Review: The Protected by Claire Zorn

Title: The Protected
Author: Claire Zorn
Publisher: University of Queensland Press
Genre: Young adult, contemporary, issue: bullying, grief
Links: Book Depository | GoodReads | Amazon | UQP

Blurb:

Hannah’s world is in pieces and she doesn’t need the school counsellor to tell her she has  deep-seated psychological issues. With a seriously depressed mum, an injured dad and a dead sister, who wouldn’t have problems?

Hannah should feel terrible but for the first time in ages, she feels a glimmer of hope and isn’t afraid anymore. Is it because the elusive Josh is taking an interest in her? Or does it run deeper than that?

In a family torn apart by grief and guilt, one girl’s struggle to come to terms with years of torment shows just how long old wounds can take to heal.

Why I picked it up:

This book was sent to be from UQP in exchange for an honest review.

What I didn’t like about it:

*crickets*

What I did like about it:

Geez, I loved this. What a beautiful story. Protected tells the tale of Hannah, a girl who is crippled by her social anxiety and is mourning the death of her sister.

This is one of those stories that just… worked. Everything about it worked. The characters were well developed, the pace moved well, the plot was interesting, the emotion was strong, and I really liked Hannah’s interactions with Josh – they built slowly, which was the perfect rate for them.

I like how Claire Zorn writes. It’s simple, direct, and yet still elegant and descriptive. She’s very good at describing characters without actually describing them. It’s more that she gives you the tools to come to your own decisions.

For example: He has useful-looking shoulders, like he could throw a damsel over them if it was required.

I really enjoy books that deal with bullying. It’s such a relevant issue that needs to be tackled in a more effective way in our schools. Books like this make me realise that I was one of the lucky ones, because I was never bullied. I coasted through school pretty easily, so I find books that explore the subject of bullying incredibly interesting, but very sad too.

All in all, a fantastic read. Why in the world doesn’t this book have more recognition? Only 70 ratings and 28 reviews on GoodReads… are you kidding me?

My Verdict – 5 Stars – aka. Show a small Aussie publisher some love and get your hands on this hidden gem!

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Review: The Protected by Claire Zorn

  1. An enticing review, Jodie.

    Like

  2. Omoye says:

    Great review Jodie.

    Like

  3. I’ve heard so many good things about this one and am so glad you loved this! I haven’t read it but I plan on buying it for Christmas. Claire is an author I’ve been wanting to read for a while and I plan on getting both her books. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

