Blog Tour: Avery by Charlotte McConaghy

I’m very excited to be taking part in the Avery blog tour. A big thanks to Random House for giving me the opportunity to interview Charlotte, and be a involved in a tour with some amazing fellow Aussie book bloggers!

Title: Avery, Book 1 in The Chronicles of Kaya
Author: Charlotte McConaghy
Publisher: Random House
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Links: Blog Tour Stops | GoodReads | Book Depository | Charlotte’s Website

AVERY is a sweeping fantasy from 26-year-old Australian author Charlotte McConaghy.

Charlotte is making a name for herself in the speculative fiction genre, having published her first book at just 17 years old! She now has six books under her belt, with another due to be released later this year.

AVERY – the first book in The Chronicles of Kaya series – is a novel about loss and identity, and finding the courage to love against all odds. Charlotte has created a vivid and unique world of magic, mystery and, most importantly, twisted and lovable characters. Among the century-long wars and deadly sibling rivalries, AVERY is at its heart two beautiful and captivating love stories.

1. Tell us a little bit about Avery…
Avery is a romantic fantasy novel set in a world where people die in pairs. It’s about the first young woman ever to survive the death of her mate, about her quest for revenge and the ensuing adventure and love story that follows.

2. Do you have any advice for aspiring authors?
My advice would be to write as much as possible because practicing your craft is how you develop talent. Read heaps, as this is how you establish what your taste is and what you aspire to with your own writing. Write what you are most passionate about, and of course don’t get discouraged if you get a rejection letter – keep trying, and keep writing new things.

3. How did you come up with the world of Kaya?
Kaya initially came to me in a vivid dream, which I then wrote down and started to develop. Like most fantasy worlds, it’s based on a historical period in the real world – in my case it’s the Viking period in Scandinavia.

4. Do you utilise the help of critique partners in your writing process?
I don’t often do that for my novel writing, as it’s a difficult thing to ask friends to read such a hefty word count and give feedback, but I definitely have a group of trusted writer friends with whom I share all my screenwriting. It makes more sense, as well, because screenwriting is a much more collaborative process, whereas writing novels is quite solitary. But I always look forward to the insights and feedback of my editors – because getting a new set of eyes on something is very important.

5. What genres do you like to read?
I love fantasy, sci-fi, paranormal… I like a lot of YA stuff, I like straight-up fiction and literature, romance… I’m a bit of a mixed bag.

6. What are you working on at the moment?
I’m currently writing the third book in the Chronicles of Kaya series (the sequels to Avery), which is very exciting as it’ll be the last in the series for a while. Unless I get the urge to write more set in the world of Kaya and Pirenti 😉

7. Who is your favourite character in Avery?
Umm… I love them all, but I think I would have to say Thorne is, simply because he goes through the most difficult transformation. I always love the most flawed characters, as I can really sink my teeth into them.

About Jodie @ Words Read & Written

Book blogger & aspiring author.
This entry was posted in Author Interview, Blog Tour and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

