Review: Sandy Feet by Nikki Buick

Title: Sandy Feet
Author: Nikki Buick
Publisher: University Queensland Press
Genre: Young adult, contemporary, issue: divorce
Links: Book Depository | GoodReads | Amazon

Blurb:

Life was not meant to be easy. It was meant to be a treacherous obstacle course, a cruel gauntlet, and right then I was in the thick of it.

Hunter is stuck in a car with his family as they travel up the Queensland coast. It is a trip that his mum thinks will bring the family closer together, especially now that his stepdad and baby brother are part of the mix.

But with tension and secrets sizzling beneath the happy family facade, the road trip soon becomes Hunter’s worst nightmare. The further away from home he gets the more he can’t shake thoughts of the accident that took his dad away from them.

Forced out of his comfort zone, Hunter tries to embrace life on the road. Between campsites he parties with friendly backpackers on the beach, has one too many close encounters with wild animals and finally meets a girl who actually understands how he feels. But is it enough to help him deal with the real reason his family set off on their journey in t he frist place?

Why I picked it up:

This book was sent to be from UQP in exchange for an honest review.

My Thoughts:

Prior to reading this book, I read The Protected, which was also released with UQP, so I went into this with relatively high expectations.

Unfortunately, they weren’t met… I was barely 60 pages in and I couldn’t shake the feeling that Sandy Feet was just a little… boring. I kept waiting for the “plot” to kick in, because the story seemed to be floating along with no real direction.

By page 90, I was reading, not because I found the story engaging, but because I kept waiting for something to happen. The story became a bit of a treasure hunt to find the plot amidst the endless descriptions of scenery, car travel, food preparation and Hunter’s endless stream of internal thoughts.

I finished this book, but it was a chore for me. That doesn’t take anything away from the writing, which was lovely, or the story and its themes, which were relevant. This story just didn’t grab me and suck me in, which I think had a lot to do with the main character – a teenage boy who I couldn’t connect or identify with. I usually avoid novels with male protagonists. But this book was written by a woman, so I thought it might be okay… male protagonists are always a bit hit or miss for me.

My Verdict – 2 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Sandy Feet by Nikki Buick

  1. Laurie says:

    I have found that reading does effect my writing which is good I guess, but what is most important is to do like you and keep on writing. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

