given up. That drew me in to check out other books he’d done on his own.
    For the classics, The Jungle and To Kill a Mockingbird really made an impression in me during high school. I think To Kill a Mockingbird had the added benefit of our class watching the movie after we completed the book, so it came even more to life in my mind.
    Finally, my English teacher did a great job with some of Shakespeare’s works, helping us make sense of the more difficult phrases and terms. Romeo and Juliet, MacBeth, and Hamlet each call to mind fond memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. sonworshiper says:

    Lord of the Rings holds a special place in my heart–my older brother is more of a Tolkien fan than I am, but little brothers like to follow their siblings’ example.
    Brandon Sanderson is creating a space right next door to Tolkien, with fantastic stuff like Mistborn and The Way of Kings. He finished off Wheel of Time (Robert Jordan’s masterpiece) and brought me back after I’d given up. That drew me in to check out other books he’d done on his own.
    For the classics, The Jungle and To Kill a Mockingbird really made an impression in me during high school. I think To Kill a Mockingbird had the added benefit of our class watching the movie after we completed the book, so it came even more to life in my mind.
    Finally, my English teacher did a great job with some of Shakespeare’s works, helping us make sense of the more difficult phrases and terms. Romeo and Juliet, MacBeth, and Hamlet each call to mind fond memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. ogaribay says:

    Ham on rye By Charles bukowski..we are the same..fucken weird..makes me not write ever…to similar

    Like

  16. ogaribay says:

    Ham on rye By Charles bukowski..we are the same..fucken weird..makes me not write ever…to similar

    Like

  17. Harry Potter is probably the biggest one for me; there are few other stories I can still recall so well. Others that spring to mind are Dinotopia and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time.

    Like

  18. Harry Potter is probably the biggest one for me; there are few other stories I can still recall so well. Others that spring to mind are Dinotopia and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time.

    Like

  19. SarahClare says:

    There’s lots of stories that have impacted on me in different ways- I mean, I was OBSESSED with Harry Potter. (still am). But I think Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles have a special place in my head and heart because they opened up a whole new world of reading, and way of writing.

    Like

  20. SarahClare says:

    There’s lots of stories that have impacted on me in different ways- I mean, I was OBSESSED with Harry Potter. (still am). But I think Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles have a special place in my head and heart because they opened up a whole new world of reading, and way of writing.

    Like

  21. jessmbaum says:

    What a great question. I always say that the most honest characters are the ones who you continue to carry in your spirit. Jane Eyre is the ultimate answer to what stories/characters live inside of me. A lot of Dr Suess also comes to mind along with the Odyssey (but strangely enough not the Iliad). The more that I think on this the longer the list gets so I’ll stop here. haha

    Liked by 1 person

  22. jessmbaum says:

    What a great question. I always say that the most honest characters are the ones who you continue to carry in your spirit. Jane Eyre is the ultimate answer to what stories/characters live inside of me. A lot of Dr Suess also comes to mind along with the Odyssey (but strangely enough not the Iliad). The more that I think on this the longer the list gets so I’ll stop here. haha

    Liked by 1 person

  23. dustomundo says:

    Oh wow, there are a lot of them that will stick with me forever.:) Just off the top of my head, Stephen King’s Dark Tower series, George R.R. Martin’s ASOIAF, anything by Richard Powers and The Hobbit/LOTR.

    Like

  24. dustomundo says:

    Oh wow, there are a lot of them that will stick with me forever.:) Just off the top of my head, Stephen King’s Dark Tower series, George R.R. Martin’s ASOIAF, anything by Richard Powers and The Hobbit/LOTR.

    Like

  25. sunwillow82 says:

    I would definitely agree Harry Potter impacted my life in a unique way as well. When I think about it there are a few that have stayed with me. The Divergent Trilogy, The Giver Quartet by Lois Lowery, Hunger Games Trilogy, The Oath by Frank Peretti, and Anne of Green Gables. These books all struck me differently and they all played a huge part in making me the writer I am today.

    Like

  26. sunwillow82 says:

    I would definitely agree Harry Potter impacted my life in a unique way as well. When I think about it there are a few that have stayed with me. The Divergent Trilogy, The Giver Quartet by Lois Lowery, Hunger Games Trilogy, The Oath by Frank Peretti, and Anne of Green Gables. These books all struck me differently and they all played a huge part in making me the writer I am today.

    Like

  27. Bookgirl says:

    It’s because we become so attached to our characters, they are like family, always butting in. sending us crazy.

    Like

  28. Bookgirl says:

    It’s because we become so attached to our characters, they are like family, always butting in. sending us crazy.

    Like

  29. Jarrod C says:

    The stories I keep closest are the ones my father has told me or silly situations and events my friends and family have gotten into. I have shared some on my blog. I find them the most heartfelt, likely because they are literally so close to home.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Jarrod C says:

    The stories I keep closest are the ones my father has told me or silly situations and events my friends and family have gotten into. I have shared some on my blog. I find them the most heartfelt, likely because they are literally so close to home.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

