What books do you want to re-read?

I’m a big fan of re-reading books. I rarely give 5-star reviews, but I generally bump a 4-star review to a 5 if I enjoy the book just as much the second time around.

Last week’s topic on Broke and Bookish was to list ten books you want to re-read. I have a ton, because I’d love to re-read books I read several years back and give them a proper review on this blog. So my list looks a little like this:

1. The Darkest Power Series by Kelley Armstrong
I read these back in 2011 and remember really enjoying them. I’d love to give them another read to refresh my memory.

2. Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers
This was a 5-star read for me back in 2011. I’ve read a few bullying books since then, so I’d be interested to see how I enjoy it now. Back then, I found it really original and fresh.

3. The Perfect Chemistry Series by Simone Elkeles
This is another series I remember adoring. There is a 4th book rumoured to be written, so I’d love to revisit this series.

4. Graceling by Kristin Cashore
I’m not a huge fan of high fantasy, but this one I rated highly and it sticks out in my brain as being a book I really enjoyed. Definitely deserves a re-read.

5. Various Sarah Dessen Books
I used to be such a huge Sarah Dessen fan. I haven’t read any of her work in ages, but I consumed a bunch of them when I was younger. I’d love to buy these for my bookshelf too.

6. Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli
I remember reading this years ago and just thinking wow, what a relevant book. Everyone needs to read this one. Definitely needs a re-read on my part.

7. Meridian by Amber Kizer
This is a book I read, loved, and then never got around to reading the rest of the series. I recently purchased the second book on sale, so I need to re-read this one.

8. Poison Study by Maria V Snyder
This is another book I remember really liking. Unsure if I ever got around to reading book three, so I’d like to give it another go.

9. The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa
I’m a big Julie Kagawa fan. I read these ages ago and would love to read them again. Each one was a four star read. I want to re-read them and then add them to my favourite series page too.

10. Harry Potter Series by JK Rowling
I am a huge fan of the Harry Potter series. I used to read them every year in preparation for the next in the series coming out. But I haven’t actually read them all since 2007 when the final book was released. So it’s way overdue to revisit my favourite series!

What is on your re-reading list?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What books do you want to re-read?

  1. Devin says:

    Definitely Nevermore by Kelly Creagh, Everyday by David Leviathan, Paper Towns by John Green, The Butterfly Clues by Kate Ellison, and Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden. And that’s just the beginning of the list XD

    Like

  2. Brix says:

    I’m rereading To Kill A Mockingbird…always amazing.

    Like

  3. Cassandra says:

    I can’t mention any specific titles, but I will definitely re-read great fantasy books (and I assume, science fiction books as well – I haven’t been reading SF for very long). Instead of titles I’ll mention a few authors whose books I keep returning to again and again: Diana Wynne Jones, Ursula K LeGuin, Charles DeLint, Gregory Frost and Garth Nix. There are more than that, but those are the ones I can remember right now.

    Like

  4. Laurie says:

    I too love reading my favorites. Kathryn Kurtz and her Camber of Culdi series and Robert Jordan are two examples.

    Like

  5. Paul J Gies says:

    Harry, oh Harry… And I need to catch up on all of the newer Rowling writing. Also Lord of the Rings, the Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler books, and the Foundation Trilogy.

    Like

  6. Anthony says:

    Here are a list of books I would (and do) re-read.
    A Separate Peace–John Knowles
    The books is beautiful and timeless.
    JPod–Copeland
    I find it quirky and funny. Too bad the TV series never took off.
    36 Views of Mount Fuji–Cathy Davidson
    I love reading books about people’s Japan experience (and watching JVlogs). This one was one of the first I read. No resemblance to my experience, except that I read it while I was in Japan.
    Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance–Robert M Pirsig
    I usually read this once a decade, and I always find something else. Worth a read for everyone.
    Waterland–Graham Swift
    Some say it is depressing…. but beautifully so.
    Sushi Daze–Rob Payne
    For reasons that are not entirely clear to me, I reread this book at least twice a year.
    I should reread the entire Dresden Files books by Jim Butcher. This is mostly because I read them completely out of order and have only pieced them together recently.

    Like

  7. JJ Alim says:

    Oooh, thanks for reminding me. I’ve been meaning to read Graceling. High fantasy is my favorite genre. I need to reread Songs of Ice and FIre by G.R.R. Martin and Once & Future King by T.H. White for research purposes.
    But the most reread books/series on my shelves would be Harry Potter and Ender’s Game though.

    Like

  8. I so agree with Poison Study, Graceling and Harry Potter. The next books I want to re-read are the Percy Jackson series and the Book Thief. They are really good.

    Like

  9. csknotts says:

    I was just thinking yesterday that I needed to go back and re-read the Vlad Taltos series. There are a few books on my Will Always Re-Read List including the above, the Stephanie Plum series, The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings Trilogy. Linda Fairstein’s series, and a few various fantasy books of which I cannot remember the titles right now:) And probably more I’ll remember when I hit Post Comment.

    Like

  10. Jon C says:

    I reread Mark Danielewski’s ‘House of Leaves’ at least once every couple of years. It’s a very weird book, yes, but one of my favorites.

    I bought the HP ebooks when they came out and reread them after not doing so for a few years, and I have to say I was fascinated by all the little bits of detail Rowling put in that she referred to later (sometimes waiting 2 or 3 books to bring them back to light!). Very brilliantly put together.

    The Naruto manga just finished last week at 700 chapters, and I’m pretty sure I’m going to be rereading that at some point too…it was a great run!

    Like

  11. Dustin says:

    I have re-read several books in the past, but right now I’m at a point where I want to discover as many new authors as I can.:)

    Like

  12. As a former school teacher I have read and re-read many, many books. I read adult novels as well. You mentioned Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli. I enjoy his books. I love Maniac Magee and my all time favorite – Loser. I have held the main character “Zinkoff” in my heart and always will. His wife, Eileen, writes picture books for children and my favorite is Sophie’s Masterpiece. And again – coming from a former elementary school teacher – there is a gem that I looked forward to reading to my students every year: The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo – absolutely worth a read. Personally, The Shack by Wm. Paul Young is on my “re-read” list every single year.

    Like

  13. YvoCaro says:

    Same here, I have series I keep re-reading. It’s just like visiting old friends! I love all books by David Eddings, Tolkien keeps begging to be read again, and The Amelia Peabody series!

    Like

  14. a chaos fairy says:

    The Tolkien books

    Like

Leave a Reply

