How many books have you read this year?

It’s coming towards the end of the year, and I’ve being eyeing off my massive TBR pile and wondering how in the world I’m going to get through it. But then I noticed this:

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 6.11.19 PM

And I figured hey, I’m doing awesome! So I can cut myself some slack with my TBR pile.

How many books have you read this year? Any highlights you want to recommend? I certainly don’t need any more reading material, but a TBR list can never be too long!

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to How many books have you read this year?

  1. Daniel says:

    Currently…233 books, according to my Goodreads challenge-tracker! My goal was 100 and at the time, I wasn’t sure I’d get there. Clearly, it’s been a good year for me for reading!

    Like

  2. Natacha says:

    I’ve read 59 books so far, an am currently reading 3 others, so I’lll be past the 60 by the end of the year. 🙂

    Like

  3. 58 so far, expecting 2-3 more before the years out.
    Catching the bus into work has been excellent 🙂

    List: http://uncertaintales.wordpress.com/bibliophagy/

    Like

  4. Laurie says:

    Not that many because I have been focused on writing, but I do read a lot of online articles and such. 🙂

    Like

  5. I’m at 44 and thought I would be able to do 75 at the beginning of the year. Now I’m hoping to get to 50.

    Like

  6. Renae says:

    I can’t seem to remember to keep track of the books I read. I tried this year, but I always forget to note that I finished one before I start the next.

    Where did you get (or where do you use) that snazzy tracker gadget thing?

    Like

  7. suzanne says:

    I’ve read 75! We’re almost twins. I am halfheartedly working my way through this list (http://tattooedmissionary.wordpress.com/top-100-chapter-books/) with lots of little detours along the way.

    Like

  8. Emma says:

    I have read 75 this year, my goal was 100, but not sure if I can read 25 books in just over a month, especially December which is always major busy. I am going to try my best but not get upset if (when) I do not manage it.

    Like

  9. Dustin says:

    I just finished my 26th of 30 for 2014. Hopefully I can reach my goal!

    Like

  10. I don’t know if it is a “guy” thing or if I just can’t sit still, I don’t read many books (visually). I listen to audio books that I download from the library. It takes me about 2-3 weeks to read a book so I probably read 20 to 30 books in the past year. I doubt that I read 5-6 actual physical or virtual books. I haven’t kept track. I always feel like I want to read a book, but I don’t sit long enough to read very far. Books end up being consigned to the night stand and I read a couple of pages before falling asleep. I need to improve.

    Like

  11. Chase says:

    I haven’t read very many books this year. I’ve only read 13 books, but I guess that isn’t too bad. Most teenagers stop reading. I’ve just been busy with homework and writing my own novel, but with Winter Break coming up, I’ll probably get another book read.

    Like

  12. Chris says:

    I’ve read 80 so far and hope to finish at least a handful more by year end! I use Goodreads to keep track and started using it with my students a couple years ago.

    Like

  13. Marie says:

    I don’t think the numbers of books read is that important. What really matters is the happiness you get from reading whatever kind of books you are interested in.
    French XVIIth- century philosopher Montesquieu wrote: “I have never known any distress that an hour’s reading did not relieve.” True, isn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

