What are you currently reading?

I’m currently making my way through GirlXOXO’s master list of book blogging memes to find new ideas for my own blog. One of the meme’s is a simple – “What are you reading”. I thought I’d pose that question to all of you.

What are you currently devouring?

I’m currently reading Avery by Charlotte McConaghy, she’s a young Aussie author and the novel was sent to me by Bloomsbury to check out.

Blurb:

The people of Kaya die in pairs. When one lover dies, the other does too. So it has been for thousands of years – until Ava.

For although her bondmate, Avery, has been murdered and Ava’s soul has been torn in two, she is the only one who has ever been strong enough to cling to life. Vowing revenge upon the barbarian queen of Pirenti, Ava’s plan is interrupted when she is instead captured by the deadly prince of her enemies.

Prince Ambrose has been brought up to kill and hate. But when he takes charge of a strangely captivating Kayan prisoner and is forced to survive with her on a dangerous island, he must reconsider all he holds true . . .

In a violent country like Pirenti, where emotion is scorned as a weakness, can he find the strength to fight for the person he loves . . . even when she’s his vengeful enemy?

Avery is a sweeping, romantic fantasy novel about loss and identity, and finding the courage to love against all odds.

What are you currently reading?

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Reading Discussion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What are you currently reading?

  1. Laura says:

    what a fantastic story line. I have been slowly getting through the biography of Louisa May Alcott and just started two books this morning! (Happy Wives Club by Fawn Weaver and Torah Rediscovered by Ariel and D’vorah Berkowitz)

    Like

  2. Paul J Gies says:

    I just finished the oldest known “novel” in the world, the Tale of Gilgamesh. (It’s much better and easier than you might think. You owe it to yourself.) Now I’m into Terry Pratchett’s “The Light Fantastic.”

    Like

  3. Crystal says:

    Interesting story! I just finished Like A Flower In Bloom and now I am continuing with To Whisper Her Name.

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    Currently reading, among other books, Kate Atkinson’s “Life After Life.” Amazing!!

    Like

  5. Dave says:

    I am reading Honeyville by Daisy Waugh. So far it’s a good book, well written. I won a signed copy so I had to read it.

    Like

  6. Avery looks good! I’m currently finishing up a few books including Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes.

    Like

  7. I am reading UNMASKED by EM Kaplan. She is an Indie author of this fantasy novel. I have committed to using my Kindle to support Indie authors and will make every effort to read one book a month this way. I generally don’t read quickly and only find time to read at night. I get more books “read” by downloading them to my Iphone and listening in the car. Most of us don’t have the time or budget for producing an audiobook, but it is something I would also love to do.

    Like

  8. Nicola says:

    Arrghh! I told myself I wasn’t adding anything to my TBR list until I’d made a bit of a dent in it, but Avery sounds SO GOOD. I just started Marie Lu’s Legend last night.

    Like

  9. I was sent Avery for review as well and plan on reading it this week. It sounds just like a book I’ll love. Hope you enjoy it 🙂

    Like

  10. Carol Mann says:

    I’m currently reading a collection of short stories by Thomas E. Kennedy called GETTING LUCKY, New and Selected Stories 1982 – 2012. In the title story “Getting Lucky,” one character’s success alienates another. These are layered stories which make us think about ourselves. “We are left with who or what we have made of ourselves.”

    Like

  11. Abbie Taylor says:

    I’m currently reading Confessions of a Mediocre Widow by Katherine Tidd, a memoir about how the author’s husband died at an early age, leaving her to raise three small children alone. This is a great blogging idea. Thanks.

    Like

  12. Dustin says:

    Currently I’m reading Infinite Jest and The Dragonbone Chair, and loving both of them.:)

    Like

  13. GL Jackson says:

    I’m reading some little no-name novel with absolutely no future called Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone.

    For the 80th time.

    Like

  14. larry h. says:

    Currently reading Mark Owen’s Navy SEAL bio, No Hero. Sad to say I have not read Gilgamesh and other such. Yes, alas, I’m a disgrace to the library sciences world. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

