Review: Atlantia by Ally Condie

Title: Atlantia
Author: Ally Condie
Publisher: Penguin
Genre: Young adult, fantasy, underwater kingdom, sirens
Links: Book Depository | GoodReads | Amazon

Blurb:

For as long as she can remember, Rio has dreamt of the sand and sky Above—of life beyond her underwater city of Atlantia. But in a single moment, all her plans for the future are thwarted when her twin sister, Bay, makes an unexpected decision, stranding Rio Below. Alone, ripped away from the last person who knew Rio’s true self—and the powerful siren voice she has long hidden—she has nothing left to lose.

Guided by a dangerous and unlikely mentor, Rio formulates a plan that leads to increasingly treacherous questions about her mother’s death, her own destiny, and the complex system constructed to govern the divide between land and sea. Her life and her city depend on Rio to listen to the voices of the past and to speak long-hidden truths.

My Thoughts:

To be honest, I’m not a huge fan of “underwater city” concepts. I’ve read a couple before and they’ve all been a little meh. And frankly, Atlantia feels similar to all the others.

Straight away I knew this book wasn’t for me, because I couldn’t connect with the main character, Rio. I couldn’t figure out who she was. All she seemed to care about was her mother, sister, and going Above. I was killing for a little bit of substance and personality from her, but I got nothing.

I also got next to nothing from the plot. It just didn’t grab me. I would have loved a little more sub-plot, but it just felt so one track minded – getting Above and swimming to earn money and some estranged relationship with a Siren aunt. There was never any plot twists to mix it up. It sort of felt like a broken record after a while. Especially since it moved so slow. Dialogue was always followed by a couple of lines of narrative to explain the dialogue. Every single thing was spelt out, I would have liked to come to my own conclusions instead of having everything explained.

Overall, the world building was nice, but this was just so… boring. I got about a quarter of the way through and then had to force myself to speed-read through the rest.

My Verdict – 1.5 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: Atlantia by Ally Condie

  1. Shane Hall says:

    Harsh but fair, though I haven’t read it myself (I’m not a YA fan much), so I don’t have a position on the quality of the book. I just appreciate good, honest criticism. It’s gotten to be quite rare.

    Like

    • Jodie says:

      Yeah, I feel bad because a publisher sent this to me for review. But I figure that is even more reason to be completely honest. Just because I didn’t like it doesn’t mean others won’t love it.

      Like

  2. It’s a shame. Seems like a lot of people were excited about this one.

    Like

  3. Chris says:

    There is a Siren genre?! I kid. I kid. I’m sorry to see the story lose you. Unfortunately, I’ve been in the same boat so often it hurts. Thanks for the review!

    Chris

    Like

  4. sabina ayne says:

    Thank you for your review. I was wondering about reading this book and now I won’t. I read the author’s Matched series and after the first book I was not impressed. I would have considered it if you had given it 3 stars but definately not for 1.5!!! Tanks for your honesty.

    Like

    • Jodie says:

      Yeah, I enjoyed the first in the Matched series too. But this one didn’t grab me at all. I think it was the concept more than anything. You should give it a go though, I’d be interested to hear your thoughts.

      Like

Leave a Reply

