What is your favourite quote?

I am a big fan of quotes. One of my favourite things about blogging is finding a nice reading or writing related quote to post at the bottom of each article I write. I love everything about quotes. I feel like if you find the right one, it can speak to you and thousands of others.

So what are your favourite quotes?

I have two that have really stuck with me over the years. They aren’t writing or reading related, but I want to share them anyway. They are:

Writing wise, I ADORE this one! It brings me SO much comfort!

What are your favourite quotes?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to What is your favourite quote?

  1. “Though I am not naturally honest, I am sometimes so by chance.” (from William Shakespeare’s “Winter’s Tale”)

    Like

  2. Paul J Gies says:

    Kingsley Amis: “The art of writing lies in the application of the seat of the pants to the seat of the chair.”

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    I’ve been absolutely terrified every moment of my life – and I’ve never let it keep me from doing a single thing I wanted to do.
    -Georgia O’Keefe

    Like

  4. Anne B. Cole says:

    Pick up a bee from kindness and you will learn the limitations of being kind…Nigerian proverb

    The person who aims at nothing will surley hit it…Cameroonian proverb

    Nothing is impossible…Kenyan proverb

    Like

  5. “The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear, and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown”
    -H.P. Lovecraft

    Like

  6. Zoe says:

    “If I am not for myself, who will be for me?
    If I am only for myself, what am I?
    If not now, when?”
    – Rabbi Hillel

    It’s not about writing, but I like it a lot.

    Like

  7. Katelynn says:

    My favorite quote is “You know my name, not my story. You know what I’ve done, not what I’ve been through. If you were in my shoes, you’d fall the first step.”.

    Like

  8. Timothy Gwyn says:

    “Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.”
    Sir Winston Churchill
    To me, it speaks of the submissions process.

    Like

  9. nathan h says:

    Thanks for sharing Jodie! I love quotes too! One of my all time favorites is “great moments are born from great opportunity” -herb brooks,”There is a difference between knowing the path and walking it.” -Morpheus, “its not about how hard you can hit, its about how hard you can GET hit and keep movin’ forward…” – Rocky 4

    Like

  10. Jon C says:

    Ray Bradbury’s Zen in the Art of Writing opened my eyes when I first read it in 1994, and it has some excellent writing quotes:

    “Every morning I jump out of bed and step on a landmine. The landmine is me. After the explosion, I spend the rest of the day putting the pieces together. Now, it’s your turn. Jump!”

    “…the first thing a writer should be is–excited. He should be a thing of fevers and enthusiasms. Without such vigor, he might as well be out picking peaches or digging ditches; God knows it’d be better for his health.”

    “Yell. Jump. Play. Out-run those sons-of-bitches. They’ll never live the way you live. Go do it.”

    Like

  11. Bernadette says:

    “Do one thing every day that scares you.” ― Eleanor Roosevelt
    The reminder to push the limits and get out of your comfort zone, such a crucial element to creativity and the process of learning. It’s terrifying and awesome at the same time! 🙂

    Like

  12. Ken Dowell says:

    Just finished reading “Sacred Places” by John F. Sears about 19th century tourist spots and this quote stuck with me: “American love not the past itself but bright new reconstructions of the past created by technology.”

    Like

  13. Kym Kennedy says:

    ” Be the change you want to see in the world” Gandhi

    Like

  14. folakemi says:

    Love quotes too. One of my favourites is “… if you feel incomplete, you alone must fill all your empty, shattered spaces with love.” Oprah W

    Like

  15. Drew says:

    My favorite quote is “Don’t panic” from the Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy.

    Like

  16. Joseph Bird says:

    I have a file of quotes I pick up along the road of life. Here’s a recent one from Meg Wolitzer.

    “Clearly life took people and shook them around until finally they were unrecognizable even to those who had once known them well.”

    from The Interestings, by Meg Wolitzer

    Like

  17. “Good luck is only the right combination of ingenuity, opportunity and hard work.” ~Benjamin “Ben” Parker

    Like

  18. Nicole says:

    “Anybody who has survived his childhood has enough information about life to last him the rest of his days.”

    ~Flannery O’Connor

    Like

  19. Scarlett Morrison says:

    Agreed! Quotes are absolute motivation and inspiration. Don’t know where I would be without them! Here are two that I always come back to:

    “What our contempts doth often hurl from us, we wish it ours again” – Shakespeare (Antony and Cleopatra)

    “One day I will find the right words, and they will be simple” – Jack Kerouac

    Thank you for appreciating quotes as much as I do!

    Like

  20. Dayton Ward says:

    “We’re only immortal for a limited time.” – Rush, “Dreamline”

    Like

  21. ilyas says:

    To thine own self be true, and it must follow, as the night the day, thou canst not then be false to any man
    ~Shakespeare

    Like

  22. Art is the only work open to people who can’t get along with others and still want to be special.”–Lanark by Alasdair Gray

    Like

  23. Laurie says:

    Je pense donce je suis I think therefore I am

    Like

  24. Shari says:

    My favorite quote has nothing to do with writing. I read the quote once and wrote it down in my Bible. It’s by Helen Keller. “I long to accomplish a great and noble task, but it is my chief duty to accomplish small tasks as if they were great and noble.”

    Like

  25. Dustin says:

    “Books are a unique, portable, magic.”

    -Stephen King

    Like

  26. Jillian says:

    “And in that moment, I swear we were infinite.” – Charlie from “Perks of Being a Wallflower”

    I found this quote so moving for me, because I’m always trying to find that moment of being infinite. I want this tattooed.

    Like

  27. Crystal says:

    So many great quotes already mentioned that are favorites of mine as well so I will choose a different one: “I thought I could and so I did”–Anonymous

    Like

  28. Angie says:

    “How we spend our days is, of course, how we spend our lives.” –Annie Dillard

    Like

  29. Julie says:

    I have two:

    “if you’re never scared or embarrassed or hurt, it means you never take any chances.” — Julia Sorel

    “The best advice I can give is to ignore advice. Life is just too short to be distracted by the opinions of others.” — Russell Edson

    Like

Leave a Reply

