Review: Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes

Title: Anatomy of a Misfit
Author: Andrea Portes
Publisher: HarperTeen (Harper Collins)
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Links: Book Depository | GoodReads | Amazon

Blurb:

Outside, Anika Dragomir is all lip gloss and blond hair—the third most popular girl in school. Inside, she’s a freak: a mix of dark thoughts, diabolical plots, and, if local chatter is to be believed, vampire DNA (after all, her father is Romanian). But she keeps it under wraps to maintain her social position. One step out of line and Becky Vilhauer, first most popular girl in school, will make her life hell. So when former loner Logan McDonough shows up one September hotter, smarter, and more mysterious than ever, Anika knows she can’t get involved. It would be insane to throw away her social safety for a nerd. So what if that nerd is now a black-leather-jacket-wearing dreamboat, and his loner status is clearly the result of his troubled home life? Who cares if the right girl could help him with all that, maybe even save him from it? Who needs him when Jared Kline, the bad boy every girl dreams of, is asking her on dates? Who?

Why I picked it up:

I saw this one a couple of times across the book blogging world, so I purchased it one day when I spotted it on the shelves.

My Thoughts:

This book was exactly what I was expecting. I was anticipating the main character Anika to be similar to Cath from Fangirl and Tori from Solitaire, and she was. She wasn’t particularly likeable. Her humour was really dry and pessimistic, and as a character she was quite self-deprecating and judgemental. I would have found her really unique if there weren’t so many other introverted characters around like this at the moment.

That aside, I found the writing style really interesting. The author has a distinctive voice that feels quite indie.

I like Shelli but it’s kina weird how she draws on her eyeliner. She kind of just circles both her eyes so you just get these two black almonds staring at you all the time. Imploringly. There’s definitely something about Shelli’s look that makes you feel like you’re supposed to help her out in some way. I guess that’s why those rocker guys are always helping her out of her clothes.

and

I’m trying so hard not to like him. It would be so much easier not to like him.

But, unfortunately, he’s not making it any easier on me because he’s just sitting there with his dirt-brown hair looking like some beautiful-but-grimy-but-tough-but-heart-broken-but-earnest-but-guarded fallen angel or something. I mean, he might as well have his own theme music. Something dark. With lots of keyboards. And some violins.

I guess at the end of the day, I found Anatomy of a Misfit enjoyable, but it really wasn’t a novel that I will remember, because nothing really happened. I think it was bold, and had several themes that were interesting (bullying, racism, popularity, romance), but they weren’t featured in a way that taught me anything new about the world. It’s almost like this book tried too hard to be different… I don’t know.

My Verdict – 2.5 stars

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review: Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes

  1. Laurie says:

    Your abilities as a reader and a reviewer are most impressive. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

