Feature: Aspiring Author, Jessica Loftus

Today I’d like to take a break from book reviews and writerly questions to feature a fellow aspiring author, Jessica Loftus. Jessica was nice enough to beta-read my novel Chemicals Collide for me, and in return for her generosity I thought I’d feature her on my blog!

About:
Jessica has always been a small town girl with a passion for books. Now she is figuring out how to reach her dream of holding a hardback copy of her own novel. Her passion for books has taken over as she is often found deep in a library, or just about anywhere, with her nose in one or sitting at her computer writing a current work-in-progress.

The choice to become a writer isn’t an easy path, especially when she first decided it. Even now she keeps the philosophy that nothing worth having or doing is ever easy. Her favorite type of critiques are the ones that tear her work apart, but is always seeking to find that golden reader that likes her work.

Big thanks to Jessica for answering the following questions!

Writing wise, what are you working on at the moment?
Right now I’m working on my short story called Wolf-Thief (In it’s second draft stage). I’m also still in the planning stages for my first full novel titled Wolfsbane as part of my Were-Witch Series.

Do you have any advice for fellow writers?
Life is going to get in the way sometimes. My life lately has been the pure definition of that. But you can’t let life stay in the way, you have to find time to write at some point and once you find that time you will not regret it for a minute.

What are your writing goals?
My ultimate writing goal is to have a book published. Whether it be through a company or I publish it myself. I want to be able to hold my work in my hand, completely dumbfounded, and mumbling “I made this” even if no one else reads it.
Though I would love people to read it anyway…

What are you reading at the moment?
That is actually a long list of books, but the main one I’m reading at the moment is “How to Read Literature Like a Professor” by Thomas Foster. He makes literature analysis easy to understand if you haven’t done it before but still fun for people who already do it.

Who is your favourite author/book and why?
My favorite book will always be Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry. I read it every summer and the binding is pretty worn out now. When I read it I keep learning something knew or take it from a different perspective. A large part of the series is questioning society, and though that can be seen as stereotypical when it comes to utopian/dystopian novels it comes across well here. If anything it taught me to always ask “Why?” and that is something I feel that everyone needs to learn how to do, or more encouraged to do since many already do it at a young age.

You can find Jessica’s blog here – Dare To Dream, Live To Write

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Guest Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Feature: Aspiring Author, Jessica Loftus

  1. Laurie says:

    What a lovely thing to do 🙂

    Like

  2. Dustin says:

    Lovely interview! Thank you so much for sharing, Jodie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

